Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  

» : 4183 - viewing 10 Per Page

Last Review Posted by unclewawa - posted: 2/5/2017 1:42pm [ Post a Review
4f3e0ed96949c.jpg

Views: 1538

Got a blemished new horn from the distributor. However, when it arrived, it was not as advertised. The "blemish" was actually a good sized chip in the finish that would only get bigger over time. The wooden 3rd valve trigger was not wood. The 18ct gold valve caps were not gold, they were silver. I know, I know - "What did you expect for $400?" Well, initially I was willing to forego the mis-representations, until I played it. Didn't like it. Sent it back. Interestingly enough, the Horn Trader sounded great playing this horn, but I did not.. I guess that one man's meat is another man's poison.....

Rating: 4
Product Details: "CFL-6200-GSS-BG" by admin - posted: 3/24/2012 - Rating: **** 4.00
Last Review Posted by trumpetofthelord - posted: 1/28/2017 5:20pm [ Post a Review
1lawler_LF1.jpg

Views: 8078

The Lawler Flugelhorn is amongst the world's elite flugelhorn, and is without a doubt the very finest flugelhorn in the upper ranges of the horn. This evaluator can not believe that anyone called a Lawler Flugelhorn "stuffy". The Lawler Flugelhorn with its larger bore size is anything but stuffy. If you are looking for a vintage Couesnon flugelhorn sound this is not the flugelhorn for you. For those who are lucky enough to have their hands on a Lawler flugelhornm I say keep it.

Rating: 10
Product Details: "LF1" by admin - posted: 1/31/2004 - Rating: ********* 8.50
Last Review Posted by BrassBandMajor - posted: 1/26/2017 8:50pm [ Post a Review
1mp_bach.jpg

Views: 24999

I bought this a trumpet in 2008 and an Early Elkhart 5C mouthpiece came along with it. Till now the Bach 5C has been a stunner. I use it on my main horns: B&S Challenger 3137 & the Ganter G7aSN Rotary Trumpet.
Product Details: "Mouthpiece" by admin - posted: 3/7/2004 - Rating: ******** 7.67
Last Review Posted by BrassBandMajor - posted: 1/26/2017 8:48pm [ Post a Review
1mp_bach.jpg

Views: 24999

I purchased a pocket trumpet in 2008 and there came along an Early Elkhart Plant 5C by Bach. Till now, the Bach 5C has been a true stunner. It is used on my Ganter Rotary Trumpet and B&S 3137 (Bach Clone). Amazing mouthpiece!

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Mouthpiece" by admin - posted: 3/7/2004 - Rating: ******** 7.67
Last Review Posted by trumpetjump - posted: 12/28/2016 10:31am [ Post a Review
1HNWhite_Super20.jpg

Views: 12124

Love this horn, seller-refurbished, from 1972. Wish I had bought this model, rather than my Bach Strad 37 in 1973. Slightly brighter, more penetrating tone; freer blow and better high register.

Rating: 8
Product Details: ""Super 20"" by admin - posted: 1/20/2005 - Rating: ********* 9.00
Last Review Posted by trumpetom - posted: 12/7/2016 7:44am [ Post a Review


Views: 7586

Great intonation, easy response even in the upper register Really big sound that can be pretty sharp but also very round and melodical You need to get used to the amount of air the trumpet needs, but it's worth it !!! One of my favourite trumpets and every day player

Rating: 9
Product Details: "1049 "Super 20 Symphony"" by admin - posted: 1/20/2005 - Rating: ********** 9.50
Last Review Posted by trumpetom - posted: 12/5/2016 5:20pm [ Post a Review
3olds_recording.jpg

Views: 32877

Incredible trumpet Perfect for BigBand especially lead playing Also really great sound for solo-parts Never had a trumpet that could get that loud without loosing it's characteristic sound One of my favourites

Rating: 10
Product Details: "Recording Bb" by MF_Fan - posted: 1/26/2004 - Rating: ********** 9.83
Last Review Posted by J. Jericho - posted: 12/1/2016 10:21pm [ Post a Review
3olds_special.jpg

Views: 14887

If you like multicolored horns, this one will grab your eye. I'm not sure how much the bronze plating on the bell flare affects the timbre, but it looks nice, and... well... Special. Build quality is quite good overall, although on mine the valve ports align accurately, but not precisely, with the ports in the casings. The valve action, as expected is excellent. Nicely balanced in the hand. The long rod adjustable 3rd valve slide stop is a nice touch. Easy to play, the sound is fairly clear and bright without many overtones. It can be played ppp thru fff without effort or distortion. Intonation is good. I'm not sure it would blend with a Classical ensemble without a suitably deep mouthpiece to tailor the sound. It would excel as a lead trumpet; it sparkles and sizzles in the upper register. All in all, the Olds Special is a competent instrument that I would not hesitate to play in Popular, Commercial, Jazz, and Swing ensembles. The minor shortcomings do not affect the overall quality and playability of this horn.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Special Bb" by MF_Fan - posted: 1/26/2004 - Rating: ********* 8.70
Last Review Posted by J. Jericho - posted: 10/29/2016 2:21am [ Post a Review
179217_TPxxJB.jpg

Views: 9587

Adequate sound and response. Since it's lighter than metal, the horn will feel front-heavy.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Screamer Mouthpiece" by buglerboy37 - posted: 11/23/2009 - Rating: ******** 7.50
Last Review Posted by J. Jericho - posted: 10/29/2016 2:11am [ Post a Review
1mp_kelley.jpg

Views: 9549

I bought a couple of 3C's and a Screamer, and they play/sound like metal mouthpieces. They are lightweight, so the trumpets I use them with get front-heavy in my hand. Excellent for really cold weather, they don't absorb the necessary amount of lip warmth in warm weather, causing a feeling of overheating. They might have some value in a situation where extreme heat from the Sun would make a metal mouthpiece burn one's lips, however.

Rating: 8
Product Details: "Mouthpieces" by admin - posted: 3/7/2004 - Rating: ******** 7.67
Next Page »

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.