Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Geneva Waterman
Reviews Views
17 15172
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,417.50 7.6

 

Description:
This trumpet was designed and custom built for International jazz trumpet player Steve Waterman. Whilst the new "Waterman" model is ideally suited for playing jazz, this trumpet would also feel at home in the Symphony Hall. This is a real all-round trumpet. The Waterman trumpet has a dark, heavy sound projected through a 4.750 bell giving it warmth, but put some air through this trumpet and it sizzles into a life and sound that any lead, commercial or symphonic player yearns for. I have also added a "SQUARE" tuning slide giving the player more resistance. The number "ONE" lead pipe is my most popular, it has an even taper from beginning to end, managing the intonation, without spoiling the open sound. The valves are MONEL, giving you, the player, many happy "STICK FREE" years. - Tim Oldroyd.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3, Monel
Website: http://www.genevatrumpets.com
Keywords: Geneva Waterman
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Pofessional Horn
Cons:

 
The GENEVA Trumpet is a truly remarkable trumpet. The intonation and flexability of the GENEVA throughout my full range is faultless. Tim Oldroyd has developed a trumpet that allows me to create the right sound always, from above the stave power to gentle ballads, without compromise. I thought I was happy with my horn, until I blew a GENEVA!. - Steve Waterman - Professional
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great build, sound and intonation
Cons: NONE

 
I picked up my NEW trumpet last week from Tim Oldroyd. I have not stopped putting it down since getting it.I used to play a Bach and thought I would never change.well I am glad I made the change. Keep up the good work Tim. A very happy customer.
Mark Sidwell - RIPON UK
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The Sound is the BEST
Cons:

 
HELLO

I am a professional musician based in the North of England, I for years have played Bach Strads and have always thought of them to be the best. I was looking for a new trumpet and looked at many models bach's, smith watkins and kanstuls but found them all to be great trumpets but nothing greatly different to my bach. Then I had noticed the name geneva coming up in conversation and fellow trumpet players telling me to check them out, so I went to a small company in LEEDS (UK) who are the only people in the UK selling these trumpets. WELL I was amazed by the sound, blow, intonation, my trumpet playing has never been so good and it really has given me a new lease of life, I can't praise these fine trumpets enough, they really are worth a closer look. A very happy Gregg Pearce(UK)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/14/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great build, finsh, sound, tuning, intonation
Cons: NONE

 
I have just taken delivery if my Watermant trumpet and I am over the moon, I had to wait nearly three months for it but worth the wait. PERFECT instrument, more of you guy out there should try them they are "AMAZING". I also tried out the NEW Oldroyd "Cardinal" the one Mr Oldroyd has made for Keeny Ball....It is also amazing but alittle out of my price range at £3000. Thanks Tim for making me an amazing trumpet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great in every way
Cons: NONE!!!!

 
I have just taken delivery of my NEW Oldroyd Cardinal 24K trumpet, made by Geneva trumpets.
This trumpet is by far better than my Monett 900, for a fraction of the price. The intonation,tuning, sound, build and feel is the TOPS. This is the best trumpet I have played, I can't praise them enough. Get out there and TRY THEM. You will not be dissapointed.

J.Rowe (London)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything is so good
Cons: i havn't found anything

 
I was told by a freind to visit your site as I too have just bought a 24K GOLD cardinal trumpet from tim oldroyd in stokesley(england). The trumpet is the best, I went up on three visits and had the trumpet more or less made in front of me and to my specifications, the service was first class ans I was made very welcome. TOP HORN and thanks Tom for all the coffee.
Try the geneva range and get a first class service.

Pete Baxter - Morton
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great intonation, and what a sound
Cons: none

 
I have recently taken delivery of my new platypus trumpet made by Tim Oldroyd for Gerard Presencer. i used to play an eclipse but found it lifeless so i went to see Tim about a trumpet tried his range of trumpets and settled on the platypus . Great horn very versatile and has far superior intonation and slotting to the eclipse .
would highly recomend these trumpets i have never wanted to play my trumpet this much a new lease of life.
Cheers Tim keep up the good work

M. Lander Leeds
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Sound all round, and looks fab!!!!
Cons: Haven't found any .......

 
I bought a Platypus in May this year and been gigging with it over the summer... All I can say is WOW... this trumpet is the dogs dooh dahs!!!!
Great mellow tone for lower, melodic playing, but just sails out over the top in the higher register. Just what you need in a soul band.
I would recommend these instruments to anyone.

Allan Guy
Richmond N. Yorks
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: NONE! PLEASE READ THE CONTENT OF THIS REVIEW!
Cons: unreliable seller!!!!!!

 
This is my experience with this seller.
A while ago I purchased from Geneva trumpets a used trumpet through eBay.
Couple of weeks passed and I haven't received the instrument, so I contacted the seller (Timothy). His excuse was that the long holidays and the bad weather are probably responsible for the delay.
After 2 more weeks of no communication with Timothy I filed a dispute through Paypal (the paying method I used). Timothy answered my arguments with a tracking number for the package he supposedly shipped. I checked and found out that such a tracking number never existed!!! Timothy assured me that the tracking number was real and that it is just not functional outside Britain (of course a complete nonsense!).
Well, to make a long story short…after 2 months (!!!) a package arrived.
From the package I could learn that the package was sent only 5.5 weeks after the purchase was done (I'm talking about a used inventory trumpet and not a custom built trumpet that might take time to prepare) although the seller promised an immediate shipping!. The trumpet was wrapped very poorly! (The box was wrapped with a small cardboard with no protection at all (of course the trumpet arrived badly damaged because of that) and the trumpet itself wasn't exactly what I expected…
My conclusion is: beware!!! You are not dealing with a honest company here!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Do not deal with this company unless you have good lawers

 
I ordered a cornet from Mr Oldroyd which was "hand built". I had so many excuses about why it had not been delivered just like others on this site, When it finally arrived it was not as expected. I returned the cornet but am still awaiting a refund. Trading Srandards are now involved. I've heard rumours that the company is in trouble. With the experience I had I can believe it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,895.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
I have just bought a Geneva cornet from Tim (Geneva) after just looking at the comments above I can't think we are talking about the same company. My experience was first class and I believe (I Know) I have bought a first class product. I play with possibly the finest band in the world and have palyed at the highest level for some time, so I know a good cornet when I play one. TIM take no notice's of these fools who bad mouth, they don't would not know a good cornet if it played it's self. Everyone don't listen to people who can't blow there nose, look who is playing the Geneva range, it speaks for it's self.
Sorry for my rant, a very very happy Customer.
SWW
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: The best we have tried
Cons: Had to part with money

 
My band have just bought a set of geneva cornets after spending lots of time trying different makes we found these to be the best. We did have to wait sometime for the cornets to be built, infact they were 3 weeks late but it was worth the wait. When I went down to the workshop I now know why it took so long he had cornets and trumpets coming out of his ears. I can say these instruments are the best I have ever seen and the look and feel is 100%. Sometime it is worth waiting alittle longer, the end result is sweet. Thank you Tim for a first rate product.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,495.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Trumpet
Cons:

 
Great Horn.....It KICKS. Thanx for a great service. Geneva are the best xxx
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Very Bad reputation!!!

 
After thorough investigation of the web I came to the conclusion that something is very very wrong with this firm. it seems that the instruments are not exactly "hand made", it is more like "made in china..assembled in GBR".
please do not be fooled by the positive feedbacks you read here, most of those feedbacks are coming directly from the owner of this firm (otherwise you wont be able to explain how can it be that Geneva receives more feedbacks that Bach and Yamaha together!!).
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: Terrible product , terrible service, no communication

 
This company is the worst.......hopefully your credit card company or your attorney will help you get uyour money back.

These are chinese trumpets......you can buy the same exact horn for $149.50........and the valves will probably be better than the ones on the trumpet I purchased.

Buyer beware!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superb Craftmanship -
Cons: None

 
The best trumpet that I have ever played. I am an ex military musician and now professional teacher and performer. I can't believe the negative comments on here. How have Geneva Trumpets received endorcements from Gerard Presencer and Steve Waterman if they are Chinese rubbish as described by people on this thread? These trumpets were launched at the Royal Accademy I believe!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Horns play well
Cons: Poor build quality and appalling customer care

 
Having recognised several names on this site who have submitted reviews for Geneva trumpets, I have to agree that many reviews here are from the company owner or his close associates.
Here is the real truth about this company.
The parts are sourced from various parts of the world and ASSEMBLED in Stokesley. The parts are mainly good quality, but some are not. The quality of the assembly varies dramatically from horn to horn. The actual 'finish' on the horn is never great.
The main problem with buying one of these horns is that once the company has your money, they don't care about the product. I have personal experience of this, having bought a trumpet which was delivered with faulty valves. After 6 months the problem was not corrected by Geneva, despite me sending back to them on 3 seperate occassions. In fact, out of the 6 months I owned the horn, Geneva had it in the workshop for 5 months! When I'd finally had enough (I must have the patience of a saint) Geneva refused to refund my money. I was stuck with a useless and pricey horn.
When I would ring to find out where it was, I was fobbed off. You always recieve excuses and bullsh*t from Geneva as soon as your cheque is cleared.
Try the horns by all means, but beware, the horn you try might not be the horn you buy, and if it is, once they have your money, if anything goes wrong you're in the sh*t. (Geneva offers a worthless 'lifetime guarantee. They don't offer the pinch of salt to go with it).
With so many quality horns around today, don't bother with Geneva
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.