PDA

View Full Version : In a predicament.

broadwaybaby897
09-01-2006, 04:12 PM
Hello all, I'm new here (obviously). I have a question for you all, maybe you can help me. I am a twelfth grader in high school, and I have been playing the trumpet for just about eight years now. According to my directors I fall into the 'advanced' player category and since I have been playing with the same horn since fourth grade I have decided that it is time for an upgrade. About two years ago, I got a silver bestler trumpet (I don't know what kind) for christmas. The horn is okay, it has a good tone but the valves aren't the greatest and the finish is coming off only after about a year of serious play. It is also VERY leaky. So this year I decided that it is time for yet another upgrade, but I know nothing about what I should be looking for. My price range is only at the max. $1000 but I am looking for an intermediate to professional grade trumpet to further my talents this year and when I go to college to major in music. Does anyone have any suggestions for a cheaper horn that still plays well? For the past week now I've had my eye on a Jupiter 1200s, it looked pretty good, but since I have never tried one I have no idea how well it plays.

Respond! :p

McHero
09-10-2006, 11:55 AM
If you're looking for something as a music MAJOR in college that will serve you as well as it ought to until you graduate, you might need to consider raising your price ceiling to a little over $1500. It's not that much more, and it opens you up to some truly excellent horns.