Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Bach Megatone Mouthpiece
Reviews Views
11 26498
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $71.89 8.8

 

Description:
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.selmer.com
Keywords: Bach Megatone Mouthpiece
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $90.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Warm Sound, Good Projection, Allows for louder playing
Cons:

 
I've seen them on the internet for around 60 dollars, but I was a sucker at a music shop.

I really liked the mouthpiece, a (5C). It let me play louder without getting that "laser tone" that most get. It also helped center my tone a bit.

Also- My band director tells everyone to use one on a large bore instrument (bach strads..). He said it helps them not get so fatigued. I play on a Getzen Eterna, but it seems to suit the horn well.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SWEET
Cons:

 
I have the Bach 180-37ML with a Bach Megatone 1 1/4 mouthpiece. The megatone is great at any registar. The squeaky high notes come out with no problem. My other mouthpieces is the Schilke15 and Bach 7c. The megatone made this trumpet come alive.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Darker sound, more open throat
Cons:

 
I played a Bach 2 1/2 C for 10 years, when the megatones came out I thought it was a gimmick but I tried one anyway. I liked it better and bought one if for no other reason then it has a more open throat. I played the megatone 2 1/2 C for 10 more years for everything but the high baroque stuff including jazz until I went to a Curry 2BC for legit and a Curry 2DE for jazz. I find the Curry rims more comfortable but I missed the sound the extra mass of the megatone gave me so I ended up buying a sound sleve for my Currys. As a side note when I was playing in the director's band at the Western International Band Clinic there were 3 of us in a row playing megatones. I might eventually go back to the megatone.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great, Dark Jazz Sound, Very Open and Relaxed
Cons: NONE!

 
I bought a bach megatone 1.5c in gold plating, and I LOVE it. I'm a lead trumpet player at my highschool and I play in the jazz band. There is not a mp out there thats will give you a dark rich resonant sound like this one well worth the money!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $63.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Added mass helps the tone a bit
Cons: It's not for everyone. Heavier, so it might hinder endurance.

 
I got the 3C and it sounds great. You can't just expect it to work miracles for you. It will sound great if it's used with the right horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/16/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $60.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Velvet tone a great ballad MP
Cons: None

 
I have used the Bach 5C Megatone in two different horns. A) Getzen Eterna and as the young man describes above this MP seems to have been made for this horn. The sound is truly beautifull. I have also played it with my 8310Z Bobby Shew model and it makes the horn sound like the C. Botti style dark and velvety. Truly a great MP.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/29/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Darkens sound, adds mass, changes the way the horn feels (balancing wise)
Cons: Not big enough lol Besides that, it won't fit in a standard mouthpiece spot in a standard Bach trumpet case.

 
I love my megatone. I play a 3C. I stumbled upon it after getting my Strad and figured that I'd go all out customization wise. I found it very hard to blow through at first, granted I'd just added the weighted valve caps a few days later making it virtually impossible, and it became a decision that if I couldn't get used to the added caps and my standard 3C, then I'd end up returning the megatone, but I stuck with it. Personally, I didn't notice that big of a difference between the Megatone and a standard Bach size mouthpiece, but the balance in my hands was better, and I was convinced that higher mass meant better sound.

Now, I can't play my Strad without it, it's almost become the heart of my Strad, and I've passed my standard 3C over to my Erankenstein Eb Getzen Caravelle (FYI, Don Getzen, to my knowledge, never created an Eb Caravelle, I happened to have an old one that the lead pipe assembly and tuning slide virtually fell to pieces, so I chopped the horn up and made a usable Eb out of it).

Overall, this mouthpiece isn't for everyone, and your breathing set-up will have to be correct, or maybe slightly off, I'm not sure, for this mouthpiece to work well. I know a fellow student who tried a Megatone and quit because he couldn't get enough air through it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/30/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: it improved upon the original Bach piece
Cons: none

 
i used this piece for the last two yeas, and had no complaints. it improved range, stamina, intonation, and slotting. it looked cool, and worked well for price, but i have since moved to a harrelson.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $50.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good Rich Sound
Cons: not a Monette

 
I think that a Monette sounds richer and rim is also much more comfortable.IMHO
Yes I have both and if you are going to play a Bach then this mouthpiece seems to be darker than the standard Bach.
Peace to all Bach Fans!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/24/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $160.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cool looking , Slighty darker tone
Cons: Too expensive, Little endurance.

 
This mouthpiece was 150 dollars and was given to me by a friend. I was excited to put it in and play. It sounded just like a regular Bach mouthpiece but I wondered why it was almost twice as much. I noticed it was more free blowing but it killed my lips. Buy it if you it might just be me but dont buy it at a music store unless its 70 dollars or under.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Joel Manjarrez
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Location: Chula Vista CA
Posts: 3
Review Date: 7/31/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $89.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nice dark and warmer tone
Cons: takes a while to get used to it..

 
I''ve used two, a 3c and currently using a 5c. Takes a while to get used to them when you come off a different mouthpiece though. I just got the 5c coming off a parduba
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.