Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1jupiter_846RL.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Jupiter 846RL
Reviews Views
16 15842
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $585.60 8.8

 

Description:
Rose brass bell, 3rd valve trigger, laquered brass body, French style tuning slides, 1st and 3rd valve water keys, .433" bore, 6" bell
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.433
Bell (inch): 6.000
Bell Mtl.: Rose Brass
Website: http://www.jupitermusic.com
Keywords: Jupiter 846Rl
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/21/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $579.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Plays and sounds great. Very low price.
Cons: Construction quality not as good as Yamaha

 
For the price, this flugelhorn can't be beaten. I rate it a 9, for the price. It is a clone of the Yamaha 631 professional flugelhorn, and plays about as well, with a rich, velvety tone.

On the downside, the overall construction quality is not as high as Yamaha horns, but what do you expect at this price. This is mainly cosmetic, for example there is less buffing of the brass before lacquering, and some components like bottom caps have a slightly industrial, less refined look. That being said, everything works fine, with fast smooth valves, and freely moving slides.

Please note that Jupiter retooled their factory in 2001, and improved their designs, and horns made after this upgrade are significantly better. For the Flugelhorn, models with serial numbers starting with E or later are after this upgrade. Don't get caught out with old stock!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 2/2/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $575.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Intonation, Tone, Quality
Cons: Stigma of a perceived "off" brand

 
A few years ago, I was short on cash and sold my Yamaha YFH731 and never thought I would ever be able to have another flugel. However, I tried out the Jupiter and after about two days, there was no way I would give it back. I even played it side by side with a new Yamaha Shew Flugelhorn and although the Yamaha was slightly superior in fit finish and build quality, the Jupiter sounded very comparable and was every bit as well in tune as the Yamaha. Even in the typical low D and C# (common to all horns in the trumpet family) the standard trigger easily compensated perfectly.

I loved my Yamaha, but for the difference in price, I would not look any further than the Jupiter.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $734.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT PLAYING SOUNDS GREAT AND GOOD INTONATION
Cons: ALTHOUGH IT PLAYS WELL THE CONSTUCTION DOES NOT SEEM TO BE BUILT AS STURDY AS A YAMAHA

 
THIS IS A GREAT PLAYING AND SOUNDING HORN I HAVE THE SILVER PLATED VERSION OF THIS MODEL. I HAVE HAD THIS HORN FOR OVER A YEAR NOW AND PERFORM SIX NIGHTS A WEEK. SO FAR, NO PROBLEMS. FOR THE PRICE, IT IS A GREAT INVESTMENT. CAN'T BE BEAT!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Can't beat the price
Cons: Not as high quality as other popular pro models around

 
Picked up a slightly used one a couple of years ago for about $450. Placed a Marcinkiewicz mouth- piece on it... and have been extremely pleased with it playing it part time next to my good'ol Yamaha 6335S trumpet. Plus... you can't beat the price! Good intonation adds to a fantastic worship sound experience in the church band. Smooth and fast moving valves.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/22/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: superb sound
Cons:

 
this instrument is a fine example of how a horn should be. great tone and look. i think it is as superior as the yamaha. great looks and great sound, what more could you ask for
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around horn
Cons: none

 
in high school, i played one of these in marching band and in jazz band. a very trusty instrument that has never let me down. great silverplating, and sound. comparable to the yamaha. great sound and quality for a great price. buy one now!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/2/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great sound, good intonation, fast smooth valves, 3rd slide trigger
Cons: Lacquer and finish needs improvement. Lousy mouthpiece included.

 
I was blown away by the quality for the price. The tone is what I imagine when I think of a flugelhorn. Other makers have better finish work but why spend the extra money when no one else notices? The sound and intonation are the two most important factors. The valves are smooth and fast. I have no complaints. Just don't use the supplied mouthpiece.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/10/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $475.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good intonation, valves very good, great Value!!
Cons: Finishing a little under-par, but not all that bad for the price.

 
This is an early Jupiter with the rose brass bell. I sold my Couesnon years ago and wanted another flugel, but the prices kept me away until I saw and played the Jupiter..........I bought it and am very happy with its' performance and sound. I really do not think anything out there approaches a Couesnon for its' beautiful sound, but I do not miss it as much as I thought I would after using the Jupiter for a while. Have had it over 4 years and do not intend to sell it............I highly recommend it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $579.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves, intonation and tone
Cons: Actually, none

 
These Jupiter Flugelhorns just keep getting better and better. I played one a few years ago and overall liked it but there were some issues in construction and the blow of the horn that I didn't care for.
Well, I just purchased this one and Wow! It's great! And, I've had a lot of really nice Pro Flugels in the past. Also, I should mention that Jupiter has started using Nickel Silver Valves instead of the Monel that they used to. This has created really smooth and quiet feeling valves. Intonation is right on and the overall build of the horn looks great!
Upper register is solid up to high D. Yeh, it can go to Dbl G but why would you want it to? It's noticeably thinner up there anyways.
Seriously, I like the blow and tone of this Flugelhorn as much as I did my flugels that cost 3-4 times as much. They were mostly of the darker sounding variety. I was looking for something with a lighter tone so my solos would sound cleaner, at least to my ears.
If you want to save some cash, you at least owe it to yourself to give this horn a try. Use it for a few days and see if you too don't come away thinking that this is a heck of a nice playing horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/17/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great all-round
Cons: Supplied mouthpiece poor

 
I can't fault this instrument. The price was fantastic, especially since my budget was extremely tight. I play in three different bands, and this instrument is a pleasure to use in each of them.
As I noted, price was a big concern, and I really wouldn't have thought that I'd have been able to obtain an instrument of this quality and playability in the price bracket that I was restricted to.
I keep hearing about how wonderful the Eclipse Flugel's are: Perhaps, if you have that much money to spend, but for those of us on a budget, the Jupiter simply can't be beaten
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Value for money, intonation, Smooth & responsive valves, Great sound
Cons: none that really matter

 
The days of Jupiter being considered a "lesser" brand are in the past - this Flugel is evidence of that fact.

The valves are smooth, the tone is wonderful, and I feel that it produces a sound that is easily the equal, if not better, than some of the more expensive Flugel's on the market

The price is another bonus - this instument's value for money simply cannot be beaten, and as noted, the instrument plays like somthing that should cost a great deal more

Big thumbs up and applause to Jupiter - this is a superb instrument and I'll be playing mine for many years to come!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $425.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Flugel sound, as good as many of the highest priced horns.
Cons: Finish not as good as it should be.

 
My horn has the rose brass bell and it is replacing an old Couesnon, which I foolishly sold. I use the horn almost exclusively in jazz combos and sometimes use it with the local concert bands and brass choirs I play with. ..... No problem with any of these venues. I must say that I do not miss the Couesnon as much as I thought I would. Have tried just about all the production flugels (Kanstul, Conn, Bach, King, etc.) and the Jupiter played as well and sounded as well as they did. The only flugel I have played that I liked better was the Besson, but the price was prohibitive for me at the time. A great value........but I wish they did a better lacquer job.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $939.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price, sound
Cons: valves, thin metal in bell

 
I've been playing for over 50 years as an amateur. I picked up this horn for the price and found it to look good, sound good, and play poorly. All the valves had sticking problems. In addition, the valves are quite sluggish. Using a high quality synthetic valve oil helps some.

I store a K&M stand in the bell and found it dented the bell quite easily. The case has never been dropped or even set down hard.

The horn plays in tune well, has a sweet sound, and the 3rd valve trigger is very smooth. I only need to pull the trigger about half way to bring the low C# and D into tune.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price, decent sound
Cons: thin sound, valves

 
Great horn for a trumpeter looking to double in a jazz ensemble or pit orchestra (if needed). Plays a bit thinly above the staff, but that can depend on the mouthpiece you choose to accompany it and how often you're taking your horn up there.

The bottom-sprung valves are also not a joy to work with, but they are decent and quick if cared for properly. The horn holds nicely and feels well balanced against the lips.

For the price, and considering that it includes the third-valve triggers, it's a terrific horn. The sound is full and mellow in the lower register, and flows nicely in a small group setting (just used it this morning).

On a tight budget but in need of a decent horn that plays well? This is the horn for you.

---------------------
Matt Edwards
Rutgers Marching Scarlet Knights
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
MarkTrumpet
Junior Member

Registered: July 2013
Location: Canterbury, Kent
Posts: 2
Review Date: 7/17/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great sound and intonation , slick valves , value for money
Cons: not an eclipse , hub van lar, taylor, kanstul or bach

 
I used to play a Bach Strad flugle in a British brass band but when I changed to Repiano cornet I had to return the Bach to the band , then I got the chance to buy a jupiter second hand in exellent condition for 300 it was a great decision, I love the horn prefer it to my trumpet when I practice , is easy to hold and plays in tune . Advice find a good mouthpiece I am using a Dennis Wick 2FL which sounds great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Carlos Courtoise
Junior Member

Registered: December 2012
Posts: 3
Review Date: 1/8/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Sound, price.
Cons: Water keys.

 
Good horn for the price. Plays well, easy to switch from trumpet.
It is impossible to get the water even after increasing the drain holes.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.