Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Parduba "Double-Cup" mouthpiece
Reviews Views
11 20726
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $45.60 7.7

 

Description:
The unusual patented design of the Parduba "Double-Cup" mouthpiece enables a great ease of playing in the high register. This is noticeable the very first time that one tries this mouthpiece. After adapting to this design, it is possible to attain excellent control, and a beautiful tone is often realized when using the larger sizes such as the Numbers 5, 6, and 7.


Although the cup appears to be very shallow, the lower half of the cup gives great length to the overall shape of this Double-Cup design which in turn produces a very brilliant yet rich melodic tone. One must be very careful not to over blow this mouthpiece since it takes much less effort to execute on than other types of cups.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.parduba.com
Keywords: Parduba "Double-Cup" mouthpiece
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $49.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good quality manufacture, strong plating,accurate specs!
Cons: back pressure is too great, bore to #26 throat, improves tone and play

 
The product plays easily in lower and mid range from the outset. Upper range is very hard and stuffy until #27 throat is improve to a #26. Endurance is increased as well as range. A great tone is produced on larger sizes #6, 6.5, and #7. Played with little pressing on chops!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/15/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $39.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fat,round sound - keeps high register in tune easier.
Cons: Doesn't fit in an orchestral setting, tires out the player faster than regular mouthpieces.

 
I ordered a 6.5 which is about the same as a Bach 5C, my mouthpiece of choice. Many 1st part players in the marching band I'm in use these. Great for pep songs and field shows. It also works great in mariachi bands. According to my friends, it is the only way to play in Mexico.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/5/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: It has a nice feel on the lips.
Cons: Might not be good for some though!?!

 
This is a great mouthpiece for most, but not for all. Those who have a lot even a little lip intrusion may experience some fuzzzz in their sound. But still a good mp for those who do not have that problem!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None other than the fact that Harry James played on them
Cons: Not good at all

 
This is the perfect example of what Mr. Bach talked about..."Do not buy a mouthpiece simply because some one else uses it" I bought the Harry James model and it did not work for me at all. The rim is too thick and it does not play in tune. However I will not part with mine as I am sure that someday it will become a collectors item.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Outstanding Tone
Cons: Easy to over blow

 
I've played for 32 years, and play a large bore heavy wall horn. I wanted to brighten my tone in the upper register (when playing lead) without screwing up my lower and middle ends. The #5 (Harry James) is PERECT! It took some getting used to, but, my tone and slotting is now dead on, and I have acheived the "brightness" I was looking for, yet still maintain a nice, dark center. I'm VERY pleased with this mouthpeice. It's not for everyone, though!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Harry James model gives you his sound
Cons: Inner rim bite was to sharp for me

 
I tried this mouthpiece because of my years of being a fan of Harry James.This was a least a part of his sound. the upper register will have that violin sweet sound that he played on ballads or it did for me anyway.I have rather thick lips so the inner rim was to sharp for me but it does add to the note attack. I will keep it just because Harry James played it.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 6/5/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $39.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best mouthpiece I have ever used---you guys must be kidding here
Cons: None, its a little soft and gets dinged if you drop it

 
THe Parduba Double cup is an amazing concept and its far better than the screamer mouthpieces my teacher used to hawk to me-_JET TONE STUDIO MODEL A and C with shallow cups and the Faddis XL Heavy wieght with the A cup (too shallow to articulate and hurts lips)...this double cup--I bought the size 5 and the inner cup was whatever WWBW shipped with---odd but I do not know--but its perfect--I can play for 4 hours hitting lots of high Cs Ds etc.and NOT fatigue and I have always had a pressure problem squeezing too hard on high notes..I suggest people revist this mouthpice--do not buy the small Harry James ones but buy the number 4, 5, 5,5 6 that they sell on WWBW and other sites that is the newer dual cup--its an amazing solution to an age old problem..I am gonna have Schilke duplicate this on the HEavyweight as a custom piece for 240 that is how much I like it...
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
David Smith
Junior Member

Registered: December 2008
Location: Williamsport, PA
Posts: 4
Review Date: 6/13/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Improves intonation,range and slotting of notes.
Cons: Brighter tone than I prefer.

 
Parduba Cornet 6 1/2 mp: double cup 16.86mm cup diameter #27 3.66mm throat.
www.agmusic.com/parduba/parduba.html (sizing comparison chart)
I have been playing this mp on a long bell cornet for a couple of months. Long enough to have developed opions. It has not made a dramatic improvement to my playing, but for now I continue to play it. I have found that notes slot slighly better than when I play my usual cornet mp. My range has not actually increased but the upper notes slot better and the G above the staff is better intune (but still sharp). My endurance is slightly better with the Parduba. I find the Parduba improves, slightly, all aspects of my playing, with the one exception of tone. It is a good full tone, just slightly brighter than I prefer. I do find the Parduba to be a better choice for frequent above the staff playing than any of the shallow cup mps I have played. I am still evaluating this mp and will edit this posting as needed. 2010/09/09 - I continue to play this mp, most of my earlier opions have not changed. As I put more hours on this mp I find the tone has become more acceptable, at times becoming almost lyrical. 2010/11/01 I suggest that this MP is not a good choice for the cornet. The sound/tone is simply too trumpet like. That said, that is why I continue to play it. I am playing a long bell cornet in a section of trumpets and this MP puts me on par with them! 2011/2/2 I have recently been playing a King Tempo cornet. This mouthpiece is the perfect connection between this horn and myself. I have the all the advantages I had before and now with the rich mellow tone I like.

Parduba Trumpet 6 1/2 mp: double cup.
I tried to make a seperate entry for the trumpet version of the Parduba 6 1/2 but this system would not allow me to do so. That said, the trumpet version is much more of what I had expected of the cornet version. My ranged is extended two notes at the top end. Endurance is better than a typical medium cup mouthpiece and the tone is a good bright tumpet sound, with improved intonation. I will add more as time permits, This is now my primary mouthpiece when playing my Bb trumpet.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit David Smith's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/13/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Good tone, endurance as advertised.
Cons: Could be free lol.

 
For the second poster, actually the #7 is the 5C Bach equivalent. Don't know who told you differently but it's very easy to look and confirm that for yourself. Maybe you'd play even better on that one. I play the #6.5(3C-1C), and have loved it for years. I occasionally use others for specific styles but this is my main piece.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 11/24/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $48.99 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Endurance
Cons: none

 
To CB3,

Per the Parduba website mouthpiece chart(agmusic.com), here are the stats:
6.5 (5C), 7 (3C-1C). FYI.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: big, bright, fat tone
Cons: somewhat stuffy above high C

 
I use a Parduba #7 for playing lead in big band dance music (yes folks, that's still being done). It increased the sparkle in my sound and the wide rim allows me to play four-hour dances without getting tired. Mostly, I like the authentic sound it produces for the style of music, which ranges from 1920's to 1970's. I understand that Pardubas are often used in mariachi music to produce that extra bright sound.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.