Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Olds Studio Bb
Reviews Views
8 17519
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $423.86 8.8

 

Description:
The STUDIO "Brilliant Bell" creates, in this instrument, a trumpet of unusual characteristics with rich tonal Resonance. Nickel Siver and Brass in the bell of the STUDIO Trumpet allow the maximum amount of free vibration for full tone quality. The nickel silver tuning crook, the hand grips on the valves, and the third valve slide give maximum wear resistance. The light, effortless action is fast and dependable and careful balance assures a true scale.

images shown from 1950 model (56XXX)
Search Lowest Price:



Bell Mtl.: Nickel Silver & Brass
Keywords: Olds Studio Bb
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/12/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fat lows, warm mids, brilliant high register
Cons: none

 
My Studio is a 1953 LA model. I absolutely love it! It is a unique looking horn, with the sterling silver bell tip. It kind of sounds like how it looks! I like its open upper range better than my Olds Recording.(which I personally never warmed to) The craftsmanship is wonderful. I put a pilczuk 45x leadpipe on it, which only improved the already good slotting/intonation/evenness. This trumpet has a lot of the same characteristics of a Calicchio 1s7. If one can find one of these gems, it will be a bargain.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Clear bright sound or big and warm
Cons: none

 
I have a 53 model totally stripped of lacquer. I added a 36 3rd slid with a lever style waterkey and had a 3rd slide stop and 1st slide trigger added. Great valves (all olds valves are interchangeable ie mendez fits ambassador). It is the most underrated Olds horn around - forget the super or recording this has everything you need and more.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $420.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality built, well finished, plays easy but with great slotting. The horn is very stylish with the unique water key design and two-tone bell.
Cons: They don't buil them like this any more. What a shame!!!

 
I have 1950 LA horn in excellent but not mint condition. The horn is open and easy to play. It has a bright tone in the mid and upper ranges. I had the oportunity to play an Olds Special but did not find a noticable advantage. I am a King Liberty and Super 20 fan but I rate this horn right up there.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/9/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Well built, excellent upper register, olds valves
Cons: none

 
Just got this horn last week and so far it is excellent. It's a 1960 Fullerton horn in mint condition. I am partial to olds horns and this is definatley one of the best. The sterling silver bell flare really gives it a bright full sound in the upper register. The sound is not quite as good in the lower middle and lower registers, but this is probably due more to the mouthpiece I am using than the horn it's self. I have been playing mainly on cornet for three years and am used to using a wick mouthpiece, so switching back to trumpet and a bach 3c has been interseting. Overall, this is an excellent quality horn with good tone and should make a great jazz horn, which is how I intend to use it. In my opinion, all olds horns are excellent players, even the ambassadors. However, these studios are some of the best values around not only because they are excellent horns but because they are realtively cheap. If you want a professional olds trumpet and dont want to pay the high prices commanded by the supers, recordings, and mendez, get an Olds Studio.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 6/14/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $327.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Darker sound than most. Easy high register when tired.
Cons: Don't make it anymore

 
In the past three years I have bought Schilkes, Selmer (Paris), several Bessons (U.S. and English), Holton Symphonys, Constellations, Reynolds to name a few. Even though I would choose the Schilke for lead because of its very bright sound, I now play on what is the best horn I have found........a 1969 Olds Studio in nickel. It has a darker tone than the earlier horn with the 2-tone bell and also has a first valve trigger which is easier to use than anything else (triggers or throw rings). I use my Reynolds Emporer as a guide as to how the earlier Studios would sound because the Reynolds is a near duplicate horn (in my opinion). Valves are still outstanding. Slots very firmly.
According to an Olds brouchure of the time, they were designed to provide a darker tone than earlier models and give the player an edge in playing "loud and high" for extended periods. For me it does just that. I hate to be guilty of driving up the price of Studios because they still sell quite reasonable on ebay conpared to Supers and Recordings. But, I definately recommend you try one. I have been playing trumpet for 50+ years.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Sound with a nice even tone. Records great
Cons: None

 
I have a completely refurnish and silver plated Studio. Of all the horns I have I never have played the Studio all that much. I was experimenting with horns and recording myself - trying to decide which horn to use at church for the Christmas Concert. The Studio recorded very well with a lot of nice overtones. While not as much resistance as my Special it still has enough to push against and give you a lot of control. I have found myself using it more and more. My horn is an LA made horn from the 50's. I know they slightly redesigned it when Olds relocated to Fullerton. Like the Special the LA Studio models were much better playing horns.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/6/2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $220.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Usual Olds build quality
Cons: Large valve set to hold, trigger too big

 
I've got an Olds T-10 Studio, one of the Nickel Plated Fullerton horns, made in the very late 60s.

I've never warmed to this horn - it produces merely an OK tone, which is very difficult to colour. It would be good for outdoor work, as it's a very sturdy horn. The valves have a very long throw compared to other Olds horns I've played, which makes it feel slightly clunky for mine.

It's not a patch on the early tri-colour Studios, which I have played and are magnificent horns.

It would be a good step up trumpet for a student in my opinion, but not if they were too small, as it's quite a handful weight and size-wise.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
J. Jericho
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 12
Review Date: 7/28/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quality of construction, appearance, timbre, intonation, valves
Cons: Tight bell taper affects mutes, longer length limits fit in cases.

 
The Olds Studio is an unusual horn in several ways. The appearance (always a priority for Olds) is striking, with its bell having a brass taper and a nickel silver flare. Often a two-piece bell has interlocking tabs at the seam between the taper and the flare; the Studio does not, which gives a smooth transition between the two. I like trombone-style water keys, as they usually allow the discharge to go straight down without ending up on one's clothes, unlike standard ones. I would prefer the water key on the 3rd valve slide to match the one on the tuning slide, and some Olds models have this feature. Another feature that I like is the unusual design of the pulls on the 1st and 2nd slides; it sets the Studio apart in a nicely subtle way.

How can the timbre of a trumpet be both bright and full? Olds managed it in the Studio. The best description I can come up with for the sound is "lyrical"; it has the tonal color of a darker horn, but it's not dark. Intonation is very good, as is response. It's not as open as some trumpets, but the slight resistance is not objectionable. Valve action is typical legendary Olds.

The one drawback of this trumpet is that the tight bell taper requires removal of quite a bit of material from mute corks, and Harmon-style mutes barely fit. If you have more than one trumpet, chances are you'll have to have an extra set of mutes that fit the Studio, and for this reason alone, I rated this model an 8. Without this difficulty, I'd give it a solid 9.

FWIW - The subject of this review is a Fullerton model.

Addendum: Fitting a Studio into some trumpet cases, in particular my custom combination case that I had for many, many years is impossible, due to the overall length preventing the case from closing, and finding an original Olds Studio trumpet case is a daunting task, one I have yet to accomplish.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.