Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Kanstul ZKF1525
Reviews Views
17 16829
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,628.85 9.9

 

Description:
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.421
Bell (inch): 6.500
Bell Mtl.: Copper
Valves: 3, Monel
Website: http://www.kanstul.net
Keywords: Kanstul ZKF1525
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: tone,response,valves,resistance,excellent
Cons:

 
Stop looking,this is it.Flugs.do not get any better.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tone, intonation, great slotting
Cons: none

 
I finally got my Kanstul 1525 today. It has been a long time since I ordered it, and I did ask for a couple of changes so it probably took longer than normal. I chose to have it silver-plated, which is kind of a Louisiana thing. The weather and humidity down here cause you to be a little bit tougher on a horns finish than in other parts of the country. Basically put, sweat is not good for a horn, and even if you wipe it down after you play, in this part of the country you are going to eat through your horn. I also chose to have standard water keys placed on this horn. I have had problems in the past with Amado water keys and chose that the standard water key is less likely to leak. You might disagree, but that was my choice and I’m the one that has to live with the horn. With those non-standard features pointed-out, I’ll give you my first impressions of the instrument.

I chose to order the instrument through a local music store that was not a Kanstul dealer prior to my choosing a Kanstul Instrument. They contacted Kanstul and took care of necessary business on their part, and have now become a Kanstul Dealer! They unpacked the box, but chose to leave the final unpacking of the horn to me.

When I took the horn out of the box I spent about the first 15-minutes inspecting every part of the horn. The exterior solder joints are all very neat. I’m impressed with the quality in which the horn is braced, but I wonder if the size of the braces might dampen the overall vibrations? This especially concerned me with the brace on the third valve that supports the third slide trigger.

The feel of the horn in your hands is fantastic! It is very solid, and the heavy bell, and the two braces make the horn just a little bit “bell heavy” as compared to the Bach I was playing up until a week ago.

The finish on the horn was a bit “fuzzy” until we realized that the silver was not wiped well coming out of the factory. The bow at the bottom of the first and third valve slides were very dull, and at first we were concerned about the finish on the silver-plate. I think we have come to the realization that it was not wiped as well as we would have expected with a horn of this high-end quality. Of course, if that is all we have to complain about then we are doing very well. In addition to the dullness, we did find two microscopic imperfections (about the size of a pin head) near the bell. Nothing any normal person would find, but no one ever said I was normal.

Then came the real test – time to blow a little. I’m a crawler – start slow and work up. I was amazed at how responsive the Kanstul is in all registers. I was even more amazed at how well in tune I could play it right from start.

From the first note (open G), I play long tones in what I thought was going to be an attempt to find the center of pitch on the horn. I play about three notes, stop and look at my friend who is a fabulous musician – he says, “wow, it’s dark – and that’s what you wanted!” I start playing interval exercises and can say that this horn slots like wow!!! The ease of finding the center of pitch is like no other horn I have ever played. Every note is easy, and clear as can be! It doesn’t matter how the intervals are articulated, the notes seem to find the center of pitch almost by themselves.

Then to give the valves a workout. There is no need to break in these valves! They are smooth, fast and noise free. Without a doubt the best valves on any horn I have ever played.

I was very impressed with the accuracy and efficiency of the ZKF1525. I have owned 2 Yamahas (a 731 and a 631 both with silver finishes), a Callet in lacquer, and a Bach in silver. Of those four horns I liked the Bach best, but I think I owned the best Bach Flügelhorn ever made (I played several others that were terrible). As o
f this early conclusion I would say that the Kanstul is by far the best Flügelhorn I’ve ever owned. I will say that I have played a few other Kanstuls prior to this one. I like this one as much as any, and I don’t find that the silver finish changes the characteristic dark sound for which the 1525's are known. I would love the opportunity to play it along side a handful of lacquer finished horns behind a curtain and allow my musician friends to see if they can identify which horn is which?

Overall, my first impression is that I made a great choice of Flügelhorns. I know there are many great horns on the market today, but I can say that I am very happy with my choice of a Kanstul. Someday I hope to sit with a fellow musician who owns a Calicchio Copper and an Eclipse flügelhorn with a copper bell. Until that happens I’ll just admit that I’m in love!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Outstanding
Cons: none

 
This horn is a work of art. I play tested it versus the Kanstul CCF925 and a few other makes including a Yamaha, and the ZKF1525 had the warmest tone - may be fact it was the only copper bell horn I tested.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/29/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation, looks, overall the best Flugel made
Cons:

 
I've tried nearly every Pro class Flugel on the market and this one is the best new Flugel available. The overall mechanical quality, intonation, free blowing nature and looks are exceptional. I've spent most of my time on a Getzen (easy to place, nice deep sound) and restored Couesnon (the best balance of sound and a nice, compact horn), but the Kanstul has the darkest tone and best mechanical quality. It is a larget Flugel, but once you play it you'll be sold. There are a lot of nice Flugels, the Yamaha Z and Courtois just didn't do stand out... this Kanstul and Couesnon did. The Chicago series Kanstul is the same size as the Couesnon, but not as easy to play (felt very solid but not as responsive, although better mechanical quality then the Couesnon) and the 900 series also has a great dark sound. If you're searching for the best, buy the copper bell 1500-series Kanstul or search hard for a good playing Couesnon and have someone restore it -- it will cost you the same either way. If smooth and quiet valve action are important attributes for you, then definitely go for the Kanstul! Good Luck!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Look, sound, in tune,
Cons: A bit noisy valves.

 
The best flugel I ever played. This mellow, dark sound is to be soken for for every flugelplayer. The valves Works very good, but is a bit noisy with metall guides. A bit tricy handle for the trigger, but I got used to it. And you really dont need it that much as for other fluegels.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: NONE!

 
Tried about everything out there.Found out there are the rest and then there is the best.This thing is smooooooth!!!!!!!!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderful sound, intonation, ease of playing!
Cons: Nothing

 
I remember the first time I played a 1525. it was in a music store after I had played five or six other flugelhorns. I was captivated with it. it was so superior to any flugelhorn I had ever played. I finally saved enough money to buy one and I am so glad I did. I love this horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: plays and looks beautiful
Cons: none

 
This horn is amazing, it took me time to find the mouthpiece I was looking for but man what a horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,650.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Warm, velvety tone..very much in tune throughout the range of the horn
Cons:

 
Hands down, the best flugel I've ever had!
-Tom Williams
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Beautiful sound, so easy to play
Cons: finger hook, 4th valve slide

 
This horn is a stunner... wonderful sound.
If i had bought the 1525 version i would have given it a 10/10, i'm sure.
there are, however a few problems with the 1526 (4 valve model)
1). the most major problem is that the 4th valve slide is simply not long enough.
2). the pinky hook gets in the way... v hard to operate 4th valve with right hand.
3). doesn't have a water key on the 3rd slide.

M
Don't get me wrong, it's a great instrument, but if you're interested in a 4 valve model, best speak to the people at kanstul and raise these issues before you go ahead and order it
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/1/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great looking finish, ease of playing, intonation, quality construction
Cons: specify what mp shank size is needed in the product description

 
This was my horn of choice. Kanstul makes some high quality instruments.
The intonation on my particular instrument is spot on. Using my tuner, I hardly needed to use any slide adjustment at all. The solid copper bell makes for such a beautiful, full, smooth sound. Being a small bore horn, you do need to alter how you blow into the horn, too much and you'll really get out of tune. I got mine used from Dillon Music. After looking at it, it is basically "new". What a steal. The only con would be to state the mp shank size in the product description, so a person can get the right one. (standard, European,trumpet). These horns use a European shank. Maybe it's just ignorance on my part. If you are looking for a flugel, you can't go wrong with this horn. Highly reccomend it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: intonation, dark warm sounf, valves
Cons: easy to dent

 
Not the best flugelhorn out there, but better than any other flugelhorn except for the Calicchio, Lawler and Taylor. A great value for the money. Very dark resonant sound, dents very easily.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THE SOUND!!!
Cons:

 
Best. Flugel. Ever.

Words cannot adequately describe the full, lush beauty of the sound of this horn. I tried one back in about 1997 and fell in love after the first note. After finally being able to afford one roughly ten years later, I am definitely not disappointed.

I recently played this flugel at my brother-in-law's funeral on an unaccompanied solo intro verse of "Amazing Grace," and there was not a dry eye to be found. The haunting beauty of its dark, fluid tone truly allow the ultimate in musical expression.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rich sound, can bend notes easily, great range and projection, rich sound.
Cons: valves a bit noisier than I prefer (minor)

 
Bought this in the scratch brush finish - took me a while to get used to the wild "pink" color of the brushed copper - but the horn plays like a dream - rich sound, projects if you need it, can bend notes any which way, in tune, just easy to play. Heavy to hold - but worth it. Pairs well with a GR 65FL mouthpiece. Also own the Yamaha 6310Z Bobby Shew flugel w/ Shew mouthpiece - both horns are great - but very different. That Kanstul is just a big ole horn - with a big rich sound - gotta love it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: i am blown away
Cons: only one slight flat on high a in the entire playing register

 
could not beleive how much this copper bell stood out from every other horn i played (12). simply stunned.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,625.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great looking and sounds awesome copper one piece bell
Cons: none

 
great horn went to a Monette FLG5L AND IT PLAY EVEN BETTER IN SOUND
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: looks and sounds great
Cons: none

 
This Flugel horn has a great sound and to look at it man the Kanstul people did an awesome job. When I got it i used the warberton Gold plated 3x flg mouth piece but went to the Monette FLG5L for bach about 4 years ago and the sound is even better. I sold my old Benge 5 flugel and it was like night a day. There may be better ones out there but for under $2,000 this one shines.Zig and family hit a home run with this one.I bought new in December 1993 or 1994 and the ser. is #1567. I tought they made two sizes of this model so this may be the larger size.I would recommend it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.