Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Getzen 700SP
Reviews Views
7 19195
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $619.80 8.6

 

Description:
The Getzen 700 Series Trumpets are perfect for the musician looking for a professional quality trumpet at an intermediate price. Both the model 700S Eterna II and 700SP are only availabe with bright silver plating.
All 700 Series instruments are limited production and are only offered at a limited number of Getzen dealers.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Mtl.: Gold Brass
Website: http://www.getzen.com/
Keywords: getzen 700sp
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/6/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around
Cons:

 
This is a great horn that has held up well even in marching bands. getzen did a fine job when the put it together. I would rate equal to the bach stradivarius.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/9/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Lightweight, easy to play, great valves and warranty
Cons: intonation and pitch

 
This horn is a great intermediate horn, but lacks the pitch, intonation and consistency that you can find in a Bach Strad. I recently traded up to a Strad because of the pitch and clarity of tone. The Getzen can get edgy and gives significant resistance to your airflow when you increase your volume.

This horn works great for a mrahcing band or pep band due to its light weight but its bright sound is less than desirable for any concert playing.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/6/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: i love your type of horn alot!!
Cons: nothing to say bad about it!!

 
i love this horn it is a good horn for an intermeadiate
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: pratically everything
Cons: Uh......nothing.

 
I've seen dozens of people comparing this trumpet to a Bach Strad-but the fact is that the Strad is a pro model,while this is not.This trumpet clearly beats all Bach intermediate models.These pea-brains should take a look at the Getzen cstom models.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $699.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: weight, free blowing
Cons: slotting

 
A fantastic horn for a young player looking for an intermediate horn but not having enough cash for a Back Stradivarius or a Kanstul.

The horn has a nice light feel to it, but also weights enough to give you some power when playing out. Air flow is great, a bit stuffy at first, but very free once you find a working mouthpiece combination to go with your style.

The slotting of this horn in the upper register is truly lacking, and it tends to slide around unless you put a lot of control onto it. I've spent close to 10 years with this horn, and I love it dearly, but I do have to work anything above a high C a bit before the horn complies.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fit and finish,price and quality
Cons: none

 
After playing a Bach Strad #37 (bought in 1981 when quality was higher) I switched to the Getzen 770SP and couldn't be happier. The fit and finish is superb, the valves and slides are like butter, and I like this horn much better than my Bach. Down low its warm and mellow, up high it is bright and clear, without being shrill. Intonation is perfect except for low C# and D, but I have never played any horn where they weren't sharp. For the money this horn is a much better choice (even for a pro) than a Strad. Perhaps the only situation a Strad would win out is if you are a pro playing lead in a large jazz ensemble, live on stage, and need to scream the really high stuff. The Strad is like a lazer up there; but VERY few people are in that category; and if you are you are probably famous and playing a super expensive custom. Save the cash and buy a Getzen, you won't be disappointed.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Petere
Junior Member

Registered: March 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 14
Review Date: 5/14/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent Valves, Nice Tone, lightweight
Cons: Up high, its a bit of a challenge to control

 
From top to bottom, Getzen makes great trumpets, and this is no exception. It compares very well to any other manufacturer's intermediate trumpets. This is a fine horn for middle and high school. Beyond that, the player may want to spend more on a pro model. The fit and finish is fantastic. It will play high school level music very well. This is one of my favorite intermediates, and I've played quite a few. This is a step above the Getzen Capri, and a step below the Eternas. Compared to other horns in this range, it can't be beat. I would not hesitate to recommend it to students. It will not hold you back at all, and it plays great. Wonderful valves with a transferable warranty!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.