Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1mute_hb_straight.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Humes and Berg Stonelined Straight Mutes
Reviews Views
7 5406
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $21.50 4.0

 

Description:
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Website: http://www.humes-berg.com
Keywords: Humes Berg Stonelined Trumpet Straight Mutes
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $23.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: price, hard to destroy
Cons: intonation, quality of buzz

 
This is a good mute for middle school to junior high level. It is very durable and gives a straight mute sound. HOWEVER, a good trumpet mute is VERY necessary, and when playing upper level music, a better quality mute should come to mind.

This mute starts to really lose its pitch from a 2nd line g and below. Also, its not a very biting sound, more like a cup mute sound. But, it is a good price and functional enough.

If you want a good quality straight mute, I suggest a Trumcore, or a Tom Crown(copper bottom).

I hope you find this post informative.

This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/20/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: useless

 
This straight mute is a waste of money. I have tried using it in concerts but it just doesn't do the job. And the cork continuously falls off.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: price
Cons: eveythings else

 
Not a good mute. Suited for high schools only.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/9/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: makes a good paper weight
Cons: everything!!!

 
This is a waste on money- even for beginners. Spend an extra few bucks and get a real mute.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: You can beat the person over the head with it for using it!
Cons: It exists and is actually used by people!

 
This is one of the worst things in the trumpet world ever. I have always hated these things. They sound like crap and look like crap, and if they look, sound, feel, and taste terrible, trust me they are.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
David Smith
Junior Member

Registered: December 2008
Location: Williamsport, PA
Posts: 4
Review Date: 3/20/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Durability, Compact Size and Value Pricing.
Cons: Mellow Tone

 
Humes & Berg 101 Stonelined Straight Trumpet/Cornet Mute
This mute does not produce the bright tone that I expect from a quality metal straight mute. The tone is more mellow. That said, this mute seems to work well in the high school band. For my son, the most important feature is size. Both the Humes & Burg straight and cup mutes, together, fit in his cornet case! No need for a mute bag! The durability is a plus. I find that sanding the corks slightly improves grip and intonation. I suggest this mute is suitable for the beginning band player but should be replaced with the Alessi Vacchiano Trumpet/Cornet Straight Mute as soon as the student plays in a smaller ensemble such as a stage / jazz band.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Visit David Smith's homepage! Find more posts by this user  
smokin valves
Junior Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Rochester
Posts: 14
Review Date: 9/6/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $20.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice stonelined sound, cheap, doesn't dent, good intonation
Cons: Rarely used in favour of the Denis Wick mute

 
This mute is excellent and I really like the sound, though it is rarely used, meaning you will stick out soundwise in a sea of aluminium Denis Wicks. I like the sound for solos, and it is both cheaper and better (intonation wise) than the Denis Wick. I would advise upgrading to a Wallace, or a Tom Crown, Or an Alessi Vachiano when needs or budget permit, as these mutes are good in the tuning department too, but are metal so don't stick out in sectional work so much.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.