Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Conn 1FR
Reviews Views
9 11007
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,457.14 9.9

 

Description:
Available Options: Silver-Plated (1FR-SP), Gold-Plated (1FR-GP), Satin Lacquer (1FR-SLB), Full warranty.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.413
Bell (inch): 6.000
Website: http://www.unitedmusical.com
Keywords: Conn 1FR Flugelhorn
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/3/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: sound, intonation
Cons: laquer, 3rd valve lever

 
The sound and intonation are better than any flugel I've ever tried. My only complaints are that the laquer is already starting to show wear, and with the lever system for the 3rd slide it's hard to get the slide out far enough for low C#. I'd take it over any commonly available flugel sold today. The price I listed was for a dealer demo horn I bough in 2003.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tone.
Cons: None.

 
This is the best flugel available today. Kanstul is quite good as is Callichio. Other than that, you're left with Yamaha. I recently tried a new Yamaha flugel and was impressed by it's membership in the cornet family.
Who else makes flugels? Jupiter makes flugels. Bach flugels are horrid.
Conn V1 flugel is the best horn I've ever owned.
When I got it, I sold the world's best Coueasnon. I tried all the Kanstuls and Callichio. The Conn is awesome!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tone, intonation, valve cluster, third valve "woody" look cool, works well
Cons: Case cover is rather thin, easily torn or scuffed

 
I bought mine in silver plate, and have been EXTREMELY pleased with the instrument. All I had hoped for and more in a flugelhorn. Monette B1-5FL works great with it, and it plays in tune, with a huge, yet focused tone. Works well in studio and live performances, mikes well, and is at home in brass band, quintet, orchestra or combo. This is one part of the Conn line I hope that Steinway keeps. If not, then I will have a great horn that is no longer in production. If they do, they will sell the heck out of them, as they already do. Runs rings around every other flugelhorn I've played, including Kanstuls, Getzens, Yamaha, and a host of others.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/9/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Dark, Rich Tone Intonation
Cons: none

 
Great Horn! I have the satin gold finish and I love it. It would be really hard to find a horn that plays as smooth as this one. Not many flugels can keep that dark sound in the upper register, but this one can.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great sound in all registers, perfect intonation
Cons: none

 
I tested all the usual candidates. And I decided that I need no Flugel.
And then I got this Flugel in silver. This one is really exactly what I dreamed of. A dark and smooth sound over all registers. Easy blowing. makes always
a great impression to the audience, because it sounds extremly good.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best sound
Cons: none

 
see above. But:
make sure to have a good flugel mp. The ideal partner is in my opinion the DenisWick2FL (or 4FL) or something like this.
With small, narrow, flat, small-bore mpcs you won´t get this wonderful flugelsound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wonderful warm and intoned
Cons:

 
THe Best flugelhorn
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/17/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
I only play tested this horn, but I want one.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the top
Cons:

 
troppo the best
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.