Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Bach Strad Bell 10-448

from my email today

I've been playing Bach trumpets exclusively for over 40 years. I am 52 years old, a professional lead trumpet player with 25+ years Broadway experience as well as playing lead for Buddy Rich in 1984 and Frank Sinatra from 1985-1991. I recently bought an interesting small bore NY Bach Bb trumpet with the leadpipe stamped with the #8 (extremely rare) and the bell is stamped 10-448 which I believe means it has a 10 bell (rare) and a .448 (fairly rare) bore size. My question is does anyone know what an #8 leadpipe's taper is or how it compares to the standard 25, 25-O, 43, 44, and 7 leadpipes on Bach Bb trumpets? In my entire career, which included a brief stint as a salesman at Giardinelli's in NYC, I have never come across one of these, part of the reason I bought it. Any info you could pass on would be appreciated.

Bach Strad Bell 10-448

I've not known anyone that had a "8" leadpipe before on a Bach trumpet. You are correct the 10 (bell) 448 (bore) is what I've seen on other early Bach small bore strads... The 8 leadpipe was one of those iterations that I guess never became popular. I'm assuming you have the shop card for this trumpet? (if not talk to Conn Selmer in Elkhart, and ask politely for a copy of the shop card). It would be interesting to see who the trumpet was made for, and any othe references to the 8 leadpipe...

How does it play? Anyone else here on the forums seen on of these before?

3. Bach Srad Bell 10-48, #10 Bell, .448 (small) bore

Hello fellow BachLoyalists,