Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1mic_yamahasilent.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Yamaha Silent Brass System
Reviews Views
7 13502
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $132.00 8.6

 

Description:
Yamaha Trumpet Silent Brass System
Silent Brass system for trumpet. Includes ST9 Module. The new and improved Silent Brass systems have been redesigned to include everything a player needs and nothing they don't. It is smaller and lighter while still maintaining the quietness and pitch accuracy that Silent Brass has become known for.

Silent Brass System

Smaller, lighter and more portable
The redesigned Silent Brass module is smaller than a cassette tape and weighs about as much. It fits easily into a shirt pocket and can be attached to the player's belt, if desired. This makes the new Silent Brass systems much more portable and convenient.

Improved sound
The sound from this "next generation" system has been greatly improved over the previous generation. The "hiss" has been greatly reduced, allowing the player to hear more of himself and less noise.

Simplified controls and sleeker look
The new module has only a volume knob and an echo switch, eliminating the unneeded extra features and making it even more affordable.

Aux In jack
One of the things we carried over from the previous generation was the Aux In jack. This jack allows an external sound source to be combined with the signal coming from the mute or microphone. The player can then play along with their favorite song in practice and performance settings and put the fun back in their practice sessions.

Input jack
The input jack allows a quick and easy connection to a Yamaha pickup mute for practice or to a Yamaha MC-7 instrument mic for performance.

Output/phones jack
The Output/ phones jack allows the Silent Brass system to be connected to earphones for private practice, an external sound system for sound reproduction, or to a recording system for recording.


Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.yamaha.com
Keywords: Yamaha Silent Brass System
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good to use when your mom is screming at you
Cons: none

 
If you need some were to practice but have nowhere to go this is for you. BUY IT!!!!!!!!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/21/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $160.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Plays fairly natural
Cons: Absolutely not "silent", long cables

 
You've got to admit it's an interesting idea to have a silent mute but still be able to hear yourself through headphones. In reality, however, don't expect the Silent Brass to be really silent. You will still produce a volume akin to a loudish radio.
The resistance brought about by the mute isn't a real impediment, in fact, with the mute I can still play as high as I can without it.
The cables that come with it are considerably long, which is kind of inconvenient. But I guess they had to make them that long for tall people who like to play with their trumpets pointing upwards.

If you want to be kind to your neighbours, this might be a good buy. But first visit your brass store and see if they have anything quieter than this, because the promise of silence really hasn't been lived up to.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/19/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $130.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet, Low Resistance System
Cons: None

 
This product is excellent for anyone looking to get extra practice time in around areas that are not trumpet player friendly. It does a great job of keeping the noise minimal. I am a fairly loud player and I was able to play in the room next to my girlfriends kids and they didn't wake. It's not something I would practice intonation with as it does alter that slightly. Enough so that you don't want to mess with the real free flowing intonation. Great for a quick warm up behind the stage before the gig and those late night practice sessions where you want to go through some licks. All in all a great piece of gear to add to the collection.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/22/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: BJHGuZKwIFLoYbEbY
Cons: KThcbaWOSIPnTqEEZM

 
Subsequently a filter preselects small text fragments that contain strings of the same type as the expected answer. ,
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/16/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $100.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Quiet, provides an option to practice when space is not available
Cons: Sound, feel

 
This is a great option when space is not available to practice without disturbing others (much). My biggest problems are it doesn't give a true indication of tone quality, dynamics, or articulation. It also adds weight to the bell (more than a mute) and alters the feel/blow.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/31/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: GREATLY reduces volume
Cons: Heavy, changes balance, adds considerable resistance

 
The sound doesn't adequately change dynamically, and the added resistance you have to blow against is a bummer. However, since my children whine when I pull the horn out, the sound dampening is as good as any of the practice mutes I have tried. Do yourself a favor and splurge on come really GOOD headphones instead of the ones that come with the system. The difference in sound is worth it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smokin valves
Junior Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Rochester
Posts: 14
Review Date: 9/15/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Can be taken anywhere, low resistance
Cons: Price, not actually silent

 
This is a good product that will mean that you can practice anywhere at any time without disturbing the peace. it is great for when on tour and in hotel rooms. However for use at home i strongly discourage using it. for the same price you can buy quite a lot of sound insulation and even though it is low resistance it will still be different to when playing without the mute in.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.