Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Curry Mouthpieces
Reviews Views
16 22602
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $46.85 10.0

 

Description:
Curry Precision Mouthpieces
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.currympc.com/
Keywords: Curry Precision Mouthpieces
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/6/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $42.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High quality/excellent price
Cons: none

 
Curry mouthpieces are a step above the usual mass produced trp mouthpiece. Comfortable (Bach Mt. Vernon style) rim and plently of sizes and cup depths available. No mouthpiece is perfect for everyone but, give the Curry line a try.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great comfort, intonation, turbo charges a Bach
Cons: no dealers in Europe yet

 
Cheap and damn good. No fancy claims - the product works. I know of nobody who has not found a good fit in Curry mouthpieces, maybe due to the comfortable rims and many cup depths in one rim size.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/26/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: High Quality, VERY Comfortable
Cons: NONE

 
I was told to try a curry 50M by Pops... I reluctantly tried it after being extremely frustrated with others. In a matter of days I was exceeding my previous abilities with a better sound and better projection. Mark has hit the nail on the head!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/16/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $41.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great rim, great Flugel sound
Cons:

 
The best Flugel sound I've found... an even, mellow tone with no sharpness or surprises. I tried the standard Flugel pieces and the 600 series, I personally prefer the 600-series rim as it adds to my endurance and still has a great FL cup. I also tried the new Trumpet TF piece ("Trumpet-Flugel") and found it offered a nice classical sound and made the Flugel-to-Trumpet transition easier. A deep cup for a super, full tone but still sounds like a trumpet should. It is not a Flugel mouthpiece made to fit a trumpet as the bore is clearly smaller. Give Curry a try, you won't be disappoined.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $44.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Comfort, Sound, Price!
Cons: -none-

 
I needed a new mouthpiece for my large bore Bach C horn, with the Adelstein leadpipe. (I LOVE THIS HORN!!!)

I ordered up the BC series from 3 - 10.5 from Mouthpiece Express. I used a Bach 1B all through college at Northwestern, but that was a looooong time ago, and I have made significant changes and improvements to my embouchure using Jeff Smiley's BE approach.

So, I tried all the sizes, and for me on this horn the Curry 5BC us absolutely stunning. No hyperbole. My accuracy, range and endurance have all improved, all while maintaining my sound.

I am one happy customer.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All
Cons: None

 
Curry 1.5BC Mouthpiece -Absolutely great! Other more expensive ones make all sorts of claims...."pitch center" this; "heavy mass that," Curry just works, and at a reasonable price!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: pretty sound, better range
Cons: none

 
I work in a music store and get to try out everything . . . a curry 1C allowed me to play much higher and with better tone.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Comfortable, great overtones, affordable
Cons: none

 
I bought a 1.25C and plan on purchasing a 70S. The mouthpieces are great and Mark is a nice guy who's easy to work with. The standard mouthpieces have a nice open throat, which I like a lot.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best mouthpieces
Cons:

 
i buy this mouthpiece from mouthpieceexpress a 00M 600 series and is the best mouthpiece ai play
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $49.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Consistency, playability, sound quality
Cons:

 
Review for Curry 3C:
Although nearly identical to the vintage Bach 3C in specifications, it plays easier and with a cleaner sound then Bach. I like the Bach 3C, it has a nice balance of tone and range and plays well on my Strad Bb trumpet. However, the upper register takes less effort on the Curry 3C due to the extra mass and the resulting sound on this mouthpiece has a hint darker core to it then the Bach (I prefer the added brilliance I can get on the Bach 3C). That said, the Curry is easier to color, articulate and play above the staff and overall a superior mouthpiece. I personally thought the Curry 5C had the best tone quality on my trumpet, but it has a sharper inside rim which made it less comfortable then the 3C given how I play. In addition, the rim on the Curry 3C feels like it has a broader contact area then Bach, so it required less of an adjustment to move from a 7C size. ALL Curry mouthpieces I've played (Trumpet, Cornet, Flugelhorn) are extremely well designed and all had great sound quality. The Flugelhorn pieces have a superior tone quality to others I've played --a dark, buttery sound quality and easy to play.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/16/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Perfection
Cons: None!

 
I play a Curry on every horn I own!

Lead: I use the 60M. Great crisp sound and wonderful feel. High notes slot perfectly. If you can hear it you can play it. Within the first 2 gigs I was sitting fat on double C's and Eb's. The lip flexibility needed is very small and control is always on your side.

Flugel: I also use the 600 series piece. I get a wonderful smooth sound and it is not as difficult switching to the 60M, although there will always be some inconsistancy.

Orchestral: Believe it or not I play the 1.25TC. This looks as deep as a flugel piece and takes a lot of getting used to, but I have never played so well. In fact I will use this while playing low jazz tunes, but I uses it mostly for orchestral, symphonic, or solo lit.
This user is offline
 
JazzyJonas
Junior Member

Registered: May 2007
Location: Bowling Green, KY
Posts: 1
Review Date: 3/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: efficiency, projection, clear sound, cozy rim
Cons: none

 
I must say I didn't like this mouthpiece (70m) at first-coming from a Bach 1&1/2 C it felt a little small/tight. I was actually the last one to be convinced that I sound better on it. Everyone who has heard me play it says I have a clearer sound with more sparkle and zing (technical terms, of course). The only thing is, you may not sound good to you! From the player's side of the horn, you may hear you sound as a little thin, but it really carries with great energy out front. Also, somehow Mark has made this mouthpiece with a 27 throat that is very free blowing and flexible. My endurance has also increased by a few hours! You have to get used to this peice especially if you are coming off something larger-give it 21 days of real playing and practice. Don't just peck at it once and decide you don't like it. I also got a 70fl and the review for that piece is much shorter - "Beautiful!" Thanks Mark! I don't have to worry about equipment anymore!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/13/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price and quality, simplicity
Cons: none

 
Thanks to Robert at Mouthpiece Express (great people and company) he recommended a matched pair for my new Getzen 770Sp and flugel. Used to play a 10 1/2 C and then switched to an Asymmetrics Std. I love my new Curry pieces; 1.5BC tpt and 1.5FLM flugel. Excellent tone, better endurance and much better flexibility. I didn't realize how much the Asymmetrics hurt my playing till I switched, especially in flexibility. And considering the difference in the set is minor its pretty easy to go back and forth between the 2 horns. And at 49 each they are a bargain. I lost about 2 notes in range (to be expected) but I will gain that back in time.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/30/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $48.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great quality and very comfortable rims
Cons: None

 
I've tried just about everything out there but my new Curry 5BC ( C rim shape with Bach B style cup) really has changed my way of thinking. It has a full range of tones from mellow and warm to punchy and brighter when pushed. To me it is the " Do All" mouthpiece.
This user is offline
 
AirBender
Junior Member

Registered: July 2012
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1
Review Date: 7/6/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very affordable, many different sizes, and RELIABLE
Cons: I recently bought one that has a shank that is slightly bigger than previous ones.

 
Mark Curry has done one heck of job in designing his mouthpieces. Because so many options are available (cups, throats, rims, etc), I am sure that any trumpet player will be able to find a model that will fit their needs exclusively. They are really cheap as well. At around $50 a piece, you won't have to worry too much about wasting money on trying a piece (although I do recommend that you do some research before you buy to prevent yourself from buying the wrong pieces.)

I'm a huge fan of the 600 series mouthpieces because of the rim and cups. I personally cannot play on small diameter mouthpieces, but I do play lead. Having tried the Schilke 14a4a, 6a4a, and Kanstul B4LD, I've figured that I tend to bottom out on smaller mouthpieces. So I sought after a wide diameter with a shallow cup. Bingo! The 80S was the piece for me. I loved it so much, I bought the 80M and 80C so I can easily switch between the pieces to fit whatever environment I'm in (I use the 80S and 80M for lead parts in marching band and jazz bands and the 80C in concert band).

The 80M that I bought though, didn't fit my trumpet as well as the other two pieces. It seemed a bit "thicker" in terms of the plating I guess so it didn't go into my trumpet all the way. It still plays wonderfully, but the Monster Sleeve that I purchased to go with my Curry mouthpieces gets stuck if I try to put it on there.

Definitely give these pieces a try. I highly recommend the 600 series for screamers.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
J. Jericho
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 12
Review Date: 10/29/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation, timbre
Cons: Shape a little awkward and slippery, especially when removing from horn

 
I was experiencing serious intonation problems with my King Opus 7 cornet. I was considering selling it, but instead I asked Mark Curry which mouthpiece he would recommend for me. He suggested the 3BC model. I purchased one, and the best description I can come up with is "Magic". It totally transformed the horn into a cornet that I enjoyed playing and listening to. Intonation was significantly improved, as was ease of playing in the upper register, and the timbre was magnificent - a true cornet sound.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.