Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1bach_180.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Bach 180M
Reviews Views
10 16416
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,540.00 9.2

 

Description:
The most popular of all Bach trumpets for good all-around playing. Features standard weight body and bell, and standard construction #25 mouthpipe (except for extra-large and Vindabona bores).

Available in five bore sizes.
M=0.453"
ML=0.459"
L=0.462"
XL=0.468"
MLV (Vindabona)=0.453"/0.459"
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.453
Bell (inch): 4.8125
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3, Monel
Website: http://www.bachbrass.com/
Keywords: Bach 180M
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 1/16/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $850.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beautiful, wonderful sound and tone
Cons: Kind of heavy to hold, (marching, dancing, etc.)

 
(ML Bore)
This was my trumpet for my senior year in high school and in college. I loved it. I still have it and play it now (21 years later). I never liked the fact that you have to line up the valves a certain way when taking them out and putting them back in. If they are off a little bit, then it doesn't PLAY correctly or at all. This may be a Bach thing, but after so many years on another trumpet, this was hard to get used to. Other than that, it always was and still is a great trumpet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/24/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: almost everything
Cons: it took several monthes to have the pistons moving freely all the time

 
I have been playing my B180 ML/37 (the standard laquered one) since 1995 and I have never played a better horn.
This trumpet has an incredible power with minimal effort, plays in tune and responds easily. What more to ask for ?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A very nice instrument for a broad range of play.
Cons: 3rd valve slide has no sound deadning on stop nuts.

 
180S43G, ML Bore
My Bach 43G Strad has the gold brass bell which gives the horn a bit warmer tone. It has the 25 standard leadpipe, which,I would prefer the reversed leadpipe if I were buying a new horn. I have found the horn to be of excellent quality both in play, fit and finish. I also play a Selmer Paris DeVille and the valve action is not as good on the Strad. The DeVille is a bit more open and responsive than the Strad, but, on most things I play I prefer the Strad. Playing in our orchestra the Strad is better behaved. As you may tell by now the 2 horns compliment each other.
If I were limited to 1 horn the Strad 43 would be my choice.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 8/18/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sound, and pretty much everything else!
Cons: No 3rd valve water key

 
I've used my Strad 37 in orchestras, screaming big-bands, wind-bands, brass ensembles and for all my solo work (both classical and jazz).

It is a very versatile instrument, which produces a fantastic sound. The intonation is superb from low F# to high C (low C#, as one might expect, is a sharp note, but the slides allow this to be easily adjusted)

My only quibbles with it are that mine came with a loose fitting 3rd valve slide 'cap', which promptly fell off and got dented. A water-key would be much better. Also, the valves aren't the best I've ever encountered, but I have had no significant problems with them.

The Bach Stradivarius is a fantastic instrument, and I certainly intend to keep using mine for a long time indeed - I am very happy with it!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/17/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: versatility, consistency of sound
Cons: no 3rd valve water key,

 
I played on a Besson Meha lightweight model for about 2 years and now I'm a trumpet major in college. I picked up a 180S72 and it's changed my whole sound for the better.

This horn is crisp, clear, and responsive. It gets excellent tone and intonation in all registers and has a consistently excellent sound. It is heavy enough to use for orchestral and classical playing but versatile enough to be succesfully used for jazz and latin music as well. I recommend this as an all-around good buy for all-purpose playing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/26/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent horn.great valves
Cons: none

 
this trumpet is fantastic!! it has superb valves,a very nice sound and intonation and is a lovely instrument to play. it is great in the upper register and is a pleasure to play. i reccomend this horn to anyone including beginner players right up to the pros.

A great buy!!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Broad and robust sound. Solid materials.
Cons: Intonation not perfect. Third slide not practical.

 
Valves run good, after few years. Especially third valve took long to run smooth. After 20 years of intensive use in big bands, jazz combo's and soul-funk bands trumpet is still as new, apart from some minor dents and scratches of course and the silver finish at third valve.
For the insurance it had to be taxated 6 years ago: the outcome was plus 200,- since I bought it for about 1200,-.
I am not so pleased with the intonation of E2 and G#1 (both to low). On general the high register needs slightly higher intonation. The rest is o.k. or can be adjusted with the slides.
3rd valve slide is running to smooth or should have trigger (is running whilst playing with one hand).
On general the sound is fantastic, allways solid, never forced, not even fff, and takes it everywere (even into the sax microphone in the sax bell next to me!).
I would recommend only the older ones (untill early eaghties).
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great sound, intonation, comfortable to hold
Cons:

 
I had Bach build me a Strad last year to my specifications. It has proven better than any Xeno I've played. The XL bore allows me to use as much air as I need without distorting the sound. Plus, the nearest competitor's trumpet built to my specs would have cost me another 2,000 at least! Definitely a great, versatile horn for anyone looking to step up to the pro line.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: (180-38 Medium Bore) Beautiful sound, superb quality, easy to play
Cons:

 
Review for the 180-38, Medium bore, #7 lead pipe. I ran across this horn in the lacquer finish and finally found the trumpet sound I was looking for in a Bb... sweet, mellow, yet can brighten up when needed (and with the right mouthpiece). This horn is easy to play and the more I use it the more I like the sound and feel of the extra resistance. The 180-37 (standard 25 lead pipe configuration and reverse lead pipe) I played were noticeable more open in feel, but the sound didn't draw me in like on the 38 bell. A valve alignment may help make the horn even more efficient given its smaller bore size. The trumpet is definitely on the heavy weight side and excellent for solo work, small sections or just having fun at home. I only give this a 9 as it isn't as balanced and efficient as the Schilke B-7 I played -- it was a close call in terms of overall quality, but this Bach wins out on sound. If you buy this horn play it for a while and learn to use the resistance and bore to your advantage, don't be spring loaded to send it back because it tends to push back a little. You'll love the sound!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality, Sound
Cons:

 
follow-up to review posted on 10/8/2006

I've had this trumpet about a year now and give it the highest praise! The valves are superb (I use Al Cass on this horn), the lacquer finish is prestine, and the sound is sweeter then what I could achieve on other Bb trumpets. Which includes an Olds Ambassador, Schilke B-1, B-7, Yamaha 8310Z -- all great trumpets, but all of a different sound quality. For MY purposes (solo, section) the 180M is my personal choice. With a more shallow piece like a Bach 3C it has a very balanced tone -- more brilliance then with the 7C, yet very colorful. The medium bore makes this easy to play and I have no problems switching between my large bore C trumpet and this horn -- the overall resistance level is similar on these two horns despite the differences in air required due to bore size. If you are used to a very open horn, this trumpet WILL require an adjustment ... and don't try to overblow it, or the resistance will take a bite out of your endurance. If you work with the horn it will treat you very well. With standard weight valve caps the 3d valve fingerings do not slot as well as with heavy caps, but this is consistent across all the Strads I've played and simply requires the players awareness. Overall intonation is excellent!
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.