Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Kanstul CHI1001
Reviews Views
9 14194
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,183.06 9.8

 

Description:
Chicago Series (CHI 1001)

These Bb trumpets feature the unmistakable look of the classic trumpets designed by Chicago craftsmen a half century ago. They have the same solid feel and soaring sound. This instrument features a no-nonsense traditional design with classic flugelhorn sound and superd intonation. It's easy blowing, compact and light wth a third slide trigger.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.464
Bell (inch): 4.750
Website: http://www.kanstul.net
Keywords: CHI1001
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,308.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very free blowing, big sound, great valves
Cons:

 
This horn was a replacement for my 1970 Burbank Benge MLP.

When I got the horn, my wife and I could tell no difference in tonality...and I tried to fool her. It is very open and has a full, large sound. Slotting is great and the upper register is open.

For Feel:

The horn feels a bit heavier than my Burbank did, but that may be due to all the wear and corrosion.

The valves actually have a better feel than my Benge did; they are like the valves on my Kanstul 925 flugel. Very smooth! Plus, they have shortened piston travel for the Kanstul.



This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/18/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Sound and feel
Cons:

 
I've played a Benge MLP for over 20 years (first and LA Benge and, unfortunately, then a UMI Benge). If you like Benge, you'll love this Kanstul. It has the very familiar look and feel, with a very open sound.

This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/1/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Warm tone, free blowing, light weight
Cons:

 
I don't own this horn, but I've owned numerous instruments and recently tried 7 Kanstul trumpets at the showroom. My impressions: This horn was my favorite (brass lacquer). It is the most balanced and nicest sounding trumpet I've ever played. The 1500 is nice, but heavier then I wanted, the 1500B is also exceptional and very light. I like Getzen valves, but the Kanstul is the best overall horn I've seen. We all rave about our own instruments, but Kanstul is worth going out of your way to try.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/11/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1.30 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very warm, nice sound.
Cons: A little sticky 1.valve.

 
A very nice trumpet. Have a big warm sound from the bottom to the top, but can brighten up a bit if you want it to. Have a little problem with my 1.valve, but that is probbably just mine. Use it for solo work in church and i a trumpet quvartett. It blends nicely.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
My son also had a problem with the first valve. Immediately fixed by Kanstul! Great sound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: freeblowing,soaring sound ,very versatile
Cons: none

 
In March 2006 I had received a Kanstul 1500 in lacquer. But I found this horn hard to handle in terms of slotting/response.I had struggled for 6 months to "find my way around" this horn.Others that had tried my horn also noted that is was suprisingly bright for being such a heavy horn with a copper bell to boot.I needed a horn that could be suitable for jazz and classical. So when I tried out the Chicago 1001, I was shocked that this horn had the overall sound/feel that I was looking for although being a lightweight horn. I would definately say that it has a brilliant NOT bright sound for orchestral work, but with the right mouthpiece you can roar up top in lead jazz playing. The mid to low register has much greater clarity and response than did the 1500. I can also play darker on the Chicago 1001.In short, I this is the finest overall horn that I have yet played. I have played all the other Kanstuls and the only other one approaching the 1001 is probably the 1500A(bronze bell). To conclude, the Chicago model/Burbanks are probably Kanstul's best kept secret in their entire catalog, and reasonably priced at that.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice dark sound & resonable price!
Cons: none

 
I didn't buy this trumpet, however my trumpet teacher has it and allllowed me to try it. I like this horn better than Bach. I am going to have to buy it!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,956.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Open, responsive and rich sound
Cons: NONE

 
I replaced a 2005 UMI Benge 3X with this Kanstul 1001 and love it. I like the differences of the Benge from a Bach and was told "If you like the Benge, you will love this horn!". Well I do. More open and free blowing with and intensity in it's sound that is not available to me on a Bach. Lower register really barks and can mimic the upper register for timbre as well.

Build quality is excellent and valves are wonderful.

It is the Benge that Benge used to be but is no more. Feels like an extension of me. I do not fight or think about the horn anymore. Sure I still goof up but I seem to know it before the horn barks.

If looking for a horn not far from the mainstream center (heck still in the mainstream) you need to put this on the short list for tryout.

Thank you Zig Kanstul for keeping the heritage of this horn alive.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Autigermania
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Lenoir City, TN
Posts: 7
Review Date: 5/7/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Open blow with excellent intonation and sound
Cons: A little tight in the upper register

 
Excellent horn. My 2nd favorite Kanstul to my 990. This 1001 makes it hard to miss notes. Slotting, intonation, sound, and blow are really nice. This is an excellent trumpet that can be used in any kind of setting. If I were rich, I would not have sold mine. If I'm ever rich, I will have another one.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.