Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Bach 197 "New York #7"
Reviews Views
14 36610
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,077.73 9.5

 

Description:
Conn-Selmer has introduced a special edition Vincent Bach trumpet that skillfully combines historically significant qualities with modern day performance features. The Bach Stradivarius New York #7 Trumpet is available in limited quantities and features a Vincent Bach #7 bell, made popular during the early 1930's.

New York #7

Many features from "Back in the day...."
The Bach #7 bell, developed by Vincent Bach during the 1920's, first appeared in 1929. This bell is constructed in one piece from lightweight yellow brass, with the current version featuring a classic French-bead flat rim. The instrument also features a .459" bore, #7 leadpipe, vintage '30's style mouthpiece receiver, first and third slide finger rings, single brace tuning slide, third slide stop assembly, and semi-precious finger buttons. The instrument is finished in bright silver plate with gold plate slides and trim. The outfit includes a specially marked double case and includes a Certificate of Authenticity.

Lightweight construction
"Lightweight body construction with narrow braces and narrow tuning slide make this a very comfortable and intimate instrument," said Tedd Waggoner, Conn-Selmer marketing manager for brass instruments. "Given the tremendous historical significance of the #7 bell, we are very excited to be able to offer this limited edition."

Historically speaking
Historical records show that the first production instrument with a #7 bell was a Stradivarius trumpet (#1249) made February 26, 1929. A few horns with earlier serial numbers were also retrofitted with the #7 bell. Regular production of the #7 bell started in January 1930.

Many influential players
Examination of shop cards for these instruments show that influential players of the day purchased these instruments, including Merle Evans (on a cornet), George Mager, Leona May Smith, Dr. Charles Colin, Henry Busse, and the Juilliard Graduate School (all trumpets).


Features

Certificate of Authenticity
Lightweight yellow brass bell #7 with French bead flat rim
Roll stamped logo on bell with additional "New York #7"
Lightweight body construction
# 7 leadpipe with "old style" mouthpiece receiver
Eastlake bell to mouthpipe braces (wide foot)
Hexagon shaped pull knobs
Narrow tuning slide...ala 1930's
Gold plated trim kit and semi-precious finger buttons
Special double case with "Craftsman" logo
Certificate of Authenticity


Bell Lightweight Yellow Brass #7
Bore .459"
Pistons Monel
Finish Silver Plated with Gold Trim
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.8125
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3, Monel
Website: http://www.bachtrumpets.com
Keywords: Bach 197 "New York #7"
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,835.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tone and Beatiful look!!
Cons: Should have come with a Bach New York goldplated mouthpiece to..

 
Ive had this horn for a week now, and have already listed my Monette for sale. This works for evrything. Great lower register and exelent upper register. This is a light weight horn but do not sound like that, just plays like it!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: simple and it specifies
Cons: not adapted for light music

 
much beautiful, light one and intonata optimal voice, adapted but only for classic music
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very focused. Great projection. Comfortable to hold & play.
Cons:

 
This instrument is beautifully designed. It has a more compact feel in your hands due to the tighter bracing & lower placement of the leadpipe relative to the valve casing (compared to modern Bach 180s). In my experience (and I'm only speaking about my specific horn because it's the only one of this model I've ever played) this horn feels more focused and centered than other Bachs I've played (I played a 37 for years, then a 43 for the past several years), which surprised me because it is lighter than a standard weight Bach. I think it feels just slightly heavier and more substantial than an all-lightweight Bach.
I believe the overall blow of this horn feels slightly tighter than other Bachs (25 LP). This bugle REALLY projects, with a heavy core to the sound. The feel of the valves was a pleasant surprise. My other horns were all over 30 years old. The valves were not great on any of them. These new Bach valves are very fast, even and reliable.
The bottom line is that I really like the way this horn plays. Trying to describe attributes of the instrument in words doesn't add up to much. I'm very fortunate to get paid to play every day. I don't fool around with mouthpieces and/or horns much because I just need a reliable, predictable instrument in my hands. I think this is a good one.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,875.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very thick sound core, has the "sizzle" needed for commercial playing. The pics here don't do the horn justice in its beauty.
Cons: The bore is too small for me, still designed for a different kind of player.

 
Note: The price I posted up there is what the music store I went to is putting up for it with tax included and shipping. I never bought this horn.

Well, I needed to get my current horn, a Getzen Eterna Sterling up for repairs today so in the meantime, I was at the store trying out some new horns they had. One of the horns I tried was this one. At first I thought it was a mere standard Strad with a gold trim, but on closer inspection, there was more than meets the eye.

So, I took this horn for a test drive for about an hour. The overall construction and build quality was ACTUALLY consistent. I'm stressing this as I have played through 6 crappy Bachs 3 weeks ago. Everything was in place, the gold trim was nice, a heck of a lot more beautiful then the pictures on this site. Now for the playing, I liked it. I really did. After playing a few scales up and down to warm up, I tried some lips slurs on this baby. The slotting on this was tight, but not too exact as a Schilke so if you screw up something, you have something to hide it with in the Bach. The tone was warm, thick, and was very broad. I am mostly a commercial player so I tend to do lead work most of the time so the way the upper register played was an important factor in my rating. This horn had the "sizzle" or should I say bright sound that you would expect to come from a Big Band player. Unfortunately, I am a large bore kind of guy. I like bigger horns, just flat out this horn was way too small for me. I had the sound and sizzle on it but it held me back. I would've certainly set mly heart on buying it if they offered a choice of bore size of which I would ask for .468 or .470
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Plays as great as it looks. Great horn!
Cons: None, to speak of

 
This horn is magnificant. After playing this horn for 30 minutes I decided to put my Schilke on eBay. I really have never played a horn that plays any better than this one and I've played dozens and dozens of horns.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,575.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All Positive
Cons: None

 
The Horn Is perfect. Theres no resistance, looks beutiful, and produces and exellent sound
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unbelievable
Cons: None

 
I've been playing on this horn for just over a year now and it has been a life changer. If you can get your hands on this horn, buy it and never leave it alone
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,975.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Sound and valves
Cons: gold two tone and sharp finger hook

 
Love this horn. The looks bother me greatly, the two tone effect looks more high school that professional. I have had all of the gold (which is a gold plate over silver) covered once again in silver. Also the finger ring on the first valve slide was manufactured with a sharp and uncomfortable edge. That was smoothed by before the replating.

Lead pipe increases resistance above "g" on the top space and that takes a little time to get used to. Sound is gorgeous.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Centered sound, response, core of tone, ease of playing
Cons:

 
I had a Wild Thing for a year, I liked it a lot. Then a friend said he had a horn I should play, the Bach 197. I played it. I sold the Wild Thing and bought the Bach! Plays easier for me, I love it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,995.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Gorgeous, centered tone
Cons: none

 
This trumpet is a gem. It looks great, sounds even better and has lots of nice extras, not the least of which is the awesome double case. The horn is very free-blowing and the notes slot with near perfection. The extra weight of the valve caps help keep the tone centered and it doesn't play like any lightweight designed horn I've ever played. If you can still get one of these, you need to try it to believe it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tone, responsiveness, a "player"
Cons: none regarding playing, but gold treatment look not for me

 
This horn is braced and is similar in look to the Bach Chicago C including the classic Bach French bead bell, 1st valve tuning ring, slide rings, and single main tuning slide brace.

Additional features that differ from the Bach Chicago include a lightweight body vs. Bach Chicagos standard weight body. The wide foot bracing makes this horn feel smaller side by side like much earlier vintage Strads.

Gorgeous core sound with abundant resonance. A sleeper that probably wouldn't be if it were an all silver horn. Some are put off by the gold treatment which some cinsider "high school looking" which is a shame because this horn is an amazing player. I like the amount of the resistance on this horn. The balance of this instrument makes lower,mid, and upper even and easy.

I don't own this horn but I have adopted some of its features for a custom Bach Bb that is being manufacturered for me by Bach as a result of winning a contest. This #197 is the closest Bb counterpart to the Bach Chicago C that I have played to date including Yamaha's NY Bb regarding ease of play and SOUND, Bach's hallmark trait.

I would say the best Bb that I have played to date. Perhaps the custom Strad will approach its qualities.

I would buy this horn without hesitation.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Slotting, sound with lots of core, not stuffy
Cons: Small third valve slide bow should move easier

 
It took some time till I got used the resistance but finally it opened up and itīs fun to play.
Great slotting, nice bright sound with lots of core. Being actually a large bore .462" with the #7 leadpipe itīs not that tight or stuffy as a ML 37 Strad.
It slots very accurate, the high register easy to play, so my choice for lead playing. One of the best Strads Iīve ever played.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice look, finish, double case is great, gold trim is okay, sound good
Cons: it was not as on key as my silver 37 (1978) slotting is okay but back pressure IMHO is excessive in what is supposed to be a jazz horn albiet a 1939sw replica

 
I think this is probably a good horn but it was the wrong direction for me. I was looking for a more open blowing jazz useable horn. It felt very close to my 37, lighter but in areas it was different mostly negative---tone seeme more tinny, perhaps the light brass not filled out by compensation, maybe I needed a bigger mouthpiece. It felt good overall, once I got up high near high B abd C it slotted well but once slotted the notes were not clearly on key every time..mostly but again did not sound as good as my 30 year old 37..I would recommend buying this horn ONLY If you go in and play several of them...sadly that seems to be the story on Bachs now and they would be better to pull out any clunkers from their sales via QA or simply recall them all and do a second pass-no point in wasting time....I am hoping if I go for the Selmer, hand made also I do not run into this issue--someone mentinoed a good and a bad Selmer Paris concept TT....for me its between the Yamaha Xeno reverse lead pipe in silver and the Selmer Paris Concept TT but neither of the online brokers will discount these--some rule with hte factory that i hope is made to be broken! No wiggle room on a 3400 horn? Gimme a breadk...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Just about.... everything. Responds to every effort you make. A light horn that sure doesnt feel like it.
Cons: Don't try to march with this. Its not a tough instrument.

 
Absolutely perfect in every way. Works wonderful in concert band, orchestra, and jazz band. Tone can be morphed at your will!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright Đ2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.