Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1besson_BE928.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Besson BE928 Sovereign
Reviews Views
12 12397
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,133.33 7.6

 

Description:
BE928 Sovereign Cornet

The Besson Sovereign BE928 Cornet has the large, full sound that is sought after by brass bands and discriminating soloists alike. The cornet's rose brass bell allows for a dark sound that not only projects, but blends beautifully. Ideal for the brass or military band, the BE928 is the ultimate professional instrument.

1st and 3rd valve triggers
Bell diameter: 125mm
Bore: 11.84mm
Deluxe plush lined molded case
Finishes: Silver plate and lacquer with rose brass bell
Key: Bb
Valves: 3 centre sprung stainless steel
Water keys: 2
Weight: 1.10kg
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.466
Bell (inch): 4.882
Valves: 3, Stainless
Website: http://www.musicgroup.com
Keywords: Besson BE928 Sovereign
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/31/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: easy to find
Cons: valves

 
the one that most 4th section brass bands buy - most 2nd, 1st and Championships buy yamaha maestros or courtios.
The valves are legendary for being sluggish
The besson sovereigns have had very few updates and so look and play as those 20 odd years ago, whereas the maestros and courtios have gone straight past them.
Buy a Yamaha Maestro or a Courtois instead and get something up to date, instead of this prehistoric, dated model!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/13/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: very nice sound
Cons: valves

 
I have bought my Besson 2 years ago and I must say that it really has a nice sound but since the beginning its valves didn't work properly. The salesperson told me at that time that that was due to it not beeing "played in" but even now (2 years later) I still have problems with it sometimes, especialy the 3th valve.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Warm sound, velvety valves.
Cons: It might have come some more modern competitors.

 
My 928 is built at the late 80's. Have a great sound wich blends smootly in groups with other cornets(brassband). The valves is exelent and the triggers works very nicely. Plays great. Bougt this as a used horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good tone
Cons: valaves stick sometimes when not maintained

 
very good
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Tone
Cons: Stuffy in the high register

 
I bought this horn second-hand.

The tonal quality is what I was after, and it is here. Yamahas have a plainer tone, Courtois had too much projection for my brass band. The Besson sound is great. The rest is average. Valves are not problematic if well cared for, but need frequent attention. Intonation is globally good, though disconcerting (I get less flat low C# and low and middle D, but top A# is too sharp). The cornet tends to be stuffy in the high register, so you'll need a little while to adapt to this. If used with a large throat mouthpiece, the tone is really superb but the combination can be tiring. Probably not the right cornet if you constantly play over the stave.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Tone
Cons: open feel, valves of newer models

 
Valves are sluggish on newer models with enclosed valves. Valves are better on older models with external springs. Lovely tone, but very open and tiring to play, especially for solo cornet. Complete opposite of 927 which is stuffy. Nice open upper register.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tone
Cons: valves....

 
A lovely instument, I must say. Have tired better, but it is a very good instument. Exept the valves, the instument is perfect! I agree that the 3th valve is problematic... But the tone is very nice and warm.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tone, especially lower register
Cons: Valves and effort to blow

 
Tone, especially in the lower register is unmatched. Valves are always waiting to stick and need oiling on an almost daily basis. Because of the large bore the cornet is very temperamental to blow if it moves from hot to cold atmosphere or vice versa. Water, airlocks and and valve jams await the unwary. But if it is going well the Sovereign always sounds sweeter and rounder than the "Japcrap" competition. I dont own a hair shirt, so I love my Sovereign !.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/31/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, solid warm tone, wide open feel, fat lower register, great valves
Cons: Crappy case

 
What a great cornet. Bought this horn new in '91. Everything I ask of this horn it delivers, low to high. I've had more problems with the case than the horn. Besson got this cornet right! Hopefully the cases have gotten better over the years. A great choice if you're looking for that traditional, quality cornet sound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: nice sound, good projection
Cons: valves

 
bought the horn off ebay then got a valve job done on it plays well still adjusting to the intornatin issues of this horn
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/26/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great sound, blows freely.
Cons: Stuffy in the higher register

 
I am primarily a trumpet player; however I decided to try a Cornet because of the ability to play in brass bands. I had an old student Yamaha, but I did not think it was up to the job. I was recommended a Besson Soverign, it was amazing how much better the tone was! Flexibilities were much easier. But I found the instrument became stuffy in the upper register. But apart from this I thought it was a brilliant instrument and I would recommend it. I did not, as other people have mentioned, have problems with the valves.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beautiful sound, easy flexibility
Cons: third slide ring

 
plays evenly. third slide ring is a pain because my hands are too small to get to it, thats an easy fix. for any of you having trouble with the valves, i had the same problem, i found it to be the valve oil. i now use hetman light on it and they are fast buttery valves.
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.