Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Bach MG290
Reviews Views
8 16680
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,034.40 9.4

 

Description:
Omega model, Bb medium large bore, with Monel valves, silver plated, outfit.

.459" Medium-large bore, 4-3/4" two-piece yellow brass bell with engraving based on Bach Stradivarius #37 design. Soldered bell rim wire, #25 Bach Stradivarius lead pipe. One piece Stradivarius-style valve casing. Monel metal pistons with two-point nylon valve guides and enclosed barrel-shaped bronze valve springs. First valve slide thumb hook, adjustable third valve slide finger ring and stop mechanism, nickel silver trim, engraved bell, silver-plated finish, genuine Vincent Bach mouthpiece and wood shell case
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Type: 2 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3, Monel
Website: http://www.selmer.com
Keywords: Bach MG290 Trumpet
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lightweight, great for marching or jazz band
Cons:

 
My parents bought me this horn when I was in 8th grade. Mine was made in 1994 and I still own it. I wish I had taken better care of it. It is soon to be in its last year of college marching band, after which it will receive a complete restoration. It is a truly wonderful horn, and I've had Strad owners actually prefer the sound and feel of this horn over their Strads! That said, it's still an intermediate horn, and lacks some of the Strad "zing." A great horn for a high school player though. I have definitely gotten a ton of use out of this horn!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $486.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tone
Cons: none

 
This is an excellent trumpet. I can't tell the difference this horn and a strad. Its nine years old and still playing very strong.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very powerful, excellent projection.
Cons: lacks a softer tone whilst playing at a lower dynamic

 
Excellent Trumpet, very reliable and well made. Great value for money when compared to the Bach strad.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/19/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $536.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very versital. Great for jazz and blues.
Cons:

 
This trumpet holds it own. I do a lot of jamming and it keeps up with the professional horms.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Projects a great sound and excellent tone
Cons: None

 
Got this trumpet in 2002. Best investment I have made. Great for jazz and holds its own when I jam. Some of my friends who have Strads love the feel and ease with high notes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, durable, Brand name, style
Cons: Plating scratched easily, and now has a million scratches on it

 
This horn is great, it is like a bach strad only not! I,ve played this horn in a conceet sage, in marching band, and mostly everything that has to do with trumpet, i love the silverness of it, mine came with a gold trim and a 5c gold mouthpiece, came in a wooden shell case, the defect is that the plating can be scratched easily, i would suggest getting a valve guard and a polishing or cleaning kit for it, Bach is the best name brand on the market today, always will be buying a horn from Bach
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Engraving,Tone,Valves just find one its amazing
Cons: mine didn't come with its orginal case

 
My sister played this for marching and Symphonic band and then was passed to me and its the best.I play in Jazz band,Marching,Wind Esmb,Back Up Band,Pep Band,Solos,Pit Orchtra you name the Omega does everything.I did however do a bad thing and pour powder soap down it to clean it once and i kinda screw it up but its all good now except the main tuning slide because of that soap took off all of the material and yes the brass shined yellow but now i have to put Hetman Ultra slide on because it will come out.This beats Strads hands down.(even though i play one but shhhh)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Petere
Junior Member

Registered: March 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 14
Review Date: 5/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Big sound, upper register ease
Cons: None

 
Its too bad these are not made new anymore. They are probably the best semi-pro trumpet available. They play like a pro trumpet in many respects. This model could be used through college, and it can be used by adults in community bands, and the player will probably not sense a difference between it and the pro horns of the section. The main difference is its two piece bell, compared to a one-piece for most pro horns. But the shape of the bell is the pro shape, so the sound is very, very similar. The valves are strad valves, the lead pipe is strad, the waterkeys are strad. It's just a great horn, regardless of what you pay for it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.