Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1Kanstul_CCT920.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Kanstul CCT920S
Reviews Views
12 16634
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,356.00 9.3

 

Description:
The CCT920S is a high quality four valve piccolo trumpet that with an interchangeable cornet shank mouthpiece. The small bell and medium large bore help produce a brilliant sound in a high register. Available in silver.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 3.875
Keywords: Kanstul CCT920S
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/15/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Intonation, tone quality, construction, price
Cons: water keys

 
This horn plays, looks and sounds better than a P5-4 and costs $1,000 less. I did a blind test using the same mouthiece, and music, comparing the Kanstul against a P5-4, and all participants selected the Kanstul.
The valves on the Kanstul are not quite as smooth as the Schilke, but they are more dependable.
In my opinion, I think that the Kanstul is much better than any of the piccs I own or have owned (Bach, Schilke, Getzen, Stomvi}.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free-blowing with superb intonation
Cons: None

 
When I first blew one of these in the Washington Music Centre, I'd never played a pic, and was amazed by how easy it was when many people had said how difficult pics are to play and that you can't play any higher on a pic than on a normal b-flat. I found this one a dream and my range was significantly greater than I comfortably can manage on a standard b-flat using a Bach 7C mouthpiece. I've since blown loads of other pics (Getzen, Jazz Studio, Selmer, Bach, Yamaha, etc.) and have yet to find anything even close to this glorious instrument
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: $$$$, Tone, efficiency, intonation
Cons: none

 
On a scale of 1-1000 I Would rate this horn about a 998 but my Schilke a 1000. There is very little difference between the horns, but for the price the Kanstul can't be beat. If I had played this horn prior to buying my Schilke I would have bought the Kanstul without question!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/6/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $998.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything is fabulous. Intonation is excellent but you have to be aware of the instrument's eccentricities.
Cons: The Bb side the Tuning note can go a little "Sharp" to where the rest of the instrument plays.

 
This is my personal reference piccolo. The stroke of the valve (due to the bore of the instrument, I would guess) is a little long if you're used to Getzens, Bachs or Selmers.

Again, (Like my Eb review of the Bach 189) if price were NO object, I might prefer a Schilke P5-4, but (again) only because of the valve action, which has been accurately discussed earlier by others. I've done mod work on mine (different springs, aligned it, etc.) which helps, but BEWARE: The solder joints on the Kanstuls aren't as bullet proof as on Bachs and Schilkes. If you stress the valve/casing or apply heat to it it will disintegrate where the joints on other instruments just "soften" up a little.

This happened to me and the Kanstul folks took great care of my instrument and worked hard to solve my issues. I'm pretty picky and taking the cost difference into account there is no room to complain whatsover. Unhesitatingly recommended.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sound/easy blowing/intonation
Cons: none

 
I've choosen the Kanstul CCT 920S between the schilke p5-4 and a Yamaha Custom Piccolo YTR9830.
I play the picc with a Dennis Wick s (Eb cornet) mouthpiece plays realy great.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tone, Intonation, price, quality, durability
Cons: Better in A than Bb, had to get Blackburn Bb pipe to make it play well in Bb

 
The Kanstul piccolo is without a doubt for me the best picc I've
ever played or owned.

Mr. Charles Gorham, former head of the brass department at IU, owned a Schilke
P5-4. Charley Davis was out to interview for the IU teaching job that ended
up going to Ed Cord (this was 1989), and brought a couple of these piccolos
out for us to try. I loved one of them, but it had been promised to Mr.
Gorham. Mr. Gorham bought it, and I found out that Charley was keeping the
other, so my only choice was to order one. At the time, I had a Bach 196 with
Blackburn leadpipes that I hated. It was flat, and did not have good response,
nor was I able to easily play without playing "loud" to play with a full sound.
It was not a good trumpet. I had previously toyed with a Getzen (ok for a
budget minded player, but not what I was looking for to replace the Bach) and a
Benge (just not good, period). I did not like either enough to buy one. I like
the Selmer piccolo (and would still like one), but the price and the need to
immediately fit it with Blackburn pipes made me feel as though I might be
spending more money that it was worth to me.

I had the IU school P5-4 and CG's P5-4 to test and play, but felt they both
played with a very bright tone and seemed to play rather tight. They simply did
not like to take I wanted to put into them, so they would distort at louder
dynamics. I also could not find a mouthpiece that made me happy with the
response on either of them. And, for nearly $2000 at that time, I should be able
to feel like the horn I was playing was better than any other on the market.
The Schilke did not make me feel that way.

I played the Kanstul once, and was sold. Big tone, full sound, very open and
free blowing-unlike every other piccolo I had played to that time. I ordered
it, and it took almost a year to get one (substantial backorder at that time,
and Kanstul was making them for Burbank, himself and Besson at that
time-essentially the same horn, simply engraved with a different name and
equiped with slightly different trim packages). As I played Mr. Gorham's on my
first doctoral recital, I was even more convinced that I had made the right
choice. I had access to nearly every piccolo made at that time, and for the
amount of money I was spending (like, $750 at that time), this Kanstul piccolo
was heads and tails above everything else.

If I had the money, I might own a Scherzer piccolo trumpet, but even then, I
would still own and use the Kanstul. It works well with instruments of all
different sizes and shapes. The tone of this instrument projects full and
rich over a large orchestra, but also works well when doing "The Trumpet
Shall Sound" or "Let the Bright Seraphim", or even the Telemann, Fasch or
Mozart Concertos. I really, really like this instrument, so much that I
have not found myself ever seriously considering another piccolo since then. I
play some that my students bring to evaluate them, but simply do not like them
as well as my K. Those I have played since 1990 include a brand new Blackburn
(very nice), a Monette piccolo (ditto), a newer model Kanstul Piccolo with the
three bells in three different keys, a Stomvi (nice-but not as good as mine) and
a Scherzer (Ok-what can I say-they are good, if you find a good one-but a couple
I have played are bad, and when they are bad, they are BAD). My undergraduate
teacher owned a P5-4 and a Mahillion (another piccolo I finally found used, and LOVE to own), and
preferred the old Mahillion because of its tone. I prefer my K over the others
for just the same reason.

A few years ago, I asked Clifford Blac
kburn make some pipes for my Kanstul
piccolo. I did not like the A pipe, but the Bb pipe has helped the horn a lot.
On the A side, I went back to the original Kanstul pipe . Clifford does miricles
with a lot of horns (and did on the Bb side of this horn), yet despite this, I
still feel as that this one has been superb right out of the case. It is just
that good for me.

Recently, to make sure I was right, I borrowed a new P5-4 from a local store for a wedding I was playing. A former student was getting married, and a substantial number of trumpet players were present. I played the Schilke and the Kanstul back to back, and didn't let anyone in on the test. Three people came up and told me something sounded odd the first time I played the Schilke. The sound lost its "zing" according to them, all good musicians and trained musical talents. I didn't tell them what was going on, and both horns were shielded by a small retaining area in front of the organ area. I switched twice more that night at different times, and every time, they came up and said they again noticed a loss of sound and ring. At the end of the night, I told them what I had been doing, and asked them to all go to the back of the larger sanctuary and listen one more time. I reversed the order and played the Schilke first, then the Kanstul, then the Kanstul again, and then the Schilke. 20 people who were good musicians all picked the second and third as the better of the four runs, and the first and last as noticably poorer. Sure, maybe it was the room, the night, the fact that I was more familiar with the Kanstul. But, the next night, in a run-through of the Messiah, the conductor stopped the orchestra while I was playing the Schilke, and asked me if I was sick, that he couldn't hear me like normal. I asked him to play it again, picked up the Kanstul, and everything came out fine on the second run. The Schilke went back and I took my Kanstul.......just like 14 years before.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/15/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Plays ok looks good
Cons: out of tune

 
I tried this and others. It was very hard to muscle into tune. You could do it if you had to.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 9/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sound, tuning, cost
Cons: none that I can find

 
I got my Kanstul piccolo trumpet off of ebay. I have played a few shilke pics, and they were real nice, but I felt the Kanstul pic had better air flow. I am a member of the Bands of America National Honor Band, and this was the pic I was recommended to try and I have loved it. For me it came with a Bach mouthpiece, but I switched that with a Bob Reeves and it is very easy to play with now. Big sound, and very well in tune; this pic competitively rivals the shilke, which has the name even though this pic is $1,000 cheaper. I would recommend this pic to anyone at any level.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound and feel
Cons:

 
I bought the horn new from PICKMusic.net.
It is a great pic. trumpet and I'd highly recommend it. You won't find a better one for the price (or for a lot more for that matter).
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 2/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sound, intonation, projection
Cons: no pinky ring

 
This is hands down the best piccolo on the market. It blows the schilke out of the ball park. The sound is oh so sweet and intonation just makes it the perfect piccolo. I play tested it next to the P5-4 and this definitely played better. The only thing the schilke has on it is the pinky ring but you can have kanstul add that later. This piccolo can suit anyones need in piccolo trumpet playing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Sound, fine intonation, Great build quaility
Cons: A little pricey new.

 
Nice horn. This was the horn I was going to go with until I tried a Benge. I had heard don't go there because of the UMI thing. I am glad I tried it. While not as nice as the Kanstul, it was $600.00 cheaper. It was as easy to play and seemed to be a little easier to play in tune. The Kanstul had a nicer sound though.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: the large bore does take your air faster. the a pipe is really tight

 
I just bought this horn after a long wait for a picc. Mainly a money issue, but I have been waiting some time. Found a great deal on this picc. They are now selling around 2000, so I saved a bunch getting mine used. It is in mint condish.

The sound. I love the large bore sound. It isn't as tight and annoying as the others i have played. Great sound. I do want to try some different pipes, as the A is rather tight, and can be a little stuffy. The guy I bought it from suggested to pull out the Bb pipe, as that is what he does a lot. Different sound, felt a little bit more open. But who knows.


This is a great horn. sounds fantastic, and the price was great.
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.