Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Schilke S32
Reviews Views
11 18427
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,961.00 8.7

 

Description:
Key of Bb. Heavier feel, medium-large bore, medium-large bell.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.460
Website: http://www.schilkemusic.com
Keywords: Schilke S32
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 2/1/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,899.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast valve action, excellent build quality, great sound
Cons: Not purpose built for nitch playing (lead, concert)

 
Bore: .460
Bell: #2 taper, yellow brass
Tuning slide:.460
Valves: .460
Overall bore: ML

This is the Schilke to use for all around playing. It sounds great in the concert band and for stage jazz band as well. It has a very good balance between enough resistance for range and endurance, and free blowing enough for the creation of a lot of core volume.

The S32 has a heaver feel than my X6. I found that you have to get use to the resistance of a smaller bore trumpet after playing a larger bore horn. In this case going from a .468 to a .460. The X6 blows free throughout the range of the instrument. The S32 experience in comparison is increased resistance as you go up in register. This is bothersome for about 15 minutes, and then you quickly find the blow needed to make the S32 sound just as great as an X6. Then you notice after 2 hrs of playing, the extended endurance kicks in.

The monel valves have excellent reverse polar moments of inertia with very little bounce on the upstroke. (I experience more bounce when the Schilke felt pads are replace with cork.) The valves are .5 cm closer together than my German custom trumpet, reducing finger spread across the valves, which for me means faster valve action.

The workmanship does not get any better than a Schilke. The S32 is the Schilke to have if you do a lot of varied playing and do not want to buy separate horns for each specific use.

This was my experience. Hope it helps those interested in Schilke Bb's.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/3/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
I just moved from playing a King silevr flair (one of the "real" ones made back in the early 70's) to a Schikle S32. No comparison! The Schilke S32 is a better instrument in every way. I played the flair for years because it was so easy to play the upper register... one of the best I found for that. I had tried Schilke B sereis horns and never really like the sound or the resistence but the S32 solves those problems. The intonation is dramatically better. The resistence in the upper register is just right in my opinion. The focused sound, ease of response and great upper register make the horn outstanding. Also the horn does everthing more efficentely. I don't do symphony playing but I tink this horn would work fine for that. The sound seems to be on the bright side but thats probably because I use a shallow mouthpiece. It may be that the horn has such great response and projection it just seems on the bright side. There's also one other point that I've heard at least one other player of the S32 confirm (if not for Schuilke horns in general), is that these horns don't work well like most others when you try to flat out "wail" on them. They just don't seem to respond to that type of blow. But it's not needed anyway because they have such marvelous projection, which saves your chops to boot.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/26/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,680.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fantastic sound, great response, just the right amount of resistance, extremely versatile
Cons: slight pitch problem with top line F, very directional sound

 
I bought this horn new in gold plate after flying to New York to try out several Schilke horns. I previously owned an S42, X3 and played a B6 for several months prior to buying the S32. I liked the B6 so much that I felt like I could buy one sight unseen and play it for the rest of my life. But, when I got the chance to play so many Schilke models side by side, the S series stood out. A friend of mine, who is a good trombone player and is very familiar with my sound, listened to me play several models blindly. It was immediately apparent to both of us that the S series sounded very different from the B6. They had a thicker, more dense sound whereas the B6 had a brighter, much less defined core to the sound. Honestly, despite all the criticism for lack of detail, Schilke's own descriptions of their horns are dead on. The S series has a thicker, more "Bach-like" sound, and responds a little differently. They also slot much better in the upper register, as advertised. I'm admittedly a commercial player, and primarily play lead trumpet and jazz, but am competent playing classical as well. I was looking for a horn to replace my French Besson .462" that responded better for playing jazz and required less effort in the upper register. I played a 6310Z for several months, but it was a little too tight and the sound wasn't resonant enough. Then I played the B6 for a few months, which was an immediate improvement for me. I know that lead players generally prefer the S42 and B6, and I liked them both myself. However, I play an extremely small mouthpiece with a #27 throat and a medium backbore, and I also move a fair amount of air, so the combination of small bore sizes at every step of the way wasn't going to anything good for my body in the long term. Stepping up to the S32 solved this, with very little sacrifice in efficiency. This horn does NOT play like a .460", yet it's never stuffy. However, it also won't tolerate "bruting" notes out in the upper register by moving a ton of air like my Besson and other large horns do. But the reward is greatly increased efficiency. I did have some pretty significant problems at first playing lead on this horn. I could play high, but was struggling playing lead. I had no idea what was going on. I finally explored mouthpiece gap, and with a slight increase, my problems were solved. The build quality was superb, and I understand this horn was made after the ownership change, so that clearly is not an issue. The valves and slides are second to none. My only complaint is that the top line F is extremely sharp for some reason. Other first valve partials are not. I've never run into this before, but I'm hoping it's just a valve alignment issue while my felts are still breaking in. I did swap out the nylon valve guides with brass ones at the suggestion of a good trumpet player in New York, and was happy with the subtle, but noticeable increase in response and additional core to the sound. No effect on intonation. The down side is that the valves are a little noisier with metal touching metal, but it's worth it in my opinion. I also switch to a larger mouthpiece when playing jazz, and can get a wonderful, warm sound on this horn. This versatility was a major factor in deciding on the S32. Also, although the response of the S32 is superb, and better than any other non-Schilke trumpet Iíve played, it IS less than the both the B6 and S42. The lightning response of the M bore on those horns was hard to give up, but a necessary compromise for me to get in a horn that can do everything. However, the order of resistance from most to least is S42, B6, S32. Finally, these horns are very direction in nature. I have a hard time hearing myself in loud settings playing R&B and salsa and have to use a shield on my mic.
You do have to adjust to this, or you'll blow your chops out and not realize you're playing FFFFFF just trying to hear yourself. In contrast, I could play the Besson in the midst of anything and hear myself fine. If youíre looking for a great horn that is not insanely priced, I donít think you can go wrong with any Schilke model. There is just something about the feel of a Schilke in your hand. And if you spring for the gold plating, itís like a big piece of jewelry that youíll enjoy each time it comes out of the case.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/27/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,460.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: verstility, endurance, sound, quality
Cons: pitch/scale is different

 
After a lifetime playing large bore horns; most recently Schilke X3 and S22 I am doing al lot of lead work and as I hit 60 was looking for more endurance....The S32 fit the bill. The Schilke site says the S series has the same bells...NOT. When I got my S32 my cup mute had an extra 1/4 to 1/2 inch protruding so this horn is tighter. This horn gave me the added endurance for the those four page lead charts and end of the night blows and still a decent tone for ballads. This horn is MUCH brighter than the S22....more than just a step. The only drawback is the different scale. The fifth line F/F#/G are very sharp. I use the first valve throw for all exposed F's. When I play with an organ the bottom line E is noticably sharp so I play it third valve as I do the A above the staff. I think the first valve slide is short to bring the fourth line D in. This can be a problem when playing with a bunch of Bach's. I play 1.5 B Stork mouthpiece for legit and a 1.5D with a tight backbore for lead....Overall, this horn brightened the sound substantialy over the S22 and increased my endurance.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Light weight, solid feel of the valves, responce.
Cons:

 
I bought my S-32 used but, in mint condition. It is a 1985 model. It has a wonderful, bright tone with a nice core that blends well in a section. It feeld very good in my hands and well balanced. The valves have a very solid feel to them . I think they are some of the best in the industry! This horn slots about average. It can get a little loose on you if you tend to over-blow. You have to back off and let these horns do thier thing. I have owed a B-1,B-5, B5L, X-3,and this is my second S-32. I think the S series are the best all-around horns in the Schilke line-up and the 32 is my favorite.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent tone
Cons: None

 
It is without a doubt the best thing that i have ever bought. FANTASTIC!!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Better Valves, Flexibility and higher range. Brighter and Clearer sound.
Cons: Slightly on the heavy side

 
The S32 has brought me from a struggling high note player to playing the high E,F & G's with relative ease. Fantastic tone quality. More versatile than anything else I've played.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/13/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Sound, response, valves
Cons: Pitch is not perfect, but pretty close

 
I've owned quite a few horns over the past few years (several Yamaha's, Bach 37, Schilkes, vintage Benges, etc...) and the S32 combines everything I liked about those horns into one fantastic instrument! The sound is centered, full and rich, and still classic Schilke beautiful. The response is immediate and the blow is even from top to bottom. Like the above post says, the upper register is nothing that needs fighting. I was playing with a student last night who was struggling with the high C on his student model Yamaha. I asked him to try it on my S32 and once he realized how easy it was his face just lit up! All of a sudden he was playing D's and E's - notes that he never played before!

The pitch on my S32 is not perfect, the 4th partial D, Eb, E are a little flat and the top line F is a hair sharp, but nothing that can't be worked with. Overall I am totally psyched about this horn and believe my horn shopping days to be over - well, for Bb's anyway ;)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/24/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $5,099.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: Bad sound and response

 
A vary supervalutated trumpet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I can play higher
Cons: None (anything is better than a jupiter)

 
I like it =) And so does everyone thats played it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/23/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great tuning,and slotting. Bright, and great projection. Solid construction.
Cons: Not as flexible as the X4L in the high register.

 
Great trumpet. A great all-rounder. From classical music to lead trumpet and jazz solo.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.