Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1getzen_3850.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Getzen 3850
Reviews Views
10 15659
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,156.25 9.0

 

Description:
The same great valve sections found on all Getzen Trumpets can also be found on every Getzen Cornet. Hand-lapped, nickel silver pistons mean that you will never be held back by the performance of your valves. As with the trumpet line, there are several options available on Getzen Cornets. Three different bell options on the Custom Series Cornets ensures each player can find the exact sound that heshe wants. If a freeer blowing instrument is desired, the Eterna 800 is available in an optional large bore model. Add to this the ability to select between clear lacuer finish and silver or gold plating and you can virtually build the exact cornet you want.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.462
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Copper
Website: http://www.getzen.com/
Keywords: getzen cornet 3850
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/15/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wonderful warm sound.
Cons: A little uncomfortable to hold until you get used to it.

 
I have this cornet in silver plate and am very impressed with this horn. The copper bell gives a warm sound and this horn is exceedingly well made. The 3050S plays easily and projects out well. It appears that Getzen is determined to be known as the maker of some of the finest instruments on the market, on or above a par with Bach, Schilke and high end Yamahas, etc. with this new "Custom" 3000 series. I've owned and played many cornets and this is the finest cornet I've ever had. This excellent little cornet makes we want to try the "Custom" trumpets!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/28/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Build quality, tone, beautiful looks
Cons: a bit heavy

 
Getzen is a fine company and this cornet is very good indeed. I found its build quality to be superb, without really a flaw. Tone, especially in the lower range was dark and solid. However, up high it tended not to open up easily. Could be very mouthpiece dependent. I used a Wick 3B. The feel of this horn is largish in the hand. I didn't really mind that. I recommend the lacquer finish as it really shows off the multi colored look of the horn. For the money, this is the best cornet on the market in my opinion.
This user is offline
 
admin
Administrator

Registered: December 2005
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 177
Review Date: 6/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Sound, Good value for the Money
Cons: Minor Quality Issue, Dealer Fixed

 
Model: Getzen 3850
Finish: Lacquer

Mouthpieces: Sparx 2C

Build Quality / Design


Like the Mike Vax series trumpet, the quality and fit and finish of this cornet is beautiful. I tried a silver plated version, but ended up going with the lacquer finish version, with the copper bell. The copper bell is a beautiful contrast to the lacquer and nickel finish. The style reminds me of my Getzen “Copra Temp” super deluxe from the 1960s. Unlike the Mike Vax, it does have amado water keys, and has an extra one in the last turn before entering the 3rd valve. Slides are awesome as smooth as always. The first and third triggers help on intonation and are very easy and comfortable. Again, tried a few different professional cornets, and this cornet plays better than some of the more expensive shepherd crook cornets out there. (Besson, Schilke, Bach, Kanstul) A great performer at a great price. Getzen case is good, but kind of has a tight fit when the cornet is inside. Makes me think if the latch failed it would pop right open. I’m figuring that over time the inside of the case will compress down a little.

One issue I had when I received this horn from Dillon Music, was that the first valve would stick if I played ever so off center. Jim @ Dillon Music was very helpful, took the horn back to their shop and ended up finding a large amount of “red rouge” in the horn that was causing the valves to hang up. Minor issue, all cleaned out now and it works great. To Brett and the Getzen team, slow down make sure to catch this type of quality before you send out a new horn. No issue now, and Getzen valves are working “exactly” as you would expect. Silky Smooth, and great for Clarke type cornet solos.


Intonation/Tone / Sound

I tried out the Lacquer, Silver plated versions. I ended up with the Lacquer version, as I though it had the "darkest" tone on any of the two I played. Might just be physcialogical, but it does seem to sound darker to me. Have now played a few concerts with this horn, and really like the dark sound in Sousa/Clarke type arrangements. I did try a few different mouthpieces with it, and ended up with my Sparx 2 mouthpiece to get the fullest sound with this cornet. A very full sound, and very classic cornet sound at least for me.



Overall

A 9.0 out of 10. Would have a perfect 10, except for the valve issue that I had due to the red rouge gunk in the horn? Overall, this was the fullest sounding cornet that I was able to find during my searching over the past 2 months. Intonation is very good in all registers – when not the 1st and 3rd valve triggers take care of that. As I stated in my other review of my Mike Vax trumpet, this further reinforces my belief in sticking with a great horn manufacturer. As other US horn makers go to China (over there striking work force) – it keeps reminding me to deal with a small, family owned and operated business. Finally, this was a great early Father’s Day present, but now my wife (also a trumpet player) now wants to use it in the same concert. Imagine having to switch horns with your wife during a concert…


Finally, don’t think this horn is outrageously expensive. Do yourself a favor and call around to find the pricing on this cornet. It was not nearly as expensive as I thought it would have been. I got my at Dillon Music, and as always a very good price.

I would recommend anyone looking for a new cornet, try this one out.

You can read more about the model at:

http://www.getzen.com/cornet/custom/3850.shtml"]http://www.getzen.com/cornet/custom/3850.shtml[/URL]


Thanks to Jim @ Dillon Music for his time. Brett - your company makes "great" horns.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit admin's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: smooth, fluid response from bottom to top
Cons: none

 
Great horn. Also loved the 800 series eterna, but had one heck of a time trying to hold it with that fancy new wrap. Couldn't hold it, didn't buy it. This one - 3850 - is a gem. Oh, and it's real perty, too.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super valves, great sound
Cons: Problem under laquer at bell rim

 
I got the horn off Ebay at a super deal. The upper register is more open than that of my Getzen 800S. Others who have played it are very impressed.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Deep full sound, flexibility
Cons: Not readily available

 
I do think this is the best Bb cornet for the money, and if you have large hands it's easier to hold than most cornets. The horn is flexible (easy shakes, smearing, etc), but still can be used for more traditional fast running passages and old Clarke solos with ease. These horns require a longer time to produce, so you may have to wait 6 months, but it's a terrific cornet.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/12/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful lush sound, great value for the money
Cons: above high C a little stuffy

 
This is the first Cornet I've ever owned, so my knowledge is limited. I have tried many cornets though; Yamaha, Bach, vintage Kings, and Kanstul. They were all to stuffy for me. This Getzen, though, is open and, in many ways, more flexible than any trumpet. The Getzen valves are, of course, impeccable. The Copper bell is full and rich in tone. Intonation is good, and the low D, D-flat, F-sharp, et. al. are actually a lot easier than it would seem with the dual triggers. I thought I would have trouble dealing with them, but they were far easier than I expected. With my Monette B6D mouthpiece it delivers all I could hope for in a cornet.
Plus this high end horn is actually affordable.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sound and valves
Cons: none

 
Best cornet I have ever tried. Incredible sound in the lower range. Free blowing and really nice to play. Best valves I have ever tried on any instrument. Nice build quality and good value for money. Have had the horn for two years now, and no complaints yet. I use Dennis Wick 4b and 4 mouthpieces.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: buttery valves, mellow relaxing tone
Cons: intonation makes you work hard

 
This is an outstanding brass band horn, outstanding. It has a beautifuly mellow, relaxing tone. Like coffee in the morning on a rainy day.

The quality is superb. The valves are buttery and lightning fast, as should be expected with any Getzen horn.

I bought this horn for brass band and it serves that purpose extremely well. However, I tried to use it in my concert band and had a whale of a time blending...hehe.

My only complaint are the intonation challenges. Those triggers are there for a reason. You will work hard to make sure you are in tune with the rest of the section. However, I still recommend this player. Great horn, and the copper bell sounds nice.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/21/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Lightning fast valves, sweet sound.
Cons: NONE

 
I bought this cornet about a year ago. I play dixieland / traditional / ala HOT Jazz and for me this is the perfect axe. I can make this sound as bright as any trumpet, or back off the gas pedal and it has a beautiful mellow Jazz sound. Very open and crisp. A great JAZZ horn. Yes I'm happy with it. I have the lacquer version and it looks awesome with the copper bell too. A happy customer.

Ben Mauger
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.