Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

B&S CHALLENGER 3137
Reviews Views
16 18917
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $910.75 8.7

 

Description:
Bb-Trumpet Challenger, Handhammered one piece bell,
Boxed bronce springs, Challenger Monel pistons,
Nickel silver outer slides, Educational stop for the 3rd valve slide,
Bore: 11.66 mm (0.459") ML, Bell diameter: 121,5 mm (4.782")
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.782
Website: http://www.challenger-trumpets.com
Keywords: B&S CHALLENGER NO.3137
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/1/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good value - Strad 37 clone
Cons: considering price none

 
This trumpet is a Strad 37 Clone and pretty good value BUT nowhere near the quality of the real thing.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/20/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good value for the price
Cons: not a pro horn

 
It looks like a Strad, sound is pleasant, but response is not very fast and the upper register not that easy.
A good intermediate horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: intonation, sloting
Cons: hard to play it in upper register

 
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price and quality
Cons: None that i've found in two years

 
went to the shop with $4000 to buy a new trumpet, walked out with three of these. simply superb instruments. I can play consistantly above top C all night on mine. I sold my strad to get one. Totally recommended.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/16/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast Valves, great tone quality
Cons: none

 
I tried the Bach Stradavarious and there is no comparison this B&S is so much better, the tone is so much better than the Strad's. It comes with a very nice case. Before you make a decision on the trumpet that you're gonna get look at this horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/4/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nice tone, quality for the price
Cons: none

 
I tried some of the Yamaha collection and wen I touched this horn I was sold. I also play a pro cornet (Besson Soufraign hand made). With this instrument and my B&S I can play both without any trouble!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $720.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: plays well, affordable, recognised brand name
Cons: n.a.

 
I am happy with this horn. The valves offer a better defined pressure point compared to my previous beginner's horn (chinese no name), but it only took about 20 minutes to get used to the different valve response.
Good intonation, good value, decently priced instrument.

Since, at least in Germany, it is a recognised brand name, the instrument will retain it's value.

Overall, I'd buy it again.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $959.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound,
Cons: Under low C does not sound very powerful but sound is pretty anyway

 
I am an amateur trumpet player that picked back up again playing since when I was in High School. I am 59 years old. Started out with a cheap Yamaha and when I ran into this one it was instant love. I was looking for a Strad and the salesperson in the store asked me to try this one. I tried both and there was no real significant difference As I say, instant love and a lot cheaper. What else can you ask for?
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quality build, intonation, perfect resistence
Cons: You might need to change the valve springs

 
I fell in love with this brand on a shopping trip to my local store to buy a new trumpet. I now own 9 different B&S trumpets! Totally fantastic brand, totally recommeded.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Great craftsmanship,models of same are always consistent
Cons: None that I,ve found in last 3 years.

 
To those who think upper register is to hard ,change mouthpieces or practise more -High note playing isn't free you have to work hard at it! Have been playing 31 years and it still takes daily practise to play good on Any Model of Horn.You'll never find 10 Bach's of the same model that play the same,but these will.I have owned 2 Bach's they are OK,but not the same quality as these.Look at how many people are now playing.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Slots reasonably well, Good price
Cons: Real issues with valves

 
I have had this horn for about 4 years and it has served me well except for the consistant problems with the valves. Mine is an older model and I have been told that they have tried to fix this problem, but it really has been a hang up for this horn. Any tempurature change (humid clubs etc) and the valves really seize up as well as the fenominal amount of time it took for the valves to be worked in. Other friends of mine, also with b&s challengers (not all exact same models) have had issues with their valves as well. Anyone looking at buying a b&s should definitly keep this in mind.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $370.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good valves nice rich sound plus a good looking horn
Cons: none yet

 
wonderful upper range sound and lower range sound
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great response in every register, lighweight
Cons: none so far

 
I'm a High School student. I've played a Bach Strad, and the B&S. There is no comparison, the B&S produces a better tone, and a better response time in all of the registers. The quality is also top notch for the price. The Bach is priced higher, and the quality isn't as good, out of 3 Bach Strads I've played, all three the same model, each one was different in its own way. Out of 3 B&S', they all performed just like the last. Very Dependable horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: excellent tone (challenger )
Cons: intonation

 
original challenger - excellent tone, poor intonation. challenger II -fixed the intonation problems, but tonal quality suffered. no valve problems for either one. good for the price
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/24/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price and manufacturing quality
Cons: none

 
The Challenger I is an excellent Bach Strad 37 clone. The manufacturing quality is very good and you can get it almost to a third of a Bach´s price.

Since the 90ties Bach economized the nickel silver outer slides at silver plated Strads, the Challenger has them. Together with a goldbrass mouthpipe and a third slide water key.

It plays very fine and offers the typical "Bach sound" with lots of core.
So why to pick up a Bach, when that one is better?
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $780.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good response of pistons and good intonation
Cons: None

 
A very good trumpet that makes you play a one piece bell with a small price
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.