Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Schilke E3L Eb/D Trumpet
Reviews Views
8 14506
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,193.75 8.9

 

Description:
The model "E3L" custom-built in "E" and "D" is our most popular "Eb/D trumpet. This instrument comes standard with both additional bell and slides in the key of "D".
Search Lowest Price:



Website: http://www.schilke.com
Keywords: Schilke E3L Eb/D Trumpet
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 3/18/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,500.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Intonation on Both Sides of the Horn, Schilke Valves, Tuning Bell
Cons: the need for a case to carry around all of the parts of this horn

 
The E3L is a legend for good reason. It is without a doubt the finest dual key instrument ever made. Mine plays well in Eb and D, and is useful as an orchestral horn, a solo horn, or a chamber group horn. It is versatile, and it can be used for many different things well. With the smaller, standard Eb bell, the horn doesn't project real well over a large orchestra. If I regularly played Bartok Concerto for Orchestra, I might buy a the larger "Herseth" bell for the orchestral playing. But, luckily for me, most of the Eb playing I do is not with a huge orchestra. On the D bell and slides, I recently performed Copland's Music for the Theatre. I have used it in the past on Sibelius' Second Symphony, and many other works. The D side is so strong, however, that is might not work as well as a baroque trumpet on the higher parts, but would make a good principale trumpet on that kind of work. The D also makes a great solo horn, as I have used it on several solos for D trumpet in the modern repertoire with great success.

You will need to get the Schilke or Yamaha double for this horn to have a safe place to store your horn and the associated slides and bell for the other key that you are not using. It also is not a "quick change instrument", as it may take several minutes to change the bell and slides out and do it without damaging the horn.

All in all, the reputation of this horn is well deserved. For less than $2700, this horn is about as useful and versatile an instrument as you can get.

* I got the horn on a closeout for a very good price, then added the slides and D bell at a discount as well. My price is about $1200 below the price today.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Intonation great in both Eb and D
Cons: Slow to change from one to the other. With no braces, the bells are fragile.

 
I purchased mine used. It is a 30 year old horn but in perfect condition.


I am using both the Eb and D side in an orchestral setting. Lots of baroque stuff in D and some in Eb.

This is my first Schilke and it is the easiest blowing horn I have. If the is typical of Schilke horns, I am going to check out others.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/15/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: notes slot well, great upper register
Cons: none

 
I cannot imagine anyone having any complaints about this horn. The horn blows very freely, and is amazing in the upper register. Most importantly, its fun to play.

I would caution people away from thinking the D side can be used in place of an A piccolo in baroque music. The D bell is significantly larger than the E flat bell, making it louder in D.

I've only had one problem: I can't find a stand for it! I'm sure one is out there, but I haven't found it yet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free blowing, even throughout
Cons: Little brittle

 
For the price I can't complain. a proper mouthpiece should solve the "brittle" thing, but again, for the price I feel like the luckiest man "EVER"! end of story.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 1/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nice sound and intonation
Cons:

 
Nice horn for solo work or playing the Principale parts (3rd. trumpet) on Bach's Oratorios (in D).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/10/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,500.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: finish, valves
Cons: intonation, projection

 
In my opinion this trumpet is highly over rated. I mean, yeah its a Schilke and they have the best piccolo trumpet and Eb/d trumpets on the market. Not in my book. The intonation on this horn is alright but could be better. Also the projection on this horn doesn't even match that of say a Kanstul or even a Stomvi. Those two makes blow this horn out of the water. If you were looking for a good Eb trumpet I'd look more towards the Kanstul or Stomvi line of horns.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,650.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good
Cons: if you want a bigger sound but E3L4

 
Great Horn and great intonation both in d and Eflat
I bought it from Bertram Music Germany
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,600.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Fantastic sound and well made.
Cons: Some resistance in sound. Tough to play the pedal C.

 
The sound of this horn is very nice when goldplated.
Sound on the D is very good. Fairly large sound. Used it for Oratorios.
There is some resistance on my horn.

The proper trumpet stand for the Schilke E3L would be the "Spyder" Six legged stands!!! Because the bell is much narrower than a Bach Bell.

Lately my valves are starting to stick a bit. I will have them properly fixed by a brass technician. Valve alignment is necessary because the felts are starting to poof upwards. Synthetic sponges are the way to go.

If I had to choose another horn I would consider the new Artisan Series Eb or Eb/D configuration or the Kanstuhl Eb/D or the Blackburn Eb/D trumpet. Goldplated of course.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.