Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Olds Special Bb
Reviews Views
10 14886
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $302.11 8.7

 

Description:
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Bell (inch): 4.750
Keywords: Olds Special Bb
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/24/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: response, sound and valves
Cons:

 
My 1954 Olds Special is a wonderful horn. Its valves have a short stroke so fingering is very fast. It has a nice warm sound. Though, it is considered a intermediate horn it plays better then many proline horns.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $225.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice beautiful, round sound
Cons: consistency and condition

 
When I received my Olds Special from an auction on ebay I was delightfully surprised. It played like a pro-line horn. It also had abeautiful, full round sound - that would have rivaled a Bach. I have played several other Specials and have only found one or two that had the same feel and sound. If you find a good Olds Special it can be a wonderful value and a great horn for a kid to start on. Or, as in my case, a nice change of pace.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $275.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awesome look with silver body and brass bell
Cons: more back pressure than I've been used to

 
My Special is a 1959 model and is in perfect original condition. It plays tight and has a big sound. It looks great. Valves work well and fast. It does have a bit more back pressure than I've been used to with my other student model horns. The more I play it though the more I like it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $120.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fast valves, great sound, durability, consistincy
Cons: wear from 30+ years of use

 
This trumpet is great. It's able to blend in a concert setting and go straight to lead in jazz. Picked mine up over 14 months ago and I've never been able to play anything else. It hold perfectly on every note from low A to high D. All notes above or below that are playable, be weary though. This horn bends wonderfully, perfect for jazz and solo. If anyone sees a Special, I would recommend going for the buy. It may not look like much, but it plays better than all but a few new professional level horns.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $99.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good solid horn, plays well, in tune. good value.
Cons: No longer made

 
I've got two one from LA which is fantastic and one from Fullerton which is good, but not great. Excellent value. Wouldn't hesitate to use either one professionally.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: plays excellent
Cons: none

 
I have a special with a serial number in the low 8 thousands made around 1937. This special is much different from the models that came out much later. It plays just as good as my super recording model.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice Ballance, Great Pistons, Warm Sound
Cons: Lacquer was a problem but that never bothered me

 
My Special is a 1955 model and is in perfect original condition. NO DINGS or DENTS...only some lacque issues due to it age and how it sat in the case.
BIG BORE give's it that FAT Mellow sound.It plays tight,good tone and looks great. Valves work extremely well and fast. Intonation is good.
Nothing BAd to say about this one!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy to play, fast valves, great intonation & upper register
Cons: More back pressure than I am used to

 
This Special was made in Los Angeles in the 50's. It is very different than the later Special. It is light weight and well-balanced. The valves are really quick and it has great intonation. I was a little surprised that the resistance was more than other Olds I have played but as I got used to it I found it less tiring to play and the resistance was something to push against in the upper register. It is considered an intermediate horn but it plays as well, or better, than many pro-line horns. A great value.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Brasslover
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 5
Review Date: 5/24/2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great trumpet that can still stand up against many of today´s pro horns
Cons: none

 
Mine is a 1951 L.A. model, all brass, with the two-pin valve guides.
No dent, not even a ping, and the raw brass is plain awesome.
A fantastic horn, absolutely in tune and a fat, buttery sound with an easy upper register.
Easier than with my Olds Super.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
J. Jericho
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 12
Review Date: 12/1/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Dynamic range, easy to play, valves
Cons: Could have been built more precisely

 
If you like multicolored horns, this one will grab your eye. I'm not sure how much the bronze plating on the bell flare affects the timbre, but it looks nice, and... well... Special. Build quality is quite good overall, although on mine the valve ports align accurately, but not precisely, with the ports in the casings. The valve action, as expected is excellent. Nicely balanced in the hand. The long rod adjustable 3rd valve slide stop is a nice touch.

Easy to play, the sound is fairly clear and bright without many overtones. It can be played ppp thru fff without effort or distortion. Intonation is good. I'm not sure it would blend with a Classical ensemble without a suitably deep mouthpiece to tailor the sound. It would excel as a lead trumpet; it sparkles and sizzles in the upper register.

All in all, the Olds Special is a competent instrument that I would not hesitate to play in Popular, Commercial, Jazz, and Swing ensembles. The minor shortcomings do not affect the overall quality and playability of this horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.