Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Olds Super
Reviews Views
11 19455
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $665.00 9.2

 

Description:
Olds Super:

Serial No. 184XX. Another well known classic, manufactured by F.E. Olds and Sons, Los Angeles in the early 1940's, features first and third valve slide adjustable saddles, distinctive nickel silver accents, stylish side reaching water keys, and the attractive brass bell garland, comes with original hard case.
Search Lowest Price:



Keywords: Olds Super
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 5/29/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, great valves
Cons: No longer made

 
These old Olds professional horns are great if you can find one in good shape. A good lead horn, lightweight, incredible valve action.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Valves and cutting edge sound
Cons: Can be a little tight

 
Great value and what a bargain. I currently have a 1970 version with the ultrasonic bell. I find it plays much more open than the earlier models although plating wear is par for the course on the later models
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $675.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Dense sound core, great projection
Cons: laquer/plating not the best

 
Great sounding horn, beautiful bright tone with real density of sound and incredibly easy projection in all registers. Intonation spot on. A brilliant trumpet for lead players, slots well in upper register and cuts through easily when required.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tone, projection and feel
Cons: none

 
Amazing horn, i use it for lead jazz, 1952 model, raw brass. It's the most amazing trumpet i've ever played.
It's a shame they no longer make them.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/15/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Great upper register
Cons: NONE

 
If I could only have two trumpets, I would choose my Olds Super and my Olds Recording. They are simply the best horns I have played out of numerous brands of pro trumpets over the past 40 years. I respect the Bach Strad, and other high end brands, but the vintage Olds are beyond compare. I have an early Olds Ambassador in raw brass that can play with all but the finest new trumpets.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $260.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Brassy and very open to F above Super C (from what I remember). Great Valves!
Cons: Having to seriously restore the finish after only 50 years.

 
I have just taken this out of storage where it was put away dirty thirty years ago when I started a career and family. I oiled the valves and greased the slides, then worked to make any sounds at all. I am going to start a new trumpeting career as soon as it is refinished. My lips feel like I just came from the dentist, but I forced myself through my three octave, classical, high school senior concert, featured soioist, recital piece before going totally numb. I was considering a Benge or Bach, but from what I've read and from what I remember when I played well, I'll keep this Super Olds. And! It is going to be very puurty in Silver and Gold.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 7/2/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Round tone, responsive, and FLawless valves
Cons: Hard to find in excellent condition

 
Recently bought a closet classic 1936 LA, USA made OLDS SUper trumpet, all original in polished raw brass and it shines like it were just a few years old. The valves are I swear like new and this horn plays beautifully. It was owned a very particular pro player and it was clearly kept in pristine condition!! Original case and this horn just captures the beautiful tone of old, but not an outdated tone. I play a Inderbinen custom and Taylor CHicago and this is everybit as built as well, with superior attention to detail and top top notch build quality. Of course this is a particularly rare one from the original plant and the level of craftsmanship there is just evident. The trumpet is just a beauty and a SERIOUS PLAYER! Maybe even my favorite trumpet! I just dont like to use it too much as it is such a beautiful collector, but I keep it in my rotation with the Inderbinen regularly, when I am I searching for vintage Mojo and a unmistakable tone!!! Worth anything under a couple grand in my opinion. Owned a Martin Committee and it was great. SOld that for close to 2.5 K and this trumpet in my opinion and for my taste is more exceptional than that exceptional trumpet. Just plays better and slots better to me.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/8/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great sound, well constructed, easy slotting
Cons: None

 
1953 Olds Super, reconditioned and plated in 24K gold. Horn plays fantastic. Sound is focused and penetrating. You can knock a wall down with it. Excellent for lead player. I won 3 Supers. All great!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tone, flexible, fast valves, easy to play
Cons: none

 
Of all the Olds horns I have owned I believe the Super may be the best. I always have so much control when I play it with a great tone. It is very flexible and is easy to play. I have five horns that I rotate using - the Super, a Mt. Vernon Bach, a Special, a Studio and a Burbank Benge> I use the Super far more often than any other horn. The valves are extremely fast. I always have so much confidence when I play the Super.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/6/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Unique sound
Cons: Can be a tight blow, hard to hold for big hands

 
Mine's approx 1967-8 vintage, and what a horn - an incredible intensity to the sound, which just smacks you in the head everytime you play it. A real trumpet sound, not dark at all, but not overly bright.

The short throw valves make light work of tricky passages, and the upper register can be reached with ease.

This is not a horn that I would take to an orchestra rehearsal, as it's not going to blend with "lesser" horns, but for lead work or small groups, it's a killer.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
J. Jericho
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: N/A
Posts: 12
Review Date: 3/5/2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice, full sound, great valves, easy to play
Cons: Intonation

 
I had a chance to compare my Fullerton Super with another of the same era, and my comments address both trumpets.

As with all vintage Olds instruments, quality is first-rate, and appearance is beautiful. The third valve slide is unlike any other I have encountered. It glides as if on air in its usable range. You'd expect it to fall out, yet there is a taper designed in that stops the slide from doing so at the end of its travel, and well before the end of the slide itself. Surprising. Subtle. Ingenious. Valves are what you'd expect in an Olds: perfect!

The sound. Nice and full. Goes from rich to flamethrower sizzling, depending upon volume. A bit brighter than I expected, and I'm not able to change the timbre at will as much as I can with other horns. As other owners have said, I don't expect the Super to blend well with Bach-oriented ensembles, but in a Swing or Jazz group, this trumpet is aptly named.

Intonation is mostly good, but some notes (not the same ones on each horn) are difficult-to-impossible for me to play in tune, even with alternate fingerings. With my horn, most notes are close to being in tune, with the few odd ones way off and a struggle to correct. With the other horn, most of the notes that were in tune were spot on, but some of the troublesome ones were so far off that I couldn't lip them into tune. I scratch my head in puzzlement over this aspect of a trumpet that is so playable in all other respects. I have encountered this before, and I suspect that, as with another horn I have owned, finding the right mouthpiece to match will resolve this issue.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.