Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  




1getzen_900_2.jpg








  • Pin It


 

Getzen 900 Eterna
Reviews Views
23 46097
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $766.41 8.9

 

Description:
Originally introduced in the early 1960s, the Eterna 900 rapidly became the most popular of Getzen's professional trumpets. During 40 years of production, subtle design changes altered the intruments personality. Numerous requests from fans of the early 900 convinced the Getzen Company to return to the original specifications and reintroduce the trumpet as the 900 Eterna Classic.

This classic design is exceptionally free blowing with excellent intonation. The Eterna Classic will serve working musicians and serious amateur players in a variety of music venues.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: 3
Website: http://www.getzen.com/
Keywords: Getzen Eterna 900
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
admin
Administrator

Registered: December 2005
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 177
Review Date: 1/15/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $875.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Valves
Cons: None

 
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit admin's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/17/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $749.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Valves
Cons:

 
A great horn, still play it over 30 years later... Still sounds great, and valves have been holding up well...

Awesome overall value...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: valves, sound
Cons: none

 
Bought my 1966 Eterna Severinsen model from the original owner in 1976. I've played it for almost 30 years now. Valves still feel great. Sound is incredibly warm and rich.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/15/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Re-Mark Poker
Cons: http://www.re-mark.com.ru

 
30205
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/16/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $340.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Valves; Finish; Quality of Sound;
Cons: none

 
ML bore:

Purchased one new in 1976 at Ray Lammer's Music in Cincinnati (now gone). Compared to a Bach 37, Benge 3x, 4x, 7x, Holton MF Horn 2 & 4; Conn Constallation, Yamaha (unknown model) and a few others back then. Picked the Getzen because the valves were perfect from the first time I ever played it and the tone was consistant up as high as I could play. The silver finish looked more like nickle, with a chrome-like appearance that was visually bright, so I liked that better too ... thought I know that was just cosmetic.

At almost 30 years old, I still play and totally enjoy this horn. I've replaced the lead pipe with another Getzen 'stock' unit a few years back because I could see heavy pitting after cleaning (guess I should have brushed after eating when I was in college). The finish still looks close to new and is easy to care for.

I wish the prices were still in this range for a nice pro horn (non custom) so everyone could pick up such a nice trumpet.

I've played many others since then, but always come back to this horn. It just fits me and makes me comfortable and confident. I've asked the local dealer to get a new Getzen Genesis 3003 for me to try, but I have no interest in any other horn.

If you're thinking about getting a new horn and you've never played a 900, you really should try one. Then you'll have to decide whether to go with the better playing horn or the peer pressure to buy the 'name' that use to be the standard.

Good luck & happy playing!

This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Getzen valves...enough said
Cons: none

 
Inherited this horn from my father who was the original owner then bought a second one. one has first slide trigger. As with all Getzen horns, Valves are to die for.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: valves, intonation, sound, feel of instrument, quality.
Cons: none

 
Bought my first eterna around 1980. A couple of years ago I decided on a new horn and bought the conn vintage one. A few months later, because of poor valves, I decided to trade it on a new getzen eterna classic.
After nine months of playing the new getzen I can't see me wanting to change again. By the way I also play the eterna cornet!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,099.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Solid construction, good buy
Cons: Valve springs, two piece bell

 
I recently had a chance to play the new Getzen 900S "Classic" for an extended period of time. Woodwind & Brasswind sells these for $1099 which is a very attractive price for a so-called pro level horn (beware, prices vary widely-- discounter Giardinelli sells the same horn for $1516.00!). I have few friends, pro players that play and love the old Severinsen Getzens of decades past so I figured this new re-introduction of the old Severinsen's would be worth trying. In a nutshell, I was dissappointed. This horn is definitely more of an intermediate level horn than professional. It was well put together but the response and intonation are not what one would expect from a true pro model. The two piece bell is one very big drawback (I'd love to try the one piece sterling bell model but it is a BIG jump up in price), it is rather dead sounding. Another problem the horn has is extremely stiff valve springs. One hears about how great Getzen valves are-- well, why have such hard action on the valves then? The only reason I can think of is so the valves will never stick in the hands of students, who may never oil the valves properly. Which brings us back to my main point about this horn-- good for a student or intermediate player (whatever that is). But if you want a professional level horn you're going to have to look at pro horns elsewhere, such as Getzen's Artist Series horns or the other big boys like Bach, Schilke, Yamaha, etc.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,050.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Light-weight horn, very nice case
Cons: Intonation, valves, not like the old 900s

 
I think I can sum this up pretty easily. The review posted on 4/22/06, I feel, hit the nail on the head. This new 900 horn is very disappointing in intonation & response. The tone sounds like your playing with the bell pointed towards the floor and the valves are stiff and unresponsive as well. I bought this horn for my daughter (mainly for it's unprecidented reputation from years past) for high school marching thinking I was getting a true "pro" trumpet at an intermediate price - truth is, I got what I paid for at $1050.00. Don't take it all bad, it is a descent trumpet but next to my 30 year old Bach model 37 it doesn't hold a candle to it - and I'm not really a fan of Bach either. This is not the same 900 from years past. If your serious about your next trumpet go with Bach or Yamaha.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing

 
great valves,great value,great intonation,great case,great quality,great waranty,great finish,great style,great sound,great versatality,great look,great mouthpiece,great bell,great leadpipe,great playability,great tuning slides,great price,great weight,great power,great durability,great cleaning kit,great valve oil,great......................everything.(puts Yamaha,Bach,Kanstul,Jupiter,and many others to shame.)
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
This current Eterna 900 isn't the same specs as before exactly anyways. The original Doc Severinsen Getzen I believe had a one piece bell so this can't be compared. I would reccomend you to see the sterling silver bell version of it though, leaps and bounds a more refined trumpet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing

 
As long as you see this horn as semi-pro,it surpasses even the strictest expectations,but it won't shine if it was considered a true pro model.That job is instead left to the Getzen custom series.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wig
Cons:

 
I find this horn to be quite wonderful in every way!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/20/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: valves, intonation
Cons: none

 
Bought a Severinsen new about 1978. It has the finest valve action of any horn I have ever played. Also the clearest, cleanest, most cutting tone! An excellent horn. If you want one of the worlds best, Get an early model Getzen Severinsen Eterna 900 in silver.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Unbelievable valves
Cons: Not flashy by any means...

 
The original Getzen Eterna trumpets made in the 1960's and 1970's are classic horns with the best valves around. Heck, Doc Severinsen played an Eterna for years and years. That said, these things were never very flashy-- where the Benge of that era was like a Mercedes Benz sports car, the Getzen was like a really smooth-riding Chevy sedan, extremely functional and safe. The tone was nice, not sensational, but overall, the horn beats out the way- overrated Bach Strad!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $340.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: valves, intonation
Cons: none

 
bought in my freshman year of high school (1976-77) new from Ray Lammers in Cincinnati. Not played much since college grad 1984. In med school, residency etc. Bought myself a new Strad 37 in 2000 but this really didn't get me excited either, tried several other horns but now I'm playing at church and excited about a comeback of sorts. I'm playing my old Severinsen model again, lead part, the Strad is a nice horn but doesn't stay in tune as well or slot as well on the stuff above the staff. I came here to get some ideas on a new horn: really want to try a genesis 3003. Good luck all
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 7/13/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cuts through the crowd!
Cons: None one Piece bell! Mine is:)

 
I have one of the older ones had it since I bought it in I think 1965!
SK1470 (Severinsen-Knowlton) The bell composition is different now and back then it was a one piece bell and not a two piece bell.
I had the optional 1st valve slide trigger. We called them Bach killers! Came with two tuning slides .458 and .460. No amado valves back then, but the valves were still as smooth as butter.
How many over horns around have had 40 years of production? Not many if any. It is a true work horse.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/6/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent valves! Good sizzle, intonation and response
Cons: Current version is inferior to '60s and '70s versions

 
I played the large bore "Severinsen" in high school, but was eventually wooed over to a Benge, then to a Bach. Frankly, I had long ago dismissed and forgotten the Eterna Severinsen trumpets. In 2005 a friend sold me a busted up ML Severinsen, manufactured around 1974, with broken braces and stuck valves and slides for $100. Then I let it sit around for 2 years. Last year, I determined that it might make a good loaner horn for friends and trumpet students, so I had some initial work done on it, just to make it functional. After finally playing the horn, I was very pleasantly surprised and decided to keep it for myself. The repaired valves were incredible, and the timbre was hot and soaring! After some additional repair work, it's now my primary jazz and lead trumpet (I still play a Bach for classical). I actually sold the Schilke B1 I was playing at the time, because the Eterna had virtually replaced it. I now know why not only Doc but the entire trumpet section of the old Tonight Show Band played this model. Unfortunately, the current Eterna 900 trumpet has been dumbed down to an intermediate model, with production standards no doubt to blame. Recent reports indicate that the current horns just don't play as well as in their heyday of the '60s and '70s. Maybe the one-piece sterling bell version plays well; I'd like to try it sometime. Fortunately, you can find old "Severinsen" Eternas on eBay and other places fairly easily.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Valve action, built solid.
Cons: none

 
I was a student playing the traditional Bach horns that had real poor valve action. I walked into Johnny Progris Music in Nashua, NH in 1975 and asked for a horn that sounds good and has slick valves.
He pulled this Doc Getzen off the wall and the rest is history!
I currently play this horn with a section of Bach Strads and I smoke them away!
I play this horn every day, and after all these years (33) this Getzen still looks like new and can fetch around 800.00. on Ebay..
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tone, Valves, Playability
Cons: None

 
I have the Eterna Severinsen Model. It plays better than anything I've played. I love mine and wouldn't trade it for anything.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 8/25/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $575.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fantastic horn and valves
Cons: none ;-)

 
Just got it home from the U.S. and Getzen is just the best.
The horn is from early 80 and plays like a dream.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/6/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: valves,slides,intonation
Cons: aesthetics

 
THESE VALVES ARE AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! slides work really well. stays in tune really well. i personally do not like how it looks but thats just me. pretty darn good trumpet
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/11/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Valves, Solid construction, Good sound, Low cost,
Cons: 3rd Valve slide

 
My main instrument at the point in time of this review. It is comparable in performance to the Bach Strads, Yamaha Xenos and other professional instruments, but costs less.

The valves are consistently fantastic. A real shining highlight for the instrument. I would rate them 10/10, where Bach's valves would be 7/10. Note that they're stainless steel, rather than monel. I once heard that Getzen does this because of the tendency of monel to wear unevenly over a long career. These valves will be good for a lifetime of playing.

I've played my horn outside in winter, dropped it, and had idiot band members knock it over. Nothing has ever broken, and there are no signs of weakness in any of the braces or connections. It is sturdy.

The sound is good and consistent over the normal playing range. After C above the staff the sounds does start to drop in quality. This is fairly normal, but I've played other horns with better upper registers.

This instrument's low cost makes it seem like a second rate Strad, but it's really anything but. Anyone looking to buy a Bb Strad should check out Getzen first.

My main concern with this instrument is the 3rd Valve slide. The Key ring system is helpful for having a Lyre, but outside of high school, that's not so useful. Without the Key ring in, the slide is likely to fall off, breaking or damaging the water key and slide itself. When the ring is screwed in, I can never find a comfortable balance between having enough pull for the low F, and having a relaxing 'slide in' position.

I would recommend this horn to anyone in the market for a ML bore Bb.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.