Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1conn_1b.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Conn 1B "Vintage One"
Reviews Views
35 30982
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,664.72 8.6

 

Description:
Vintage One, Bb, combines the best of the classic C.G. Conn trumpets with a modern design. .459" (11.66mm) bore, one-piece hand-hammered yellow brass bell, 46 standard leadpipe, two tuning slides, monel pistons, patented Modular Valve Weight (MVW) system kit, 1-1/2C CKB mouthpiece, double case. Full warranty.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3
Website: http://www.unitedmusical.com
Keywords: Conn 1B Vintage One
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,904.33 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb tone, versatile, easy to play
Cons: Impractical case styling (functionality is just fine!), first slide ring (I prefer a saddle)...

 
I started looking for a new trumpet because I was experiencing endurance problems with the Courtois large bore that I'd been playing for 15 years or so... it really just seemed too hard to play.
I checked out the Flip Oakes Wild Thing, Getzen Severinsen, Yamaha Xeno and the Conn Vintage One. There was never any doubt that the V1 was the horn best suited to me. The Wild Thing played similarly to my Courtois (not very easy to play at all), though the tone was fantastic on the gold model... the Getzen was way too tight... the Xeno was nice, but the tone was lacking. The Vintage One was everything that the others lacked and more... beautiful tone, very easy to play and improved my endurance beyond recognition - and this happened instantly. All trumpet players are seeking something different in a horn, but for me, the Vintage One is everything... the short throw valves that make for finesse when playing fast passages. The trumpet plays ppp's to fff's equally effortlessly, with what I consider to be the ideal balance between a medium-dark, rich tone that brightens when pushed. I find the horn impossible to over blow. The response is excellent, especially at the lightest configuration. Talking of configuration, the Vintage One comes with accessories that make a huge difference to the tonal quality and the playing experience. Two tuning slides, and a Modular Valve Weight system change both timbre, slotting and response, giving you a horn that is versatile enough to play jazz and funk at one end, to symphonic and classical at the other end. I'm sure that this horn is not for everyone, but I do consider that there is nothing better out there for me. At the end of a two day trial, I bought the Vintage One. I've been playing it for seven months or so... long enough for the honeymoon to wear off, and I still love it every time I pick it up.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/1/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fast valves, good grip, fine tone, goes supersonic
Cons: too light for large orchestra work - get bell option

 
This is a great trumpet for everything but straight classical use, but then there is a gold bell version and a sterling bell version that take over from the standard model to suit those roles. You get 2 tuning slides and heavy valve caps. Its great. Make sure to dial in the version you really need.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/24/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
[This review relates to the 1BR model]

Recently all my instruments were stolen so I had to get a new horn, after playing the same Strad for nearly 15 years. I play mainly jazz/rock/funk/pop gigs and sessions, but occasionally have to sound like a legit player. I auditioned about 30 different horns and this one came out top in terms of playability and sound (I took another pro player along for a second opinion). It can be warm and fluffy or penetrating and big (oo-er).

If you're trying one, put the heavy valve caps on before you dismiss it as not slotting as well as a Xeno, they make a suprising amount of difference (for me at least). Although the Xeno was good, this shaded it.

However, if you have the cash, think about an Eclipse..... unfortunately my insurance company wanted to pay a dealer rather than a manufacturer
Hope this is some help to people....
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/3/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,799.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Centered sound, dark with bright edge, powerfully resonant!
Cons: None.

 
After trying out and playing many horns, from a Kanstul 1500A to an Olds Recording, I found this horn to be the most responsive, open, free-blowing, powerful and versatile horn for me. I bought one in Rose Brass, the standard 46 leadpipe, in gold plating.

The horn is not a heavy horn, but with the MVW valve bottom-cap system, you can really change the resonance and weight-balance of the horn. Plus, having both a rounded and D-shaped tuning slide brings even more options (I like the rounded one thus far).

The horn is very powerful, sizzles easily, resonants like crazy, and has a very beautiful sound. The craftsmanship is excellent, the finish spectacular, and the valves are unbelievable (only rivaled by Getzen valves and not by much) ... and the short-throw of them makes the speed all the more enjoyable and easy.

What I believe makes this horn quite the catch is that it's very versatile and the price is great for a pro horn.

The double case it comes with is gorgeous, albeit big, and seems to secure and protect the horn quite well.

I remember having my heart set on a Kanstul after playing many horns, and then I picked up the Vintage One and I couldn't figure out what to do; I was so sure I wanted the Kanstul, which is a very fine instrument, but this Conn blew me away...!

Well, I finally got One, and I do not regret it, and I recommend it highly. But please do try the different bell and leadpipe options, because one must find the configuration to fit their own needs and wants.

All in all, the Vintage One is one singing horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/8/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Projecting, resonant, deep and edgy, versatile!
Cons: Case is huge.

 
This horn is the bomb! It's powerful, beautiful, easy to play, responsive, the valves are fast and smooth, the workmanship is highend, the rose bell with gold plating is dark-ish with a bright overtone, and the horn is darn versatile. Gotta try one of these!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/17/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,650.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Nice finish and valves
Cons: too open

 
I tried 2 models, one silver finish and one gold plated. Although they responded well, the horn was just to open and overexposed for me. I am a good part time player and need something I can hide behind and change color with I guess. I purchased a 1969 37 raw brass strad and am happy with the variations of sound I can get with it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing so far

 
I am very pleased with my Vintage One trumpet. I've had it for about five months now. The only problem I had with it was the 1st valve stuck. I returned to the store I puchased it at, they cleaned it for free, and a better quality vale oil solved the problem. Most other people I know that have a comperably priced horn have bach strad's. I feel after playing both that the design of the Conn is better. The Conn has shoter pistons allowing faster valve movement. It also has a better system for keeping the third vale slide. Also, the tone, I Feel, is slightly better. I highly reccomend this trumpet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/12/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Imrpoved tone
Cons: support

 
I was a regular Jazz soloist, but now I'm a lead player. The adjustment I had to make from solo chair to lead was fairly smooth. Although it's not the best use for this awesome trumpet, it still works.

You can do everything with it, it is very flexible, and you'll have a great tone no matter what.

However, Dads don't buy this horn for your undeveloped player at home. It's murders on their lungs if they are not very experienced. You either sound amazing on this horn, or you sound weak and lame.

This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,725.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Valves, tone and response
Cons: quality control of manufacturing

 
The horn plays beautifully. It has such a rich tone. I have the 1BR-46 (translates to rose brass, 46 leadpipe with laquer finish). I prefer the rounded tuning slide to the "D" shaped one. The horn really responds well and can handle loud dynamic levels (better than my light weight Yamaha). The valves are awesome! There are some concerns over the quality control of horns coming out of the factory. Mine had a problem with the 3rd valve slide ( and I didn't realize until I bought the horn). The segment at the end that you remove to empty accumulated condensation was way too snug. One of the other horns seemed to have the mouthpiece receiver attached to the leadpipe incorrectly. My mouthpiece couldn't seat properly because it hit the leadpipe.
I'm very happy with the overall construction and love playing the horn. Just check everything carefully before you buy one, because chances are they didn't do a good job of checking at the factory.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
I have the rose brass bell model. It is easily one of the best production horns ever! In fact, I think it is better than my custom Harrelson.....and certainly much better than most of the older Conns out there....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Response. Beautiful tone with an open feel.
Cons: Valve springs are a little too soft, Bulky case

 
I have a 1B-46-GP that I bought brand new. It is a very versitle horn that sounds beautiful during soft passages or solos and can really light-up when you push the upper end. I like the rounded tuning slide and I use the heavy bottom caps. The heavy caps produce nice, tight slots. For a more focused tone, the squared tuning slide does the job. You can really hear and feel a difference between these 2 slides. I accuauly stretched the valve springs a little as i thought they were a little too "bouncy". The valves are super smooth and fast. The 3rd slide on mine took some time to break in but, is very smooth now. The fit and finish are excellent. I have the gold-plate option and it is really nice. I wouldnt hesitate to recomend this trumpet to anyone, student or pro!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: It looks nice. Lots of gadgets come with it.
Cons: Too hard to get a tone on, too much air needed. Thin sound.

 
I have been looking forward to trying one of these for months as I used to play an old Conn Director 17B with copper bell.
I have to say I was quite disappointed. It takes a lot of breath to make this thing sound at all. And the sound is 'thin', at least with me playing it. Higher register was hard to hit compared to Bach Strad or Yamaha I also tested today.
Wen back home, took out the old Conn Director 17B student horn and found it was easier to play and sounded better.
This was quite a suprise. I wanted one of these so badly. Glad I tried it out.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: An overall good horn with good construction. Tighter quality control than Bach, Nice warm tone. Short Valve throws but still loses to Getzen
Cons: Just not built for me, designed for someone besides me.

 
I had the oppurtunity to try one of these at Anaheim Band in my search of a pro trumpet about a year ago. Looking back, this horn, overall was a near winner. It had a rich tone, the one I tried was a .462 bore with a square tuning slide and yellow brass bell with silverplate and gold plated inner bell. It was quite responsive and freeblowing. My few complaints with it is that it was too heavy for what I played. In a marching situation, this horn probably wouldn't last long. This horn lacked the projection needed on the field so I couldn't take it unfortunately. However, in a concert setting, it's large bore and silver, gold bell, is perfect for the lead or small ensemble jazz player.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great valves, wonderful tone
Cons: 3rd slide a little stiff

 
I got the 1BR-46R (rose brass bell with reversed tuning) to replace my worn out Selmer Radial-2. This horn blows bigger and easier than its bore size suggests, with a really sweet tone. The heavy valve caps do make a difference that you will notice immediately. The horn also comes with 2 tuning slides - a round one and a D-shaped one. They are quite different...I find that I prefer the round one. The lower registers sound very full, and the upper range is easier than my Selmer ever was.

This is a very easy horn to sound good with.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good responce, easy blowing
Cons: Bulky case, laquer problems

 
I tryed many horns befor this one, the bach strad, accent black and sliver model pro horns, kings, getzens and many others but when i came to this after playing it only 20 mins i found this was the horn for me, being top chare in my highschool jazz band, this horn screams out notes if needed, and sounds very suttel when neede over all its an awsome horn ide recomend it toanyone
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,795.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: good responce, easy on the lungs, great looking
Cons: none

 
I went out and tried many brands of horns, all of which were great, but i found the 1br the best out of them all. I thought it was easily the best sounding horn of the bunch and was very comfortable to hold. It also had the best valves. Overall it is just a great trumpet and its my perfect horn:)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great tone and lots of set up options
Cons: watch out for quality control.

 
I tried a lot of pro model horns when I decided to replace my silver plated Strad 37. It came down to the to the Conn with a 46 lead pipe and sterling silver bell and the Kanstul 1500. The conn won out on tone and I liked the modular valve weight system that lets you really fine tune the sound along with the two tuning slides.

I would not buy one I had not tried first however. While I was shopping I came across one that had no spring on the water key and I needed to have my 3rd valve slide realigned to get the throw to work smoothly.

I still love my horn, I can get a great big dark legit sound on a symphonic mouthpiece then switch to a shallower mouthpiece for high parts and get projection without getting lazer tone. Its nice to have the option of the open tuning slide to cut the resistance and have it feel like a different horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Versatile tone, great sound at all dynamic levels, phat sound
Cons:

 
I have a 1B-46 in gold plate. Simply put, this horn is amazing. With the right mouthpiece, it can blend perfectly in a brass quintet, peel the sax players' ears off in a big band, or give a fat, smokey sound in a jazz combo. mmm-mmmmm.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth,fast valves,nice grip,easy blow.
Cons: not the best for lead.

 
I have the 1br.it`s great for small group performance,but too dark for lead.Maybe a different mouthpiece may make a difference.I play a Monette B2.I did try a shallower cup but the horn`s tone was compromised.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: FAST RESPONSE AND INTONATION !!!
Cons:

 
Really surprising horn... but you should try more for the price (Kanstul, Callet...)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/31/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A fantastic instrument
Cons: none

 
I bought this beautiful Conn Vintage One sterling silver bell model when my old Selmer Paris started misbehaving after an accident and then a complete overhaul. I tried the Conn in the stockroom of the shop and two minutes was was enough to tell me not to look any further. Great intonation in all registers and dynamic levels. Lovely mellow tone opens out to a bright huge sound, remains stable when pushed. If there is a better horn out there it really doesn't matter because this one delivers on all levels.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/21/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Depth of tone, stable pitch center, great tone quality
Cons: Lacquer is not really durable

 
Best stock horn on the market. Far more open and beautiful a tone than the Bach, warm sound and easily played. Stays in tune when you push it, tone stays full and rich. Works great in all settings. Rose brass bell makes it a great symphonic horn. Wish I had bought it sooner.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Full dark sound, good intonation,
Cons: Valve problems.

 
Overall a very nice horn. Mine is a 1BR50 and is very open, with the rounded tuning slide in it's far too open for me. Great sound, full and rich. Had a second valve sticking problem that ended up find its way back to the factory for a fix. The V1 is a very easy horn to like. I loved mine until it went back for repair and got a Xeno to use while it was out and have stuck with that.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,299.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good feel, great response. Looks to be good quality.
Cons: Lacquer problems.

 
The V1 is a good horn. I am playing one with a custom 1B-50 leadpipe and a Sterling Silver bell. What a sound! I've never heard anything so sweet! Overall I love the horn, it's easy to play and very versatile. The lacquer finish isn't that durable, as mentioned by some other reviewers. I'm seriously considering getting some white gloves to use while playing this horn. I'm already using a valve guard, but since the horn is used it already has some wear on it. I don't like all the rings on this horn. I prefer a 1st slide saddle, and a pinky hook. But these are minor personal preferences. If you're looking into getting a V1 get one with a Sterling Silver Bell, otherwise go with a Yamaha Xeno.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound (quite dark), flexable with the two tuning slides and MVW
Cons:

 
I tried lots of horns (bach, kanstul, stromvi, schagerl, xeno) before choosing this one. I got a 1B-SP (silver plated).

A great horn for most work, wouldn't be great for pure classical work (a bit too dark a sound in my view). Can change the tone using the second tuning slide and the MVW system. Very easy to play over the whole range.

Try lots of horns at this price, and then choose the one that you like. In my case it was a Conn V1 but it might not be for everyone.
This user is offline
 
  Page:  1 · 2

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.