Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Benge 290
Reviews Views
8 10009
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,382.43 9.5

 

Description:
Features:
Dual rotor‚ .562" (14.27mm) bore‚ 10" (254mm) gold brass bell‚ in-line dual
Gb slide easily converts to optional triggers for pitch in Bb‚ F‚ Gb‚ Eb‚ & D
G slide‚ 1-1/4H mouthpiece‚ deluxe woodshell case. Full warranty.

Options:
Bright silver plate finish.
Gold plate finish.
Black nylon bass gig bag with strap.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.562
Bell (inch): 10.000
Key: Bb‚ F‚ Gb‚ Eb‚ & D
Bell material: Gold Brass
Website: http://www.cgconn.com
Keywords: Benge 290
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $957.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good horn for college level playing
Cons: If its string fed, that takes time to fix if your not a pro.

 
This is a great horn for the college student who doesn't have the money for a big brand name like Shires, Edwards, Thein, and Rath. This horn sounds just as open as a thayer valve. The price is reasonable for one and your not being over charged for it like with a Bach 50 line. It is a shame that Benge is no longer making these bass trombones.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good horn for high school or college level players
Cons: Sometimes spit valve gets wack, and the triggers are string.

 
I played this horn in high school while i was a sophmore till my senior year. The horn played with a nice dark warm sound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free flowing easy to play and very durable
Cons: The case it comes with is junk

 
Great Horn!! I played it in the USAF Band for 8yrs and it held up very well. I only had to do minor rotor work, due to playing all over the world. worth the money!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy to get good sound and good for high school & College students
Cons: can't think of any yet

 
I have been playing on this horn for 7 years and love it. Bought it from my high school director when I was a Sophomore in hs. Played it in several jazz bands inclduing Ron Miles jazz bands. Mine has laquer removed, ( I recommended it for a better sound). The mouth piece it comes with is alright, but I play on a gold plated Shilke 60.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy to get good sound and good for high school & College students
Cons: can't think of any yet

 
I have been playing on this horn for 7 years and love it. Bought it from my high school director when I was a Sophomore in hs. Played it in several jazz bands including Ron Miles jazz bands. Mine has laquer removed, ( I recommended it for a better sound). The mouth piece it comes with is alright, but I play on a gold plated Shilke 60.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: free flowing real good open sound.
Cons: string fed, it isnt bad but takes some time to fix which is a pain but is ok if you use fishing line.

 
I have been playing on this horn for a while its a great horn mine has a rose brass bell and switched to mechanical linkages. Other than the stock mechanical linkages its a great horn for a beginner all the way up to collage level stuff.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $920.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great for all, amazing sound
Cons: strung valves

 
Very nice instrument, works like a charm. 10 years old and works perfectly. Recommended to anyone beginners and up!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Outstanding horn at a reasonable price.
Cons: None

 
This is one of the best bass trombone bargains out there, even though it is not made any more. Nice dark sound, smooth slide. Independent valves are the way to go, and the Benge 290 has them. Contrary to some of the comments here, I like string actuated rotary valves. They are quiet and rarely fail. On my Conn 88H, I think the string has broken once or twice in 40 years.
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.