Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Conn 38B
Reviews Views
9 12400
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $616.67 9.1

 

Description:
38B
#1 Bore
Bb
Connstellation in Nickel Plate with Brass Trim. 1955 1955-1983 1985
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.433
Bell (inch): 5.125
Keywords: Conn 38B
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 5/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sound /projection/ so easy to play
Cons: maybe quite heavy

 
This is the horn!!! As played and improved by so many great trumpet names, the Connstellation gives a great big sound in all registers with its small bore but big bell. The one I use professionaly is from 1969, and I love it with my Monette B6 FL mouthpiece: soo big & dark sound! Freddie Hubbard once said that the valves action of this model was the fastest and smoothest he's ever played...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: warm tone, awesome projection, slots well, looks great
Cons: I don't want to put it down

 
I get so many compliments on the styling, which is a work of art, and the sound of this horn. I own many trumpets but this is my favorite.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, big bell gives it a nice fat tone, very easy to move around on.
Cons: A bit heavy, not a great legit sound.

 
I was a little afraid of buying this horn, but since it was from WWBW and it said it was B quality, I decided to go ahead and get it. It was a long wait, but it was well worth it. My first words when I opened the case were, "Oh, my." This horn is gorgeous, and it has a tone to match the looks. This horn feels huge, both in size and blow. This horn definitely doesn't have an ideal legit sound, so in the long run I may buy another horn with a better legit sound. I fell in love with this horn immediately. If you find one for a good price, get it. You won't regret it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Huge sound, cutting power, and intimate softs
Cons: I wouldn't take it on a strict classical gig (even though it would work fine)

 
I bought my 1957 38B on ebay and it's my favorite horn to play. Rich, warm, soloistic when you want it to be... screaming, loud, projecting when you want it as well. It can cut any modern horn to shreds and I'm never going to sell this one. If you can get one with good valves scoop it up. There's nothing else out there that plays like this horn! wow.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Heavyweight way ahead of its' time!
Cons: Case good for carrying small cars

 
I played this model much of the time I was in U.S. Navy Bands - 1966 to 1970. These things can take rough handleing! I fondly remember the sweet tone at low volume and the roar on the other end! Too bad it's considered "illegitimate" by academics. It's a wonder horn!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Heavyweight way ahead of its' time!
Cons: Case built for small car

 
[SIZE="3"][COLOR="Blue"]I played this model much of the time I was in U.S. Navy Bands - 1966 to 1970. These things can take rough handling! I fondly remember the sweet warm tone at low volume and the roar on the other end! Too bad it's considered "illegitimate" by academics. It's a wonder horn! The cases are just awful, IMO! There is no reason for a trumpet case to weigh so darned much!!!![/COLOR][/SIZE]
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/15/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sweet sound. Upper range cuts like a knife. Great looks!
Cons: The case weighs a ton!!

 
I have owned my Connstellation since Jr. High. I had been playing only about 3 years on a beat up POS Getzen when I was given this brand new behemoth of a trumpet for Christmas in 1967. I played it all through High School and put it in the closet after graduation.

I was young and stupid! I had no clue what I had. Even my high school music teacher couldn't figure out why my folks had given me this horn. He told me it was like giving your kid a Corvette for their first car. Even then I still wasn't impressed.

After a 35 year "vacation" from playing. I dug it out of the closet, had it cleaned and overhauled and started playing again.

I has taken me 40 years to grow in to this horn and truely appreciate it.

I have played it in nearly every type of music style, from classical to jazz, and it has never failed to do the job. Nice warm tone for for jazz, yet can also scream as a lead horn. Awsome projection in concert and marching band. Beautiful solo ionstrument. This horn can do it all.

Solid and well built. Awsome valves, smooth and quick action. Beautiful to look at. Even after 40 years the finish is still 95% intact. Even the "one ton" case is built to last. I will never give this trumpet up!

A couple of years ago, I finally asked my Mother why she and Dad gave me this horn. Her answer was simple. My Dad had come into some extra money that year and knew I wanted a new trumpet for Christmas. He had to leave town on buiness and left instructions for my Mom to buy "the best trumpet available".

That says it all.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/10/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: big sound in middle and low register
Cons: very stuffy with small sound above high C

 
After reading so many reviews about this horn, I ended up getting one that was for sale on trumpet master . However, I was quite disappointed. It was totally mint, beautiful condition, but the sound in the upper register was nil.

One of my students liked it and I sold it to him.
That is not the end though. I thought I would try another Conn so I got one on Ebay...A Conn 12B with the Coprion Bell.
Now, this horn rocks! It is lighter weight and the really sizzles. I play mainly in the HIgh C to Triple E range and this really sings!

I am going to buy other vintage Conns to see if there are any other Conns that can beat the 12B
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $550.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It can pretty much do it all: Scream lead, belt out solos, and do section work as well. Great for Jazz
Cons: It is not a specialized horn, therefore it is not perfect in all areas. It comes very close though! This may not be your first choice for Classical

 
My horn is from the late 60ís and is in awesome shape for its age. Due to the heavier weight of the horn, any weight mouthpiece can be used with the Connstellation without the adverse affects that I noticed in the lighter Yamaha 8335LA. A Schilke 6a4a really lights it up while the heavier Monette style mpís donít seem to dampen the sound or add any more resistance. It also plays very well in a solo or section seat setting as well. My only gripe is that the valves are a little sloppy when playing faster licks, but it's an easy fix with some new springs. This horn is great for Classical-type solos too, but probably not the best choice for a symphony.

It screams lead with smaller mouthpieces and will slot all the way up to Fís and Gís above double C. But at the same time, you can put a Schilke 8E2 (basically a flugel mp for trumpet) and its sound will be somewhere between a shepardís crook cornet and a flugel horn. This is the beauty of this instrument. It can do so much that it seems to defy all the laws of trumpet playing. Its versatility might also be its only drawback as well. It does so many things well, but nothing is 100% perfect. Although it does outperform many one-purpose-only trumpets on the market today.

The Conn is really easy to play compared to the LA and it makes lesser horns feel like toys (it'll eat Bachs for breakfast!). With the same effort it will easily play 12db or more louder than my Yamaha, with a bigger fatter tone as well.

There is no end to the amount of air that you can pump through this thing. The resistance is there, but unlike other trumpets it doesnít increase hardly at all as you ascend through its range.

For the money you canít get a better trumpet. You would have to spend over $2500 to get a trumpet that can only do ONE thing better than this. But for $500 you just canít go wrong.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.