Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Getzen 700S Eterna II
Reviews Views
22 28924
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $788.10 8.6

 

Description:
The Getzen 700 Series Trumpets are perfect for the musician looking for a professional quality trumpet at an intermediate price. Both the model 700S Eterna II and 700SP are only availabe with bright silver plating.
All 700 Series instruments are limited production and are only offered at a limited number of Getzen dealers.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Website: http://www.getzen.com/
Keywords: getzen eterna 700s
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/9/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: GREAT valves
Cons:

 
For the price, its a very good deal.

At school, all bach strads (i think) sound better, but they're also twice as much.If you plan on buying a professional horn, you should probably invest in something a little nicer (and more expensive).
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $675.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Comfortable, Fairly nice upper register, great valves, nice finnish
Cons: plays slightly out of tune

 
Makes a a great intermediate horn. Valves are very smooth and absolutly impeckable. Easy to find pitch on this horn which makes it very comfortable to play. Also its very comfortable to hold, its very light, and the thumb cradle is curved and bent inward making it comfortable to hold. Finish stays nice, very shiny as long as you clean it. It has a compact sound making it fairly versital. It wouldnt make a very good professional horn, but for the player in high school or college it makes a good horn, its not terrible expensive and overall a good horn, although it does play slightly out of tune. The upper register isnt that bad at all, its fairly freeblowing. anything below a low c on it doesnt sound all that good though, but that just may be because of me. I definatly like the adjustable slide ring with the plastic stopper it has, its a very good idea, i dont like the non adjustable because i have big fingers and i dont like the screw stoppers because the screws get lost easily, the plastic one doesnt fall off. All the slides move very nicely. all in all this a very decent horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fine sound, moderate cost, very good finish, a great value
Cons: No screw for 3rd valve slide

 
I tried Yamaha and Bach, but I picked the Getzen strictly for the feel, response and sound. That it was by far the least expensive was a plus, but not the main reason for my choice. I use a Schilke mouthpiece

I'm very happy with it. I get a clear, rich sound. I was taking some private lessons from a musician with a Bach Strad. He constantly had trouble with his valves, though he'd sent it back to the factory twice. My valves have never given me a lick of trouble. While he was technically better than me (naturally), I got a better sound from my horn. (He agreed.)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/9/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Valves, price, weight
Cons:

 
I've had my Eterna since 93 and have loved playing it. Its overall feel is great. For what my parents paid for it, its a great deal. Its paid out more than 10 times its worth with gigs over the years. From Casino jobs, to weddings, to bars, and marching band, wind ensemble, jazz band, etc...this horn can do it all. I know many people in high school like Bach's, but this horn is just as good. I've rated it an 8 only because I think there are better horns out there. Comparatively, this is not a "pro-level" horn but is a great all around horn. I still play it 12 years later.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The absolute best valves, great tone, excellent build quality backed by Getzen's 5yr.(workmanship)/Lifetime (valves) warranty.
Cons: I prefer a soldered 3rd valve ring.

 
As long as one approaches this horn as an "intermediate" model, rather than a "pro" it surpasses expectations. I love the tone of my 700S much more than the Bach Strad 37, I tried. The reverse inward valve caps and push button water keys are great features for a horn at this price. The tone, finish and overall build quality of this horn puts some popular contenders to shame. (Some at twice the cost!) It is also a pleasure to see that Getzen quality is consistent on all of there instruments, so you won't have to "play a few to get a good one". Sadly I have heard differently about Bach.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great tone great finish great valves
Cons: for the third valve ring there not screw

 
this is a great intermediate trumpet. its has a great sound for being so cheap
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $775.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great price for the quality, Getzen valves, nice finish
Cons: a bit bright sounding for chamber music

 
I have played mine for three years and it still looks like new. It has a nice bright sound that I love for big band. The valves are smooth and I have never had a problem with them. It is a bit bright for chamber music and small intimate groups. Still, for the money I wouldn't trade it for the world.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,050.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High quality build, valves are amazing, good slotting, good projection, good value!
Cons: The mouthpiece/case that comes with it isn't that great, and there are better horns out there

 
This horn is great. The big thing that stands out to me with the Getzen horns is how well they're built. The valves are awesome, some of the best around! If you take good care of them (clean every month, oil them, etc) they can really amaze! I've tried bach strads (which cost twice as much), and their valves don't come even close to these. I've also tried some Monettes at the shop (MF PRANA XLT, PRANA 3, and AJNA II), and their valves were about the same quality at the Getzen EII 700!

Another really nice thing about this trumpet is how easy it is to maintain. I have had it for about nine months now, and I wash it out about once/twice a month. I'm actually liking it more now than I did at first, it seems like it gradually improves with constant playing and cleaning. I rarely ever get sticky valves, and I usually only have to oil and grease it after it gets cleaned.

The horn is capable of sounding really bright at extreme volume levels, while dark when played softly. It's not super free blowing, although it is not really resistant either.

The only downsides to this horn are the soft case and mouthpiece that come with it. I liked the blue Getzen soft cases up until I dropped one on the driveway once and there was a huge dent in the back of the curved bell pipe (note: this happened with a different horn in the case). I saved up and bought a Torpedo case. The mouthpiece that it comes with is a basic beginner student 7 C, which may work for some people, but was really tiny and stuffy for me. A couple of days after I got this horn, I bought a bigger Monette mouthpiece, which fixed all of the problems I had with the 7c.

In conclusion, there are better horns out there if you're willing to spend several thousand more dollars. In it's league, the Eterna II wins my money by far.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: lightweight, valves, register
Cons: resistance, plating

 
Great trumpet for any student. Horn has acceptable intonation & response, however, there are a lot of small visible flaws in plating which could be a real problem with continued wear down the road. Good choice for high school symphonic band.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $820.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Surpasses all other intermediate horns.
Cons: Is there any?

 
Would people stop comparing Eternas to Bach Strads?!?The Strad is in the professional class and costs twice as much.Compare a more similarily priced Bach TR.That's what I did,and I'm happy to report that the Eterna surpassed the crappy Bach in all areas.This horn will serve well until you reached college.Then you may want to move up to a Getzen Custom model.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/5/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great value
Cons: none

 
If you could hope for more on an intermediate trumpet,go slap yourself on the face.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $825.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great Valves
Cons: Thin silver plate

 
Overall, it's a good intermediate horn. The valves are smooth and fast. Plays well. My only complaints are with the quality of construction, and cosmetic issues. The seam at the bell flare is very prominent (which I have observed with their other 700 series horns), and a considerable amount of silver plating wore away on the valve casings after just one year of use. Although this doesn't affect the playing of the horn, it causes it to look rather shabby, even though I have taken very good care of it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: awesome horn! beats my benge by far!
Cons: none

 
This horn is unbelievable! Lightweight with a dark rich tone. Easy to play in all regiisters and has a beautiful finish! I played for 30 years and I love this horn better than my Bach and Benge! Getzen has one heck of a product!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: silver, plays great for several years,
Cons: after some years of use, starts to lose it's tone

 
Friend has a getzen capri, other has this, the 700S Eterna II. Friend has had capri for 20+ years and it doesn't sound like a trumpet anymore. My friend that has a Eterna II, trumpet's tone sounds great now, but will wear off. Getzens are sometimes known to lose tone.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Nice look, Good Projection, Great Valves
Cons: TERRIBLE TONE AND TUNING

 
it really projects well and the slides and valves work great, but the tone is terrible, and it goes very sharp or flat randomly
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Sound Projection, superior valves
Cons: didn't like the finish

 
It's a great horn that fills the room with sound and depending on the mouthpiece you use the horn is very free blowing. I have a Shilke 13A4a and it is easy to play in all registers. The valves are super slick for fast fingering. The major complaint I have are with the finishing. First the silver plating has spotted very easily and the seam with the bell is prominent. Overall the horn is excellent for its price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/12/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: valves, ease of playing, freeblowing, easy high register
Cons: too bright for classical playing! sound quality is poor. tunning slide too tight. intonation

 
this is a great horn for jazz but terrible for classical work. i played this for symphony and the sound is way to bright, the sound cuts through the blend of the orchestra. The trumpet is only free blowing when you have the right mouthpiece (bach mouthpiece's don't work as well a schilke's on this trumpet). very easy to play high notes and its very light to hold.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cheap, great valve action, awesome marching horn, and a really great starter horn!
Cons: Not exactly a great professional concert horn.

 
This was the first trumpet I ever purchased, and served me GREAT until High school. The stakes were higher and I found that I grew out of it. In a marching setting, nobody could ask for a tougher horn!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/1/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Superior valves, dark tone on low register
Cons: stiff main tuning, intermediate grade

 
this is a great horn, when it comes to playing high register, it gives this bright sound that i'm okay with it, and when it comes to playing in low register, it gives a dark rich sound that doesn't disappoint. However the problem i have with this horn is that it is not professional, but is intermediate.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great intermediate model horn/ valves
Cons: none

 
beautiful trumpet and I would say best intermediate model trumpet you can get next to a olds ambassador. Cant go wrong with this purchase
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $650.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: valves
Cons: a bit restrictive

 
Thanks for all the replys. I bought the Getzen as something to play while I saved the coin to have my 1944 Martin Committee Model tuned up (dents, slides and a valve job.) As a comeback player of sorts I do enjoy the Eterna -- easy to play, responsive, surprisingly good in the upper register. Once the Martin is fixed I'll keep the Getzen or maybe look for a good 900. For the money these seem to be great instruments! And I too tire of everyone comparing everything to the Bach Strad..... There are other trumpets out there....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrTrumpet
Junior Member

Registered: August 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Review Date: 8/10/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $855.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Getzen quality valves, low price
Cons: stiff tuning slide

 
I was looking for a pretty good horn for around 800 bucks. my friend recommended the brand Getzen, and i looked into Getzen trumpets. I soon found this horn. I tried it at my local music store, and i loved it. It plays in tune very well. The upper and lower registers sound very good. the valves are incredibly fast, and the valves come with a life-time warranty. The only bad thing about this horn is that even with slide grease/oil, the tuning slide is difficult to pull out/push in. overall, i strongly recommend this horn, but never buy online. always go to a music store and ask them to order it for you to try there because you may not like it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.