Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Edwards Generation X Bb
Reviews Views
8 14935
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $3,166.67 9.8

 

Description:
Bb Bore Sizes:
ML - .459"
L - .462"

The Generation X Bb and C offer an integral leadpipe system and interchangeable bells to optimize this solid design. These trumpets produce a very powerful tone and evenness throughout the entire register. Many players have found this design to work in jazz as well as classical settings. 24K satin gold plating is standard on the Generation X Models.

The Generation X Tuning Slide is oval in shape. This unique shape allows the instrument to play very even from low to high. It also allows the extreme upper register to respond faster than standard instruments.

Generation X Bells are handcrafted (one piece) in yellow brass available with either 4 7/8" or 5 1/4" bell flares. Five leadpipes are also available. Please refer to Bell Options and Leadpipe Options for more information.

Valve sections are constructed with nickel silver pistons in either vented or non-vented valves. Nickel silver valves produce the finest action available in the industry. Edwards offers a lifetime warranty on Generation X valve sets.

Vented Pistons create an effortless approach to using the first and third valve slides. When pistons are vented, there is no pressure build up in the slides when the corresponding valve in not depressed. Vented valves seal normally as standard valves and possess the same playing characteristics as a standard valve set. Vented valves must be requested at the time the order is placed.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459;0.462
Website: http://www.edwards-instruments.com
Keywords: Generation X
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/15/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good sound, intonation, feel and valves
Cons: none.

 
The added mass to this trumpet makes it easier to get a rich, resonant sound. The valves (which are nickel silver) are the best avaliable on brass instruments. The fact that this trumpet is a factory made custom trumpet, can allow for many different types of bells and leadpipes to be tried to achieve a trumpet that suits your playing style and sound concept. very free blow which allows a massive sound. Very good slides, and a number of finishes are avaliable.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
that looks exactly like the getzen genesis
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Huge fat sound, perfect and quick valve action, beautiful looking and unique horn
Cons:

 
"that looks exactly like the getzen genesis"


This horn was out before the Getzen Genesis, and is a superior horn. The Genesis is a toned-down version of the Edwards Gen. X.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
To the review above, I do believe Edwards is like the sister company of Getzen as it was founded by a family member of Getzen so I'm not quite surprised by the similarities, though I've never tried either so I can't really say for sure.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beautiful rich and mellow sound.Valves.Quality.Options.
Cons: Everybody keeps staring at your instrument.

 
Exellent sound in all registers-rich and warm.Valves,like all Edwards and Getzen instrument,works like a dream.The quality of the gold plating is outstanding.I've never seen any other company-including stinkin' Yamaha-that has something like it.And yes,options...While most other companies only offer a choice of finish,Generation X offers different bells,mouthpeices,leadpipes,finish,tuning slide,bore size.....The list go on-and on.Oh yes,did I mention that all this with a lifetime warranty,while Yamaha only a five-year warranty?No,I bet you didn't!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great valves, smart design, many options
Cons: None

 
This is a great horn... the breadth of options make this truly a custom horn... Nickel Silver valves are amazing... finsih options are great but what makes this a truly great horn is the interchangeable leadpipe system and the changeable bells... You can turn this horn into something entirely new in about one minute... Truly a great product... including flexibility at a reasonable price for the value provided!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves, Intonation, Sound, Look, Feel, and the ability to Customize
Cons: None

 
I fisrt tried this horn and others at a convention center and fell in love with it compared to my Bach 300.

The vallves are amazing and the intonation is
uncomparable.
And with the ability to custimize it just makes you love it more.
This user is offline
 
cyber_shake
Junior Member

Registered: December 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 12
Review Date: 4/4/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves, Intonation, Sound, Look, Feel, and the ability to Customize
Cons: some optional bells could be too heavy for some players

 
I purchased a used Gen3-X without first playing it, which is a bit risky since each one is a custom horn. With multiple bell and leadpipe options + 2 bore options, I hoped that it would be similar to my Getzen Genesis 3003, which I love, but have even more flexibility because of the changeable bells.

The 3rd valve casing, facing the bell, will be marked either 59 or 62 to designate whether you have a .459 (59) ML or .462 (62) L bore horn. Mine is a 59 = ML bore. Mine also has 2 different bells. One is a light 23 gauge and a regular sized bell that was heat treated which features a focused and more legit-type of sound, while the other is a super=heavy 20 gauge with a big 5 1/4" flair that has been annealed. It is suited more for solo, small combo or jazz work and has a darker quality and more overtones. Others are available, but those 2 came with the horn I purchased.

The 20 gauge bell (no longer available, not 21 is the heaviest Edwards makes) is weighty. Actually heavier than any trumpet I have ever held in my hands, including recent Monettes. This could be an issue to players with physical restrictions or older players ... especially in a longer gig. With the 23 gauge bell, the trumpet is still heavier than a stock Genesis, but feels solid and comfortable to me. I've heard a few question the 4-point bell connection system and having to crank down the screws to keep them from making noise and that would restrict bell movement and overall sound. I don't notice any strange issues at all. No noise. No need to over-torque down the screws, or anything at all ... so I'm not sure that is a valid concern.

The Edwards/Getzen valves are the best I've ever played. Crazy fast and consistent.

The blow of this horn is easy, making clear speaking at super-soft levels no problem, and the intonation, slotting, etc. seem spot-on to me. I was also concerned, being a large bore player, that the ML might be easy to over-blow or feel stuffy. No issue there at all. It feels very open, even with a moderate bore leadpipe ... I could make it even more open, if desired, with a bigger pipe available from Edwards.

The satin gold finish looks even better in person than the pictures I've seen. It looks and feels rich = well done, Edwards.

I feel fortunate that the horn 'fits' me well. Can't imagine a nicer trumpet overall. This horn is art work that is such a pleasure to play. If you can scratch together the money, this is a great option to consider.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.