Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Schilke B1
Reviews Views
19 40466
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,278.00 9.6

 

Description:
Key of Bb
Medium-large bore
Large bell
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Website: http://www.schilkemusic.com
Keywords: Schilke B1
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/1/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent bigband and jazz trumpet
Cons: too cutting for classical use

 
Excellent trumpet, amazing intonation from step bore design. Tight valves. Goes way up over top C - takes a lot of air to fill.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/14/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Extremely high quality of manufacture, valves & tuning
Cons: Valve felts

 
A wonderful horn; very well balanced and although it feels "lightweight", it also feels "solidly built" (probably the result of a good valve block). Great tuning on these horns; not difficult to play at all (compared with an X3 for example). The larger bell doesn't seem to be all that hard to fill or make project.

Mutes will need to be corked for the larger bell throat however. I wish that Schilke would do away with the top felts and use hard material for top valve caps: I find that reliance on felt (which can be quite variable in "density" or packing) to be a bit of a throwback as compared with Bauerfine or Kanstul valves. A horn of this quality should not have to rely on the felts "packing in" to playing condition.

Supremely high quality assembly, fit and finish... really exceptional. Great tuning. The B1 fits into sections of mixed horns very well but like previous reviewer I'm not sure that they'd work all that well in a "legit" situation; perhaps in light chamber work.

If you ever get a chance you owe it to yourself to at least give one of these a try.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/12/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,749.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Brilliant rich sound
Cons:

 
I tried several Bachs and Yamahas, along with other Schilke models and bought the B1 because of it's rich sound and broad projection. I couldn't find another trumpet that matched the B1's rich sound. And with a change of mouthpieces, it fits into any genre of music. I use it for big band jazz and in concert band.

It's a very open horn with little resistance, so you can control the amount of resistance that you want based on the mouthpiece you use. I like to use a smaller mpc, but I can move to a larger mpc if I want a fuller, more open tone. It depends what I want. The B1 gives you the flexibility to make those changes. It's very well constructed and has great factory support from Schilke if you have any questions or concerns about the horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality of manufacture, easy playing
Cons: Valve felts

 
It has a bright, clear sound that works with shallow and also deep mouthpieces.
Easy to play. The valves are way out of alignment because of the thick felts.
Overall quality of manufacture is excellent and constant.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,760.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The StepBore Blow is wonderful.
Cons: The felts on the valves

 
I have tried many professional trumpets. The B1 is the best overall horn I have ever used.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/29/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THE FIT AND FINISH ARE SECOND TO NONE
Cons: NONE

 
I GREW UP PLAYING BACH STRAD 37'S - FOR 33 YEARS - I HAVE A GOLD PLATED 37 FROM YEAR 94 AND A SILVER 37 FROM 77 - THIS IS MY FIRST SCHILKE -I PICKED THE B1 BECAUSE OF IT POPULARITY AND ARTURO PLAYED ONE EARLY ON - THE FIT AND FINISH IS SUPERB - THE FEEL IS UNIQUE - ITS SIMPLE DESIGN AND STYLING MAKES YOU PROUD AND WANTING TO SHOW THIS HORN OFF - THE STEP BORE IS DIFFERENT IN THAT IT FEELS TIGHT AROUND THE MIDDLE OF STAFF AND BELOW - GOOD FOR SOFT PASSAGES WHEN YOU NEED THE LOW NOTES TO SPEAK BUT THE HORN WILL OPEN UP ON THE TOP END IF YOU PUT MORE AIR - ON "A" ABOVE THE STAFF YOU WILL NOT HEAR THE PROMINENT RING FROM A STRAD SO I DO MISS THAT BUT YOU ARE REWARDED WITH A CORE SOUND THAT IS FRENCH SWEET ALA EARLY BESSON /LEBLANC SOUNDING - THE BACHS HAVE A DIFFERENT MORE SYMPHONIC SOUND TO THEIR OVERALL CORE - THEY SOUND PURER AND CHARLIER STUDIES WILL LEAVE YOU SCRATCHING YOUR HEAD AS TO WHICH ONE SOUNDS BETTER -THE SWEET SOUND OF THE SCHILKE OR THE OPEN PURE SYPHONIC SOUND OF THE BACH - ITS A MATTER OF TASTE - I LIKE BOTH - IN STRAIGHT AHEAD LEAD WORK MY BACH HAS A RL 25 PIPE AND OPENS UP IN THE UPPER RANGE BUT IM AM WORKING HARD - THE SCHILKE SEEMS TO REALLY COME INTO ITS OWN ABOVE HIGH "C" INTO THE DOUBLE "C" RANGE WITH A BRIGHT PURE SOUND THAT IS REALLY COOL AND NOT AS MUCH EFFORT AS THE BACH- RENOLD SCHILKE GOT IT RIGHT WITH THIS HORN AND ITS REALLY A GREAT OVERALL HORN FOR ANY TYPE OF SITUATION - I USE A BACK 1 1/2 C AS I DO NOT LIKE SCHLIKE MOUTHPIECES -I NEED THE BITE OF THE BACH RIM - IF I DO SOLO WORK I WOULD PROBABLY PULL THE BACH OUT FOR CLASSICAL - EVERYTHING ELSE ID PULL OUT THE B1 - ITS THAT VERSATILE - YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WHEN THEY AVERAGE 8 -10 HOURS IN MFG FOR A BACH AND 80 HOURS FOR THE SCHILKE - ITS REALLY OBVIOUS WHERE YOUR EXTRA MONEY WENT WHEN YOU COMPARE BOTH - OVERALL I STILL LOVE THE BACHS AND THE SCHILKE IS A WELCOME ADDITION THAT YOU CAN PLAY ANYWHERE -
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Ease of play and beautiful bright sound.
Cons: The valve felts

 
After playing Bach Strads for 35 years and going on a horn saffari to find a better pro horn, the B1 is the finest horn I have ever played. The step bore is something you have to feel to appreciate. The horn really responds to you. You can shake notes and bend them off easily. Dinamics are a breaze. It plays easily above high C. Many make the comment that the Bach sounds are more orchestral. Compared to what. Who made that determination. The only answer I can come up with is that the Chicago Symphony for so many years used Bach C trumpets as a section. Otherwise I am uncertain as to what Beethoven sound we are talking about. The Schilke horns, the B1 in particular, can fit in anywhere and are a dream to play.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation, Response, Flexibility
Cons: None

 
I'd previously played a Bach 180S37 and a Bach LR180S72. This Schilke has better sound, feel and response than either of those. Also, the quality of manufacture is evidently higher (so it the price though, but worth it!). The horn is the best trumpet I've ever played. Try one, you won't be disappointed.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Responsive - in handling and in dynamics
Cons: Slightly tightens above stave

 
This is a great horn for sure. Don't play it back to back with a Bach 37 as it'll do your head in! The Bach is a much fuller, more open sound - so for many this will be more appealing. The Schilke however, whilst having amazing projection and direction, has a less full sound with a bit more resistance. It plays very well on a microphone. It also responds to YOU, it can be darker as well as having a sweetness, and comes to life with brightness when you zing the air through it. I tried a reso-tempered Benge recently and that was a lot more open above top C than my Schilke. But hey, one mans paradise is another mans poison. Some people must hate the B1 I'm sure. Its intonation is great and the notes have a good centre. I just wish it was a bit fuller sounding...
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,795.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent craftmanship, even response
Cons:

 
I have wanted a Schilke for many years and after playing Bachs for most of my career and a Callet Jazz for the past dozen years, I purchased a gold-plated B1 two months ago from Pro Winds. While trying out several different Schilke models, I was impressed by how consistent each of the models were. Pro Winds had a good selection of about six different models. The B1 had just the right amount of resistance for me. Although I was able to decide on the B1 while at the store, I couldn't decide between two B1s, one was gold plated, the other silver. I purchased both knowing that one would be returned in a week. I spent hours comparing the two and because the gold horn had a slightly darker sound, I returned the silver. This horn looks beautiful and it plays the same way. The response and the timbre are even throughout my entire range. The valves and the slides are perfect. Trying and buying from Pro Winds was a pleasant experience. There was no limit to the number of horns I could have in the demo room.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,600.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great resonance and projection
Cons: the valve felts

 
It is great in the big band with lots of zing in the upper register and ovef high C is effortless. However in classical playing it is just as good. I play a schilke 20 mouthpiece for classical and it fits in fine to calssical playing be it in a orchestra or as a soloist. Have played on a back 37 for 10 years and this is a much more superior instrument.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,974.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: effortless, gorgeous tone
Cons: valve felts, 3rd slide stopper

 
I've used a Schilke 19 mouthpiece and a Monette 1 1C. Yes, even with a C mouth piece this trumpet comes alive.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 7/29/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: high register with ease 6a4a mouthpiece a match for lead playing
Cons: none

 
Fantastic horn for lead charts matched with a 6a4a mouthpiece
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Beautiful sound; superb craftsmanship
Cons: none

 
What a lovely horn! As has been suggested, the workmanship is first-rate; the intonation excellent; the responsiveness exceptional. I have found this a very easy horn to play, particularly in the upper register. Despite its solid craftsmanship, it feels very light in the hand and its clean lines make it appear smaller than it is. It's also a very comportable trumpet to hold and play. I've not had the problem with the valve felts that others have noted, but I can see how that might could change as the pads become compressed. The valves themselves are very smooth, perhaps even "buttery." I love this horn!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,980.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: effortless
Cons:

 
Great for range and power! The beast on the market
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 6/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Slotting, overall feel, sound
Cons: Valves

 
Was issued this horn while at the School Of Music at Little Creek NAB. AMAZING horn. For me and how I play, it is a great fit.

Regarding the sound this horn can produce: I could make my sound blend in our small ensemble just as easily as it did in Drill Band and Concert band. You can brighten and darken the horn well, though I admit it takes very little effort to make the sound brittle.

The valves were finicky and probably the worst part of the horn. Of course this is true with all new horns. I hated the felt. Lightweight buttons would also help: I have learned there is a big aftermarket niche for valve modifications.

As I mentioned earlier, this horn was an amazing fit for me and how I play. My high notes felt easier, and my low notes spoke with less effort. Attacks felt clearer, and intonation seemed less of an ordeal. My mouthpiece of choice for this horn was a Stork Vachianno 5C.

I am currently in the market seriously searching for a B1 as my primary horn. Therefore I definitely give this horn a thumbs-up.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/8/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very agile, flexible
Cons: Resistance throughout the range

 
Interestingly Ive now tested five pieces of B1. At the first glance I like them, after one day I realize, I fight with them a bid. Somehow I have the feeling the resistance at the high range dont suit me. At lower range it opens up easily, at higher I have to work more.
I now own a B7 and B5, also had a X3. These three models suit my embouchure better, they seem to have same resistance at whole range.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/20/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fit and finish, sound, ease of playing
Cons: None

 
This is a fantastic horn. It has a great look and the workmanship is second to none. It is very free blowing in all ranges. it slots very well, and is very responsive at all dynamic levels with out getting edgy or airy. This is my favorite horn to play on.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 3/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Response, sound, projection, ease of playing
Cons:

 
This is a 1976 Schilke B1L. I bought it with both the large brass, and beryillium bells. The horn responds very well, and has a very consistant blow. Although it is almost the same bore size, it plays so much more open, yet responds great with very soft playing. Neither of the bells give quite as dark a sound as my Bach horns have given(180-37 ML), so I still play orchestra situations with my Bach.
As a player of Bach horns all of my life,(36 years), I am really enjoying this horn just so much!! I play a lot of jazz big band, and can honestly say that this instrument has improved my jazz playing. I don't have to work as hard to project, and find that I work less hard to play overall. The register is consistantly easier, and the bottom register plays big. As a soloist, I find the valves very good, and the horn great to get around. Give one of these a try before you cionsider buying anything else.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.