Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1bach_C180.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Bach C180
Reviews Views
19 15257
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,496.25 8.2

 

Description:
Many modern compositions are very strenuous to play when written in the high register, which can be performed more effectively by using a C trumpet. Widely used in chamber playing because of the singing tone quality. Large bore models are most commonly used in symphonic settings. Available in two bore sizes (ML, L).
Optional slides available to tune to Bb.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459;0.462
Bell (inch): 4.8125
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Website: http://www.selmer.com/
Keywords: Bach C180
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
admin
Administrator

Registered: December 2005
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 177
Review Date: 1/18/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Sound
Cons: Fit and Finish

 
Great horn, spent the extra money and had a valve alignment done, and added new leadpipe.

Made all the difference
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit admin's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/24/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sound quality and power
Cons: intonation

 
I have been playing this horn for more than 20 years, using alternate fingering for middle D and E which are originally flat.
Recently, I replaced the original 25c leadpipe by a Blackburn Louisville 19-350, with its special tuning slide: excellent result for rsponse and intonation.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/16/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good valves-finish-big open sound
Cons: plays out of tune

 
This is the trumpet of choice for many orchestras so you may have to use Bach.
I have played many other trumpets that are easier to play and are better in tune. The sound is big and would cut through well.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/6/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: intonation, sound, comfort
Cons: heavier

 
I bought a bach malone, as replacement for my benge which was totally worn out, and it is better as I expected it. I love that particular horn
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: versatile, great sound
Cons: some intonation issues

 
My Strad is a gold-plated ML bore with a 239 Sterling Plus bell and a Blackburn 19-350 leadpipe and rounding Blackburn tuning slide. The horn has a tendency to play a little stuffy, but that's mainly due to the ML bore, as most prefer the large. Still, for the price I paid, it's a wonderful horn!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 2/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great bright sound
Cons: Finish

 
I've got a 180L 229H with B flat slides. Have been really lucky intonation has been good and the B flat slides give me a slightly unbalanced large bore with good intonation.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Superb sound, overall high quality
Cons:

 
Review for the C180L Sterling Plus bell, lacquer finish, 229 bell/H leadpipe. I played mulitple bell combinations/finishes/leadpipes and the 229/H combination was my favorite. The other material I liked was the gold brass bell due to diverse tonal color (maybe not the best section horn, but great for solo work). The Sterling plus won out as a personal favorite, the sound had the best comination of a sweet ringing tone and brilliance. The silver plated brass bell I believe was the most billiant and cutting of the finishes. I mostly play solo work, so opted for this combination.
Great valves and slides functions and a beautiful horn as well. Yes, 3d valve combination at bottom/below the staff require a tweak on the 3d valve slide. Not a big deal! No other issues.
There is a reason Bach horns are so respected and played by professionals, I'm new to Bach but am now sold.

If your hunting for your first C trumpet, I played both the ML and L bore and prefer the large as it has a more open feeling. The ML is quite stuffy as compared to a similar Bb trumpet. The L bore took some getting used to, but after about a week no problems. Recommend a more open mouthpiece then on a Bb, ~24 bore/throat, but up to your personal desires.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,655.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: power, excellent pitch
Cons: intonation

 
my horn is a c180 25r leadpipe and a 229gh bell excellent horn pitch.... on fourth line d and fourth space e was flat had to use alt fingering for both overall an excellent horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very open feel, great C trumpet sound
Cons: can be a little stuffy in the upper register

 
My Bach Stradivarius C trumpet is an ML bore model, but it has a Model 256 heavyweight gold brass bell and a Blackburn 19-350 leadpipe and rounded main tuning slide. These additions make this horn feel more open than any large bore C I have ever used. It is very easy to switch back and forth between my Bach XL bore Bb and this C.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: perfect intonation and response, open in the high registers
Cons: none

 
We bought a large bore with 256 bell, a 20a leadpipe and with valve alignement. GREAT SUPERB HORN.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice standard orchestral sound
Cons: INTONATION, valves, INTONATION...

 
Owned a 229-25H. After several years I decided to try other horns (Callet, Kanstul...) and definitively I sold my Bach strad.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Classic sound, great valves, slots good
Cons: bad intonation, very stuffy

 
Ok horn. I have the reverse large bore leadpipe, 229 bell, silver plate. Very stuffy, especially in the upper register, and a little too bright, perhaps it's the bell. I don't know why anyone would buy a Bach knowing there are so many better horns out there. If you're worried that another horn would not be "traditional" enough, I'd recommend a Yamaha Xeno. It's a much better player as far as intonation, tone, and feel. In general, I am unhappy with my Bach, and I've been trying to like it for two years now of consistant (constant) use. Perhaps a different model would suit me better, but I am buying an Edwards Gen II... it's actually $100 less now that Bach upped its prices.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
i like Bach C Trumpet very nice
but unfortunately not every Bach, you need to choose well
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent tone (the standard for modern US Orchestral trumpets), fit and finish, well made, better intonation that expected
Cons: Upper D, Eb, E still flat, but less than others I've played.

 
Standard 229/25H in silver. Added both a Dave Miller slide (great for quintet), and a single radium M/K drawing slide in bronze (orchestral set-up), and with the slide that came with the trumpet (which is good as well), this horn is very versatile. My horn is one of the newest Bachs, made with the redefined jigs and the different bend of the bell. This horn plays better than any of the 4 Chicago and 5 Philly C trumpets I tried, and has "the sound".
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Sound, flexibility,
Cons: 4th space E and Eb, lacquer easily worn through

 
As a playing horn, this horn is plain fun, I got mine new-old stock, and it plays great, it goes as loud as I could want, doesn't break up and a very even sound throughout the registers, once i put rubber o-rings under the valve caps, before that, the high A didn't sound very easily and needed to be muscled.
Its a 25c-239 lacquer large bore
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $200.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: everything perfect
Cons: no

 
Perfect in every aspect.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/4/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: POWERFUL SOUND!
Cons: None

 
My Bach, which I just sold to fund the purchase of a Bach Philly or Chicago, was an exceptional horn in every way. Its previous owner installed a Blackburn #20 leadpipe and single radius tuning slide and had the valves aligned by Bob Reeves. Its 229GH bell helped produce a beautiful, huge, colorful sound. It played extremely evenly and in tune from top to bottom. Just an awesome horn! I shipped it to its lucky new owner a few days ago and miss it already.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/3/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great warm sound
Cons: not that easy to play, usual flat e and eb, fragile lacquer

 
I have been playing this horn since 1983 and I still love it. It is clearly a special horn,not a versatile horn. Used in the right context it is a great horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Isaias Jimenez
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 33
Review Date: 5/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sound
Cons: slotting, valves, finish, intonation!!!

 
I had one for 8 years and NEVER liked it!! I thought is was me but I found a beat up bach and sounded great on it. I found bach isn't very consistent. I also found that these trpt improve by mile on blackburn lead pipes!! I sold my and bought an amazing yamaha NY. Best C I ever had (my new Yamaha)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.