Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  




1getzen_390s.jpg








  • Pin It


 

Getzen 390
Reviews Views
11 16967
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $434.13 9.3

 

Description:
Getzen 300/400 Series Trumpets have been used by many generations of beginning brass players. Although they are entry level instruments in the Getzen product line 390 and 490 Trumpets are far more than what other manufacturers consider "student line" instruments. Both models feature nickel silver inside slide tubing and hand spun, seamless bells with wire reinforced rims making them durable enough to stand up to the demands of a classroom setting.
In addition to the features listed above, 390 Trumpets come standard with nickel silver mouthpipe tubes that prevent corrosion, as well as seamless yellow brass bells. 390 Trumpets are also built around nickel plated, nickel silver pistons that are made to the same quality standards as the top line Getzen instruments.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Website: http://www.getzen.com/
Keywords: getzen 390
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/3/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $464.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Well built, less resistance than comparable trpts
Cons: None

 
Tried several student level horns with my beginning daughter; Bach 300, Conn USA, Blessing, King 600, Holton 602, Yamaha 2335. She preferred the Getzen overall. My playing tests concurred; Bach and Holton played similarly to the 390, others didn't really. This is an excellent starter trumpet and a good value!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great valves, sound, and durability!
Cons: It's a student instrument, even if it is better than all others.

 
This is a fantastic horn to begin on, and I could see someone getting through much of highschool with. I started with it in 5th grade, and I still keep it around as a backup horn, even with my Conn 58b and Getzen 700 Special around. It's very freeblowing, the valves are the best money can get you, and it is very well built. The only other student horns that I'd recomend are the Bach TR-2/300's or the Almighty Olds Ambassadors. Definately an A+ Horn!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great value,great valves,great look,great quality.
Cons: will put Yamaha trumpets to shame.

 
What a horn!After smashing my pathetic Yamaha trumpet,I decided to buy a Getzen 390.Because it is only $450,I didn't expect something top-notch,but man,was I wrong!The valves works like a dream,has a nice shine,and great value.Plus,I never had any problems with the excellent quality.I intend to stick with Getzens.I'll probably upgrade to the Eternas when I advance.Move over,Bach,Jupiter,Yamaha,and other manufacturs,here comes the new leader.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/26/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: loud and clear
Cons: third vave

 
I rented this trumpet,and I must say I'm impressed.The first and second valves are slick like butter.The third valve was somewhat unresponsive,but I don't blame Getzen.Afterall,this trumpet should have gone through abuse.If I'm buying a trumpet,I strongly recommend this horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $430.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: plays better than all other beginner horns.
Cons: nothing

 
Getzen's beginner horns are very high quality,a rarity in most companies.Go to www.getzen.com to find out why.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great intonation, wonderful range
Cons: none

 
I have been playing this horn for 7 years and it is just amazing. Many of my friends play on bach strads and I have tried them and can't really find a difference except in the craftsmanship and price. It plays well up to the F above High C and has consistent tone and pitch. If you are starting and of want a great, cheap backup horn this one is perfect!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $480.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: nice sound with all dynamics, nice look
Cons: range can suffer sometimes

 
I have been playing on this trumpet for all 5 years that I've played (yes, I'm just a high schooler). My parents were looking at a Bach or Jupiter for me (I did rent a Jupiter once while my Getzen was in the shop, and I hated the sound). The only thing I don't like, which may have something to do with my braces, is that on some days I can easily play an F and hit a high C without too much difficulty, but on other days I'll get a rough, strained sound especially on the F and on some other notes around there. Otherwise, it's a great trumpet, inexpensive, and with a great sound. Once, I get my braces off, we'll see.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice weight, solid feel,clean look
Cons: none

 
I purchased this Getzen 300 used after playing several brands that were either used or new depending on price. This horn has a warm sound, good valve speed and a nice bore. If you are looking for a good horn with out breaking the bank this is a safe choice. If you are trying different horns be sure to use the same mouthpiece on each horn you play, it does make a difference in the tone and play the demo horn long enough for it to warm up that to makes some difference in valve action and tone, small but it can be detected. I recommend this horn for anyone that is of a beginner level or the next level up, you will be satisfied!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great sound and intonation, nice valves, very durable
Cons: for a student model, none

 
Like another review said: this really puts the Yamahas to shame. Amazing overall quality for a student trumpet and will last you well through high school. Probably one of the best student models out there. Highly recommended.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves are fantastic
Cons: water keys dont get rid of all the spit in one blow

 
This horn was my first horn and i played on it for 8 years and i could never think of anything more beautiful and reliable like my getzen
She went through 4 years of marching and the arizona sun
she is my loyal trumpet
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/28/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beats Schilke, Bach and Yamaha
Cons: none

 
I've owned several of these trumpets over 30+ years of playing. They are incredibly consistent from one to the next, and are an incredible value. Though they are not a perfect instrument, once you learn to play them properly they are the easiest, nicest trumpet to play, and I have owned many different trumpets, including most of the professional brands. I can pick up my 390 any time and feel confident about any type of playing, jazz, concert band, quintet, whatever. BTW, no one will let you get away with playing a student horn in a professional group, so don't tell them what it really is ....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.