Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

sshhMute Practice Mute
Reviews Views
5 16021
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $41.00 9.4

 

Description:
Your current practice mute is probably giving you unreliable pitching and poor tuning ability.
The extra breathing necessary through incorrect resistance is probably forcing you to cut short your practice sessions as well.
Several years of research by award winning cornetist Trevor Bremner has resulted in the best practice mute ever.

The ssshhhhhhMute is available for the following instruments: Trumpet, Cornet, Tenor Trombone, Bass Trombone, French Horn, Tenor Horn, and Flugel Horn.


Features of the ssshhhmute...

- Gives accurate tuning throughout the range.
- Helps develop and open the throat muscles to give better air flow, thus improving the tone.
- Has an improved resistance factor, allowing you to extend practice sessions and enhances pitching and accuracy.
- Designed to fit into all brands and models of instruments without compromising effectiveness.
- It is made from lightweight ABS plastic which will not cause your instrument to feel any heavier when playing.
- Helps you warm up before going on stage.
- Weighs only 46 grammes (about 18% less than traditional metal mutes).
- Won't dent if you happen to drop it.

It is competitively priced, yet offers more benefits than most other mutes.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.sshhmute.com/
Keywords: sshhMute
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 8/9/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation
Cons:

 
The first thing you notice is just how light this mute is. You could easily walk on-stage forgetting that it is still in the bell! The intonation is simply the best of any practice mute I have ever tried. Relatively free blowing also. Somebody has finally 'got it right' with practice mutes. Practically unbreakable (the sales manager in the store smashed one across the bench to prove this!) A great mute.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
admin
Administrator

Registered: December 2005
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 177
Review Date: 8/28/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $38.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great balance between Volume, Tone, and Value
Cons: A little flat

 
I tried a new practice mute today called the ssshhhmute, designed and distributed by Bremner music (http://www.bremnermusic.com/"]http://www.bremnermusic.com[/URL]). I have owned a series of different practice mutes through the years (Humes/Berg, Peacemaker, etc.) I have not found a practice mute that has met my needs (small kids sleeping). I was suspect on the ssshhhmute, but went ahead and tried it out. Here’s what I found using my Getzen 3051 (trumpet), Bach Strad 180S, and my Getzen 3850 (cornet) during the past week with the Trumpet model of the practice mute.

Tone (9/10)
As with any mute, I am wondering how a mute sounds in my actual use. This mute played a little flat (not sure if this was the horns I play), compared to some other mutes I’ve used. The sound was full (or as full as you would expect from a practice mute), and was loud enough that you can open up, and hear your tone. Although a little flat in mid/upper registers – it was relatively minor, and something that I easily corrected for. Based upon the sound/volume of sound out of this mute, I think this mute has a very good combination for trumpet players.

Sound/Volume (10/10)
This was my big question. Can I get a good tone (see above), and still maintain a lower sound volume. Tried this mute out at home, and also at a local practice with the entire trumpet/cornet section (10 of us), and all felt it was a very quiet practice mute. Compared to the Humes/Berg, Peacemaker, and even a Stealth mute (not sure of the mfg.) – this mute is best in class compared. The closest was the Stealth, and much better than the H/B. Overall a very good “quiet” mute that also played in tune. (what a combination)

Quality/Construction (10/10)
The mute is made of ABS thermoplastic, and has a nice, high gloss surface. The bottom is yellow, and is joined together in a high quality manner (no glue, scratches, like on some other plastics mutes I’ve owned).

Other (10/10)
I was surprised by the carry bag that came with the mute itself. Very professional, and I think will keep the mute from getting damaged, beat up in my case with all of the other mutes I carry. The soft bag is black, and has a yellow draw string. Very nice, high quality bag.

Overall/Value (9.5/10)
At $38. dollars for a trumpet practice mute, it is right in the same range as other practice mutes I’ve owned (except for the Humes/Berg – but it didn’t work). I would recommend you try this mute in your search for a “great” practice mute. Not the most common to find mute out there, but can order via PayPal. My shipment came within 3 days from Australia (amazing). The packaging was a little light, but it came absolutely perfect, with no damage. A good practice mute worth checking into!

posted on BrassReview.com; 8/28/06
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit admin's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Free Blowing, Light, good tone
Cons: Feels a bit cheap

 
Following a bit of research I ordered the SshhMute. I ordered it from Bremner Music and it took about 7 days to arrive, which, bearing in mind it is coming from down-under seems excellent.

First Impressions: When I opened the packaging, I have to say it did feel very plastic and a bit cheap, but on the up side it is very light, and by all accounts very strong.

On giving the mute a good try out, It does do exactly what is says. It provides an excellent reduction in sound, and is free blowing (similar to a cup).

I’ve only had it a day, but so far I am please with the results.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $40.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: intonation, blow, centering, light, doesn't stick out too far
Cons: cork slides around & comes off due to warm soft adhesive

 
I like this mute better than any other I've tried. I own a Wick from many years ago, a Yamaha, and the Reeves air freshener copy deal. This mute plays better than all and is almost as quiet and the Yamaha. The Yamaha is heavy and sticks out too far, changing the balance of the instrument in a way I don't like. This mute fits further into the horn and it is very light. I use it daily.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $45.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy blowing, little resistance.
Cons: A little flat in some upper register notes, could be me!

 
I love this little number, been blowing my brains out since I got it in the mail took about 3 weeks for delivery to Canada best part was it was delivered direct to my door and didn't get stuck in customs for weeks!!!! Bremner filled out the customs declaration so that it breezed through customs. Much better, lighter and compact than a H and B. Well worth it!!!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.