Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1selmer_conceptTT.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Selmer Paris Concept TT
Reviews Views
22 20098
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $1,961.50 9.4

 

Description:
Power and finesse. The "Concept TT" is an artistic offer that supplements the "Chorus" models, enriching the Selmer Paris B-flat trumpet line. A design based on the "TT" ("Twin Tube", double tube mouthpipe) technology gives it exceptional acoustic qualities: a direct, centred sound, which is very open harmonically, excellent response and a wide dynamic range. All these elements contribute to remarkable flexibility and make it suitable for musicians playing in orchestras and larger or smaller groups (soloist or section). The quality of these functional elements (slide adjustment, valve functioning, grip) and the care taken in making the "Concept TT" result in a top-level trumpet.

Key: B-flat.
Bore Ø: 11.75 mm.
Bell Ø: 129 mm.
Mouthpipe: “TT” (Twin Tube) technology.
Reversed tuning slide.
Monel metal valves.
Bottom valve caps: standard or heavy (both sets are supplied).
3rd slide tuning ring.
Weight: 1.260 kg.
Finish: gold lacquered, silver-plated, matte brushed, matte gold lacquered; optional: black lacquered, gold-plated.
Selmer Paris mouthpieces.
Case : "Light Series

Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.463
Bell (inch): 5.079
Website: http://www.selmer.fr
Keywords: Selmer Paris Concept TT
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Incredible resonance and responsiveness.
Cons: This is a large bore horn with low resistance, so the appropriate mouthpiece must be selected.

 
Ok, I'm falling in love with this trumpet. I brought it home from the DFW Trumpetfest for an extended test. It's a .463" bore into a 5" bell.

The TT refers to a "twin-tube" leadpipe. There's an outer tube to the leadpipe that's about the diameter of the mouthpiece receiver, with an inner, non-removable tube that's like a "normal" leadpipe. This goes into a reverse lead main tuning slide, with reverse cuts on the 1st and 3d slides.

The spit valves on the main and third slides are "conventional style" with green felt pads on the backsides. The 1st and 3d slides have little metal caskets where you see rubber pads on some horns. Theres a saddle on the 1st slide and a ring on three, with a retaining screw.

The TT comes with two sets of bottom caps. I've got the "normal" caps on 1 & 2 and a heavy on 3 right now. The finish on this one is that gold lacquer, like on the Yamaha Z horns. It looks like gold plate, except there's a nickel colored section on the top of the main tuning slide.

The case is like a Pro-Tec single with an insert that matches the horn's contours. It's an attractive medium-gray with black trim, with back straps and a shoulder strap and, of course, two rubberized handles. It's light and fairly compact, with room for two or three mutes, but only one mouthpiece hole.

The valves are slick as can be. Right now, no break-in required. I love the feel.

Compared to my 6310Z this horn is very free blowing. Instead of my GR66MS, I've pulled out the 66S and I'm finding the tighter backbore helps me get the resistance that I need. (Sorry Mark, the S may not be for sale after all).

I love the feedback of this horn. The bell gives off super rich overtones that come back to the player. My Z sounds dead in comparison, as does almost everything else that I played today. (BTW, Zs are NOT dead horns; this thing is just rich with overtones).

My love for the tone was confirmed when I heard Rodney Booth play it in the Trumpetfest comparison. Two others and myself picked it as our favorite sounding Bb horn from out in the audience in a large, lively room. (More about that comparison will be posted in a separate thread).

Here's a picture:
http://www.selmer.fr/html/english/cu...cui22/hd22.htm

Besides sounding good, my upper range has really solidified with this horn. I was running into a wall at A above high-C. I stormed past that earlier tonight and hit a great double C. My G has really solidified. Part of what's happening is that the 66S, which felt too tight with my Z is just right with the horn. Instead of the little conical leadpipe of the Z, this is a much more open .463".

The bell really gives super resonant feedback to the player and also sounds great out in a room. I've got a rehearsal on Monday night, where Ill see how it sounds though the mic and monitor.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/24/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $2,050.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Sounds, response and very free blowing
Cons: Pricey

 
My trumpet safari back in June. I was looking for a horn that would cut it in all the settings I play. I auditioned several fine horns, including the Bach Stradavarius, Zues Gaurnieus, Taylor Standard, Taylor Custom, Selmer-Paris Chorus, Kanstul Wayne Bergeron, Yamaha Xeno, Courtous Evolution, Kanstul 1500a and finally the horn I've settled on, the Selmer-Paris Concept TT.

The Concept TT features a patented TwinTube lead pipe, reverse tuning slide and large .463 bore. It is as free blowing a horn as youll ever find. The sound? SWEET! I can play dark and brooding or I can be bright and searing. Step on the gas and this baby screams. And the valves? They are so fast, I have to get out of the way of their return!

Too Free Blowing
The TT's large bore size makes it just too free blowing to use with a standard sized back bore. In order for me to make this large bore monster live up to its potential required I take a special trip to Best Music Company in Oakland. Best Music is home of the largest high-end trumpet inventories on the West Coast. After several hours of different Warburton tops and back bores, I decided to go with the Warburton 4MD (medium deep nice!), mated to a Warburton special BKT back bore. This tight back bore gives me the resistance that allows me to "do all that I do."

The set up works well enough that the horn responds to my every thought, whim and desire. It makes my every musical though a reality. I now have to keep on thinking big thoughts!

This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/17/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: tone, tone, tone, tone
Cons: possibly inconistent in quality?

 
It's a beaut. I had tried a lot of horns, and was settled on a Yamaha 8310Z. In fact, I had just left a music store certain that I was purchasing it that week, as soon as my tax refund came in. And about two blocks away, I remembered I'd forgotten to pick up a book I needed, so I stopped by another smaller store that was on my way.
There, hanging on the wall, was the most unusual (but beautiful) trumpet I've ever seen. It was a gold matte finish with brush silver trim in places. Since it caught my eye, I figured I might as well try it.
The first sound that came spilling out of the bell, effortlessly, was gorgeous. I proceeded to put it through its paces, and over the next 45 minutes found that slotting was superb, intonation was excellent, and valves were not a problem. I could get a warm, rich sound, or blare out a pretty piercing tone when I wanted to.
So, I thought I'd sleep on this development. The next day, I went to yet another store and tried their TT. HUGE difference! This horn was nowhere near as good, and I thought I'd made a mistake, maybe fooled by one of those "good days" we have from time to time. So, I went back to the first store again.
It wasn't my imagination! The sound was once again absolutely beautiful. Now, I'm in love with that tone. I can honestly say the horn has improved my playing by a good 20%, and I've gotten TONS of compliments on my sound, from players in a jazz quintet I'm in, to a big band I play in, to a rock band I'm in. It's perfect for solo or symphony/concert band work as well.
Every single day, I look forward to the warm, rich tone that comes rolling out of that bell.
My only advice? Try a few. My experience was that production might be slightly inconsistent.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/14/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: incredibly easy to play
Cons: pricey

 
I am currently holding onto one of these on approval. It is incredible, I can't see how I could return it.

Backstory is that I haven't bought a new trumpet in over 20 years. I have just never run into a trumpet that I felt helped my playing more than the standard-issue Bach Strad 37 I got way back in school. (I have a Bel Canto cornet that I adore, but that's another story, and the Bel Canto trumpets never wowed me.) Part of that is just me -- I'm a small-group jazz musician but no longer professional, so I'm not going to get on a plane to have a custom horn made, and I'm more interested in my concept than my raw tone.

Anyhow, I'm trying to get back into playing more seriously. So I wandered into A&G Music and Best Music (both in Oakland, CA) last week and decided to try some horns; figured maybe the world had changed. Tried a whole bunch, but none of them made me feel happier than the Bach. Compared to the Bel Canto cornet, everything is hard work.

But then I tried the Concept TT, and it knocked me out completely. I'm no longer in super shape, but this horn was totally forgiving, with a gorgeous dark tone when needed, an easy-to-reach high register with plenty of power, and incredibly clean slotting even with the mediocre state of my chops. Compared to any trumpet I've ever played, it's noticeably easier to play, and noticeably richer and more resonant. Compared to my cornet, it finally makes me want to switch back to trumpet -- wider range of expression, more brilliance when needed, but with that dark warm sound available too.

The price is steep -- seems like double what a manufactured trumpet should cost. But it's definitely a quantum leap above the kinds of horns I've had access to up to now. I'm in love.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/22/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: big gorgeous sound, free blowing
Cons: pricey

 
OK, after holding a new one on approval for a few days (see post on 11/14/06), I tracked down a used Concept TT in great condition nearby, and now it's mine. Am having a ton of fun with it.

I took it to Dick Akright (of Bel Canto fame) for a look. He thinks the Concept TT is a great horn. He did say that I should hold on to my old Bach Strad 37, though -- in his experience, a lot of folks who buy large-bore horns end up wanting to have something smaller available as well. Interesting.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Focused Beautiful sound
Cons: Endurance requires shallower cup

 
Excelllent horn, excellent sound
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fabulous response all registers
Cons: not everybody knows it yet

 
why havent I heard of this fantastic instrument before now. It's like nothing else. What a sound. Play 4 notes and it's off your face and you're staring at it, looking for something that will give you a clue as to why the hair is standing up on the back of your neck. John Packers of Taunton, UK have a queue of players waiting for the instruments to come in because they don't stay in the shop more than a couple of days!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy blowing, versatile sound, great valves
Cons: Pricey, new.

 
I'd been fighting the intonation and stuffiness of my first pro horn, a silver plated LA Benge 5x, for way too long and finally decided to see what else there was out there. I replaced it for six months with a lacquered Maxx II, but found it too dark for my needs - orchestra, brass ensemble and some big band work. So, I started studying and shopping again.

A used gold-plated Selmer Concept TT was put up for sale by a player who was under contract to endorse another manufacturer... he really didn't want to get rid of the horn but, obviously, couldn't play it anymore. At $900, I almost stole it!

His loss is my gain. The Concept TT is the best horn I've owned. Intonation is great, valves are fast (and now aligned by Bob Reeves) and the horn projects very well. It's sound is bright, not as bright as the 5x, but can also be dark... but not smoky. Plus, it is as free blowing as my Kanstul Chicago flugelhorn. The upper register is much easier than the Benge and not thin in the least.

This horn is a player and a keeper. If it ever gets away from me, I would consider a brand new one at $3,000+ (if I couldn't steal another used one!).
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/31/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,379.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great sound, projection,craftsmanship,valves
Cons: none

 
This is an amazing trumpet!! I've been playing a Bach 37 for the last 13 years and was never fully happy with it. The Selmer TT sounds awesome playing classical and jazz and with a mouthpiece adjustment can roar too, yet still keeps on sounding great. The matte finish looks and feels great in my hands. What more can I say but go out and buy one.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Charisma
Cons: Harder to slot but it bends !

 
have a TT and a Custom LB Strad. They are both fabulous horns but the strad suits me at the moment because I need my horn to help me by slotting. This makes it less flexible and 'bendy' in those emotive jazz solos. The TT has great charisma, flexibility and I love to play it, but you should buy a TT when you have worn out your strad because then you will be able to get the best froom the TT.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/18/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: big rich sounding instrument
Cons: more excess water out of the bell than usual trumpets

 
wow this is a ripper of a trumpet.before the Selmer pairs concept tt i played a kanstul chicago,kanstul k 700. the Selmer is just the best trumpet i have ever played it surpasses many different trumpets such as yamaha,schilke,bach,sternsberg,holton and personally i liked the selmer better than the monnette.I am a trumpet soloist from australia i am currenty playing for the New south wales jazz Assosiation and this trumpet has pulled me through with this trumpet i have been able to play triple high c clearly and consistantly.the dynamic range with this trumpet is astronomical.if you play jazz get rid of the trumpet your playing now and buy a TT it is certinly worth it.Infact your improving you trumpeting by just buying the trumpet.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/21/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Open Leadpipe (can take all of the air you can give it), overall great design and features!
Cons: A bit pricey, especially new

 
I am an active duty Marine musician and have been playing trumpet over 20 years. We are constantly buying new horns for our field bands, and the new rave has been the Xeno's and I am not a huge fan. I think if you are going to make an investment into a new horn then go for something that is going to keep up with you. I have played a Bach Strad 37, and a Mt. Vernon Bach Strad 42 for 15 years and have had great success with them but had to do several modifications along the way in order to keep the horns from giving me too much back pressure and tightness throughout the horns. Every Concept TT I have ever tried or borrowed from friends made my decision to buy this horn a no brainer. Just like any new horn it will take a while to get a true sense of ownership of the whole range of the horn, but as far as tone goes the horn just sings beautifully with almost no effort at all. I am in absolute love with this horn already, I can already tell that with this horn taking all of my air I won't have to worry about back pressure and that will help with relaxation and endurace. It is great for jazz or classical idioms, it is always fun to be able to use the same horn and setup in any setting and blow away all of those guys out there who have a different this and that for every situation. Mind of metal baby! But this piece of metal is sure damn nice! Good luck out there and keep blowin'!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 9/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: tone
Cons: flimsy horn!

 
As a professionnal french trumpet player, I had the opportunity to be endorsed by Selmer and get one of these TT in brushed gold. I have been blowin' into this one during two years, essentially in jazz context.
First, this is a very flimsy horn. Despite that I use it very carefuly, I had several ding problems because of the mutes or whatever during a normal using.
Of course, this is a pretty horn, especially in brushed gold, and it has a really dark & smooth sound...maybe too dark for me, as i am also a flugel player and use very deep cups for my mouthpieces.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/1/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: tone, power
Cons: Didnt like gold laquer

 
All technical things are said. Hear my experience with and without the Selmer TT:

I had this horn, I had to sell it for financial reason, I didnt like the gold laquer finish. So I thougt a cheaper Yamaha Xeno in matt laquer would do the job and in the same time be more pleasant.

But it didnt. I feel like limited. My security of tone and intonation are decreased. No question the Xeno is a good horn. But I regret to have given away the Selmer TT. I regret intensely. This was my horn, the Xeno is not.

I will go back to the TT as soon as possible.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/3/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: big fat sound
Cons: takes a lot of air

 
I bought this horn after playing a bach strad for about 10 years. I wanted a darker fatter horn for jazz, but i found that this horn really kicks butt at classical too. The sound is extremely focused and centered, and the center of each note is dead on intonation wise. One thing I do find a little difficult is bending notes on it. I dont think the horn is bad at that, its just that I am not as used to it as my bach. You need to give this horn a very staedy, relaxed flow of air, or it won't sound very good. Keep that air flowing and wow!! what a sweet tone. It projects liek crazy too. My bach from a distance and on recordings always sounded nasaly and thin. This horn is what you hear in your head. Round fat and powerful. Don't be afraid of giving this horn the air, and it will give you a killer sound. The valves are smooth as glass too.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/31/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: dark sound, valves
Cons: laquer quallity

 
I like that horn
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This trumpet has by far the greatest tone of all
Cons: Fragile

 
I've played all the top level trimpet, but this is the summum.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/27/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound, sound, sound.
Cons: Fragile bell

 
This the best sunding trumpet I've ever played.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/26/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves Superb. Tone Superb. Suitable for Classical to Jazz.
Cons: A little too freeblowing.

 
I picked this trumpet over Taylors, Monettes, Bach STrads, Van Cleaves and pretty much every horn in the market. Bravo Selmer.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 8/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wonderful sound, good quality valves and slides.
Cons: A lot more expensive in silver

 
This is a fantastic new trumpet from Selmer. Got it only a few days ago and can already tell the difference. The sound is very versatile, it can be dark and rich or bright. Suitable for Jazz, classical and almost any type of playing it is a great trumpet. Many people told me to get a Bach, if it is the same for you make sure you try this first. Great fast valves and slides and a much more open sound than the Bach. It can also play a huge dynamic range. Brilliant trumpet!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 10/11/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tone, smooth valve action, musicality, big sound
Cons: Over loose 1st & 3rd slides

 
I'm really happy with my Selmer Concept TT Bb trumpet. It's a real pleasure to play and instantly took me up a level. One problem though; The 3rd slide stop has broken off for the second time, which means the slide keeps dropping off and denting the bell. It was replaced under guarantee when it happened just after purchase but a year on and it's happened again. I know that Selmer upgraded the design last year but it's still not prevented it breaking off again. Has anyone else had this problem?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Isaias Jimenez
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 25
Review Date: 12/30/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Big sound, very clean!
Cons: sound is a bit dark, not for loud bands

 
Great built quality, amazing valves. perfect for an concert hall.
Not a good choice for salsa or loud bands. the sound is fat and very easy to play intune.
sad thing is selmer discontinued this model. so it will only be harder and harder to find this model.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.