Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1king_600.jpg









  • Pin It


 

King 600
Reviews Views
12 34858
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $187.63 7.9

 

Description:
Key of Bb. Built to perform and built to last, with rose brass leadpipe and nickel silver inner valve slides for long life and extra corrosion resistance. Other features include a .462" (11.73mm) bore, 4-7/8" (124mm) seamless yellow brass bell, nickel plated pistons, third slide with adjustable stop ring, 7C mouthpiece and hardshell case with carrying strap. Full warranty.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.462
Bell (inch): 4.875
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: Nickel
Website: http://www.unitedmusical.com
Keywords: King 600
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 1/16/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great first trumpet for a student
Cons: None that I can think of

 
This was the trumpet I used all through Jr. High and High School. It was great and despite endless hours of use, I know it will be great for my kids to use as their first trumpet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/18/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $399.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Value
Cons: Average Valves

 
Great student horn, just bought one for my son.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $80.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Inexpensive and durable
Cons: hmmmmm

 
My wife bought this horn used from a store going out of business so that I could start playing again. After all the years as a band rental, the King 600 still plays ... better than I do, likely.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/2/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good price and very durable
Cons: Valves

 
I plan on letting my kids have this if one of them decides to play and if I'm done with it by then
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/8/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very durable, great for marching band
Cons: slow valves

 
I've used it in marching band fur three years and have nothad any trubble with it
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great sound, nice look, good for beginning trumpeter, great little horn
Cons: Hmmm, well......... The valves are not as fast as others, but are still fast

 
I have had this horn for ten months of the fifteen I have played. It is great for beginning (much better than some.... My first one was terrible!) and has a great sound. It kept me in first chair all my beginning year! (And got me into jazz band this year.) I recommend this to beginning players.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Durable; nice sound; excellent marching horn; great look; dark sound (big bore); this may sound wierd but the valves
Cons: Dark sound; valve casings; 3rd valve slide

 
I've had this horn for 5 years and has always had a great sound. I'll admit, the valves are tricky. It's not that they're slow, the casing and valve itself are too close, thus resulting in the sticking valves. But these valves also have their advantages. When I was first beginning to play, the valves helped build up strength in my fingers. Now I can play other horns a lot easier. I've used this horn in my marching band for 3 years and it holds up better than any other one against the elements. The big bore gives it a nice darker sound, which is great for most jazz charts, but has it's downsides when trying to play bright in more classical scores. For the entire time that I've owned this horn, I found the 3rd valve slide to be really tough to move. I've tried wearing it down, and it's gotten better. It still needs some work though.

Overall, I'd recommend this horn for those who have been playing for a year or two+, but definitely not for professionals.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great student model
Cons: 2 piece bell

 
great student horn, i used this horn throughout middle school and junior high. worked great with rigourous play.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap and good
Cons: valves

 
great student horn, slots well above the high c despite what you may hear, the valves just require a little oil and wearing in but i bought mine used so that was already taken care of
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $22.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: strong sound with big bell
Cons: crappy valves work too slow

 
This trumpet iis good for beginners like me i have only been playing since 2004. i even for into jazz band on it this year. good little instrument. i have also learned that they can take a beating
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/6/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Long lasting and durable
Cons: Became very old and valves started sticking

 
I loved

it
This user is offline
 
Lonewolf
Junior Member

Registered: August 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: 8/29/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, beat out Bach Silver's in school
Cons: ...

 
I bought mine in 1984 with paper route money, and played to first chair,...(or second because it wasn't silver in some cases) Soloed in Marching band against silver trumpets. Played high E above C, while marching, and took the solo. It's now 28 years old. Everything was played with a 7c mouthpiece. Still plays as good today as back then. Valve action is slower than the better models, but the sound makes up for it. All the slides are easy to move, and tune.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.