Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Kelly Mouthpieces
Reviews Views
9 9476
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $22.25 7.7

 

Description:
Ideal for the outdoors player!

Made from Lexan polycarbonate/ABS, the same dimensionally-stable material used in bullet-proof glass! Won't dent shank or scratch rim if dropped. Produces less fatigue on players' chops and better endurance! Perfect for musicians who play outdoors as it doesn't conduct heat or cold.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.kellymouthpieces.com/
Keywords: Kelly Mouthpieces
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/5/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $15.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light weight. gets warm instantly, soft
Cons: to soft on higher tones

 
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/8/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $19.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
I bought this because looked interesting. I got the 1C (only available in clear). Overall, it is an alright mouthpiece. I do not think I will ever use it for any actual work, save I am doing a show outside in the middle of winter. The sound is just not all there with these, but I still like it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $24.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good coldweather use. Price
Cons: Sound isn't there.

 
It was 24 dollars after shipping.
I got a standard 3C. The rating system isn't fair for this, lets say it this way, it's not an all around mouthpiece.

I use this mouthpiece in extreme cold situations to avoid busting my lips during marching. It works for marching, but lets keep it for COLD weather marching. The sound just isn't there, not much of a core. Sounds very diffused. If you march cold weather, go for it, just keep your REAL mouthpiece.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/17/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $18.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Costs, durability, excellent for cold weather playing
Cons: You aren't going to use it in orchestra!

 
I bought a few of these for playing in cold weather. I'm a military musician, and cold brass on cold lips is no fun at a funeral when cracking a note isn't an option. These mouthpieces are excellent in my opinion. They're well made, and very durable. I've dropped mine more than once (not as secure in your hands as brass in because of the weight) with no damage to it. They're soft on your lips, and always warm. I think the sound is actually excellent for being made of Lexan. Note to the other posters: It's made of PLASTIC!, it's not going to sound like your brass mouthpiece! For conditions where you need it, you won't find anything better, unless you get a lexam rim made for your mouthpiece which involved ALOT of costs and custom work. Also, with the rising cost of brass, these might be a good alternative for beginners. Low cost, high durability. I give these two thumps up! (I have the 1 1/2C size)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $17.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, marching worthy, does what it says
Cons: Not good for obvious warm conditions where heat is available

 
I bought two Kelly Mouthpieces, one in purple in 5C and a 1C (clear). These are very comfortable on the embochure and do help endurance. Like their brass counterparts, the same characteristics are found, higher the cup, easier the upper register, so on. Doesn't add a lot of weight to your instrument, unlike the brass mouthpieces with excess bulk. Overall, these mouthpieces do what the manufacturers say they do, stay warm in cold, cold in warm, and increase endurance and comfort. Great for anyone looking to get away from conventional mouthpieces.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $30.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Cheap, doesn't get hot or cold
Cons: Doesn't have a great sound

 
I got one because my megatone MP gets too cold during winter. It allows me to play in the cold easier. Wouldn't use it for real gigs, but for a bit of practice it is fine.

By the way, I live in Australia hence the cost of it being high.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $35.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Kelly 4b same size as Denis Wick 4b
Cons: Although not the same sound as the Denis Wick

 
Good practise mouthpiece if your other mouthpiece is the same size but if not, dont bother. Unless its the trumpet screamer model!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Jloon36
Junior Member

Registered: December 2013
Location: Charlottesville, Virginia
Posts: 16
Review Date: 2/8/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: No warm up, cost, feel
Cons: Range suffers

 
The range on these is horrible, but they are the best mouthpieces for those cold days in marching band. Without these, My lips would have been torn off at a lot of football games and parades.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
J. Jericho
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 12
Review Date: 10/29/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Cold weather performance
Cons: Warm weather comfort, unbalances horn feel in hand

 
I bought a couple of 3C's and a Screamer, and they play/sound like metal mouthpieces. They are lightweight, so the trumpets I use them with get front-heavy in my hand. Excellent for really cold weather, they don't absorb the necessary amount of lip warmth in warm weather, causing a feeling of overheating. They might have some value in a situation where extreme heat from the Sun would make a metal mouthpiece burn one's lips, however.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.