Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1king_2055T.jpg









  • Pin It


 

King 2055T
Reviews Views
10 18347
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $734.89 8.9

 

Description:
Silver Flair, Bb, a classic King design for over 30 years and an incredible value. .462" (11.73mm) bore, 4-7/8" (124mm) seamless bell, Monel pistons, 1st slide trigger, 3rd slide with adjustable stop, bright silver plate, 3C mouthpiece, deluxe woodshell case. Full warranty.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.462
Bell (inch): 4.875
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Website: http://www.unitedmusical.com
Keywords: King 2055T
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great tone quality, fast valves, excellent intonation, smooth slides
Cons: doesn't slot well above high C, single tab plastic valve guides

 
Overall a nice playing instrument. Fast valves with excellent intonation and superb tone quality. First and third slides move smoothly although low d and c# require extensive slide movement. Valves can rotate slightly as the guides are single pin and plastic. Over high C it's difficult to slot, but this can be overcome.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good Sound in the loweand high register and even in the Altissimo register
Cons: none

 
Love it works very well in classical setting and everything it's almost a strad in my opinion
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: intonation, sound
Cons: valves

 
I don't know how the consistency is between King instruments, but these reviews are all over the place. The horn has a wonderful sound with excellent intonation (in my opinion only rivaled with bach strad), but the valves always seem to crap out. I have a friend with the same instrument with the same problems. Slotting is easy especially D & C#. Minimal slide movement to keep a nice resonant in tune sound. 1st valve trigger is handy also.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/4/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: outstanding tone and response, well made,excellent trigger mechanism on the first valve slide, a great "vintage" trumpet
Cons: none

 
This post is in regard to the vintage King Silver Flair trumpet, usually with serial numbers that would place the date of manufacture either in the 1960s or early 1970's, and made by King Musical Instruments, or by the H.N.White Company.

These Silver Flairs made in the sixties and early seventies are outstanding horns. Extremely fine playing and well made instruments. They are, IMO, as good as just about any trumpet you can buy.

Having played vintage Silver Flairs for many years, I can say that I find them to be a truly fine instrument.

This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $999.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great materials, heavy structure, hardly anything better in price range
Cons: Needs breaking in when new

 
The 2055T is an amazing horn. Over 2 weeks I tested, tried, and criticized many trumpets including Yamaha Allegora models, pro models, a Bobby Shew model, Bach Strads, but THIS is the one for me. I find it the best thing that a working teenager can afford. Superb feel and overall bulkiness makes it feel solid and the tone is rich on the low end and a bit brighter into the higer registers.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $415.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tone, thumb key, condition, vavle mechanisms
Cons: Its used so there are smudges. Its not a PRO horn I suppose.

 
I just got one of these for my son. I payed $415 plus shipping off ebay. Its in excellent/mint condition.

I think I did great. Im a band director/percussionist. I did LOTS of research and part of that was THIS website where I found lots of positive reviews.

I have a few students with Bach Strads and Ill tell you...this KING sound just as good if not BETTER to my ears. The tone seems more focused and centered on the KING.

Im happy for my son and he loves it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $700.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great looking, great sound, smooth slides, first valve slide lever.
Cons: none

 
i have owned this horn for about two weeks now, and before this i had a king 600, it is a great step up i can see using this horn for years throughtout high school and college. also the price is excellent for a quality instrument.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/17/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice engraving and plate. Good sound in all register mostly
Cons: bad slotting above the staff uncomfortable trigger

 
This is generally a good horn...for a middle schooler and mayber a high freshman to the sophmore level. Over all tone quality is pretty good but it doesnt compare to some other intermediate horns. The valves are "OK" nothing special better than most yamaha's that ive played. Above a high "D" this horn is extremely difficult to slot. On almost and Xeno strad and Holton maynard ferguson trumpets i can wail but on this king its much more difficult you can still do it but it takes much more effort. The silver plating and the engraving on the horn look really nice. The trigger is made in uncomfortable position. Ive had to alter the way i hold my horn because of it. Overall pretty good I'd say its worth $1000 but no more. If you have the chance to get a nicer horn when looking to upgrade skip over this one there are better horns out there.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great sound, love the handy trigger on the slide, stunning looks, rivals the Strad
Cons:

 
This horn has all the sound quality, reliability, looks, and feel you could ever want. I played it alongside the Bach Strad and actually thought that the Silver Flair performed better than the more expensive counterpart. I highly recommend this horn to anyone looking for a high quality instrument. If you never want to buy another trumpet for the rest of your life, this is the choice.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent quality, Good Intonation, 1st valve trigger is helpful, Quick slides
Cons: Valves become sluggish after time

 
I've owned this horn for about 4 years now and I've loved it since the day I got it. I decided to buy this horn after deciding to stay in band back in 6th grade, and it's still my main horn. This horn is very durable lasting 4 years and only getting a few very small dings. This horn also has great intonation. I am the only one in my section that owns this horn, the rest have Bach Strads and other models and one has a King Legend, and I seem to be the one that is most consistantly in tune. Even in the upper register, I've managed to stay in tune as high as D above high C. The first slide trigger is also very helpful, however I've broken the spring many times since I've gotten this horn. All slides are very quick and responsive to help in fine tuning notes.

The only thing that really bugs me about this horn is the valves. Just after my freshman year of highschool, I noticed the valves were heavier and slower than my friend's Bach Strad's. The difference was so much, I tried sending my trumpet to a shop to do what they could with the valves. When I recieved my trumpet back, I didn't notice much of a difference so I decided just to deal with it.

Overall this is a great horn. Very nice quality horn for it's price.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.