Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1getzen_896s.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Getzen 896 Flugelhorn
Reviews Views
7 13741
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $655.83 7.7

 

Description:
All Eterna Series Flugelhorns feature the traditional first and third valve slides and all are ideal instruments for jazz, concert, or brass bands. The 896S has many professional features: nickel silver inside tuning slides, nickel-plated brass mouthpipe, a fourth valve for alternate 1-3 valve combinations, and a bright silverplate finish. Comes with Getzen Gold warranty and Lifetime Valve Warranty.

Key of Bb. .460" bore, 6-1/2" yellow brass bell, 4 valves, silverplated finish. Hardshell wood case.

Features:

Key of Bb
.460" bore
Yellow brass 6-1/2" bell
4 valves
Nickel-plated brass mouthpipe
Silverplated finish
Hardshell wood case
Comes with Getzen Gold warranty and Lifetime Valve Warranty
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 6.500
Valves: 4 valves
Website: http://www.getzen.com
Keywords: Gezten 896 Eterna Flugelhorn
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Huge sound, free blowing
Cons: Heavy, not for the faint hearted

 
The sound from this horn is amazing, warm, rich, big, and dark, everything that a person could want in a flugelhorn. I bought the 4 valve model on a recommendation from my teacher, but wished I didn't, it adds to the weight of the horn and increases resistance. I have seldom used the forth valve and would probably been happier with three valves and a trigger.

None of that detracts from the quality of the horn. As I said, the sound is amazing. But it is a lot of horn, it takes more effort to keep this horn going than other flugelhorns I have tried. If I ever get another, I am going to get a smaller bore and only three valves.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wondeful Sound and Large Bore, And a useable Pedal F
Cons: Tuning can be a bit freaky, original reciever may be wrong

 
I bought this horn used from a great older player. He bought it new in the 70's. It was one of the original ones and the first few off the line had the wrong receiver placed on them. Now I have to either replace the receiver or modify my mouthpiece. This horn plays beautifully and can be played amazingly loud and soft without ruining the sound quality. As with most vintage flugels tuning can be a bit quirky but overall not bade.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/14/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Rich fat sound
Cons: tuning, particularly on first valve

 
I

love the feel and sound of my 2 yr old Getzen Eterna 4 valve except that I need to use it in a British Brass Band where tuning has to be exact, and unfortunately I have not managed yet to get over the problem that notes played on 1st valave are generally flat, and sometimes quite markedly so. The response of conductors in the UK has generally been that they do not consider this horn suitable for that reason, and it is frustrating to have an instrument I absolutely love but can't play anywhere except at home for my own personal pleasure. Whether I would recommend it or not depends on where you wuold want to use it. For a jsession musician it may be fine, but not anywhere where you need to tune it in with 25+ other brass instruments.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/28/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice thick sound and the low range is amazing.
Cons: High range limited and hard to hold with 4 valves.

 
This is a decent horn. I bought it from a friend who quit music. Overall a very good sounding horn. If I had to choose a different horn it would either be a Bobby Shew Yamaha or a Cuesnon. I will eventually trade this horn for a better model.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/17/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $535.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very nice full tone. Ease at playing in the high range.
Cons: Spit valves easily get plugged, but can be re-opened with a toothpick and some finessing.

 
The horn has a full rich mellow tone, and covers the lower register well especially using the 4th valve option. I actually use the 4th valve quit a lot, which after learning and becoming proficient with the alternate fingerings, becomes a quick and responsive instrument on fast runs. The unique aspect of this horn is how I can with ease convert lines into the lead trumpet range, which totally amazes trumpet players in the audience that tell me they cannot believe I am playing a flugelhorn with lead chops.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Isaias Jimenez
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 33
Review Date: 5/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: everything is ok
Cons: average

 
I had I mint condition getzen for 6 years, but after playing 3 notes on a Courtois I sold it and bought the courtois counterpart.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
edfitzvb
Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 12
Review Date: 8/5/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lush dark sound
Cons: Weight, larger bore

 
I have had this horn for several years now and I love the sound that it has. I appreciate the sound more listening to someone else playing it than I do playing it myself. The feedback I get from my side is different from what I hear when someone else plays it. The low range (especially the pedal with the fourth valve depressed) is BIG and rivals the sound of a trombone. I often use this horn to cover French Horn parts in our church orchestra. Mine is paired with a Vincent bach 10 1/2 A flugel mouthpiece and it is pretty nimble. It is also heavy, and I do mean heavy. I would not have thought it would make that much difference, but after trying a friend's 3 valve Eterna, it was more relaxing to play. I am currently looking for another flugelhorn with a smaller bore and lighter weight.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.