Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

F. Schmidt Pro Strad MK37SLTD
Reviews Views
12 10545
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,385.67 8.5

 

Description:
With the conception of the F. Schmidt Pro Strad 37S Trumpet, the F. Schmidt artisans have worked to develop a NEW professional Artist Series of fine Instruments. The NEW F. Schmidt MK37SLTD Bb Trumpet is just the beginning.

The MK37SLTD is the next generation of German Strad Trumpets. This new professional instrument offers the discriminating musician a .459" medium large bore, 37 style style bell flair for maximum flexability, modified MK mouthpipe to allow a higher level of focused tone, two interchangeable main tuning slides (round and squared) to offer the musician variance in feel, tone and resistance, two interchangeable sets of gold-plated bottom caps (regular and weighted) to provide the abilty to darken the sound on occasion and deluxe engraved in a high-relief rose pattern for prestigue and enhanced beauty of the instrument. The F. Schmidt comes standard as silver-plated and is packaged with a F. Schmidt mouthpiece and deluxe professional case.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell Type: 2 Piece
Valves: 3, Monel
Keywords: F. Schmidt Pro Strad 37S Trumpet
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/6/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,390.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Bright, responsive, quiet and fast valves
Cons: The gold caps looks a little tacky

 
Excellent trumpet. I tried this out at the local brook mays music store, and i found it very responisive, lively, and very nice looking as well. I tried this one out after I tried out a Yamaha Xeno Pro trumpet, and this Schmidt annihalated it.

The Xeno was nowhere near as responsive, for i could play extremely quiet on the Schmidt with a very nice tone as opposed to the Yamaha, which was significantly (and undesirably) louder when playing quiet and had more of a dead sound. The tone of this instrument, unlike the Xeno, was more of a bright, lively sound, and not somewhat dead and dull. Loud volumes could be reached very easily without spreading, and it wasnt very easy to get tired quickly on this horn. It is very free blowing, and it is easy to keep it in tune. The notes came out immediately, and were unrestrained and full of great tone (Hah, maybe thats just the player, but it hasnt been this good on any other trumpet i tried).

The valves on the schmidt were much quieter and quicker than the Xeno, as well. the Xeno seemed to have some awful (but easy enough to get used to) grating type sound whenever valves were pressed (and this was seen on every Xeno i have played, which is somewhere around 5). This, on the other hand, had silent movement, and notes changed VERY quickly and smoothly. Minimal lubing was required, too, even though this was a brand new horn.

The extra slide is nice, in case something bad happens before a gig, and the extra valve caps are a nice plus. Overall, I would recommend this horn (beats out those yamahas and bachs i have tried out, and totally blows middle-priced horns to oblivion). Comes with a mouthpiece as well, which I havent taken the time to try out.

The gold caps and such do look slightly tacky, but its nothing you can't get used to. Same goes for the overly massive etching of the F. Schmidt and a flower on the side.

By the way, the price i paid is about $200 less of what the price they want is, because of a little haggling.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/6/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,390.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice sound
Cons: bell started tarnishing?!

 
Err.. couldnt edit my review. Still good, but the silver on the bell began to tarnish or something... wonderful. Only place it has been is in the case or in the air, so not quite sure why it did that and only on the bell... At least its not very visible if theres color in teh room. Other trumpets havent done this to me before in the same environments, so whatever.

Still sounds great though.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,599.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Sound
Cons:

 
OMG! I bought this trumpet Saturday and I love it!! I think it's a VERY good professional trumpet. Even though I like Bach Strads, I think this one is better. (Sorry to all the Strad lovers...lol). GREAT TRUMPET...BUY IT!
More serious note, I played a Conn Contenntial (can't spell...but I think that's right) and this trumpet is a lot easier to play. I've played on a Bach Strad and this trumpet killed it as well. The keys are very very quick and the sound can be projected really well without sounding brassy or spread the sound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,599.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tone quality fast vaulves
Cons: none

 
better then bach strads. much better sorry strad lovers. great allaround horn
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/31/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Cool gold trim, nice when playing loud, nice case
Cons: 2 piece bell hinders tone, sounds awful playing soft, not actually a "pro" horn

 
Nice trumpet for the intermediate player. Wouldn't recommend for the more serious players. Sounds awesome when playing loud, but not as awesome as the Bachs and the others. When playing soft in concert band, it sounds terrible, like foofy ringing through my ears. Doesn't slot so well.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: the gold trim, nice sound, beautiful art work with the rose on the bell
Cons: none

 
I am a student and i got this horn for $800 because i won a gift certificate for $500 and i paid $1000 with my own money, but all together it cost around $1500.. i think it is a great investment, i also tried out the Yamaha Xeno before this one, and i went straight for this horn after i played it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Good for intermediate...Looks good
Cons: Deteriorates over time

 
If you have the chance to drive up to elkart indiana and test the strads on the assembly line...DO IT....I have this horn and my lessons teacher makes me use his strad because its a much more focused sounds as well as more open..Some of the Schmidts notes are damn near impossible to tune and the horn does not slot well at all. I know not everyone can drive to elkart, but before you spend this amount of money realize this horn is good for mostly High School Students. Bach Strads are still much better quality horns
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/12/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great looks great sound and superb upper register
Cons: non

 
great great great
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Response, contruction, playability
Cons: brighter, thinner tone than comparable Bach

 
I've got 2 F Schmidts - one 37S and the MK37SLTD. Both are solidly made horns and play nicely for the money. The LTD feels a little more open and has a slightly fuller sound than the 37S and the slotting is not as tight as the 37S. For me these have a great upper register, but get a little airy and undefined below the staff, but still managable. The MK37SLTD is a nicer playing and sounding horn than the plain 37S. Overall, the MK37SLTD is a better playing horn than the plain 37S.

While both models of the Schmidts are good all-around horns, they are not as nice as the horn they are patterned after. Given the choice between a used Bach 180 37 and a MK37SLTD for the same price, I'd take the Bach. The Strad has more core to the sound with a better spectrum of overtones.

Aesthetically, I like the gold accents but think the rose engraving is tacky. Would be a sharp looking horn if they just engraved the name on the side of the bell without the rose, IMHO.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice
Cons: none

 
It is similar to the Bach Strad but plays softer
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/27/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Looks good plays good sounds good
Cons: none

 
I've had mine for two years and it has held up just like new. It still plays like new and is the best i've ever used. I would diffently recommend this horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/28/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: fast keys and the flower engraving on the side
Cons: a bit small for a "pro" horn

 
this horn is good for a high school student that wants to upgrade to a new horn, but if you're more of a serious player, stick to the stard or xeno
This user is offline
 

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.