Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Selmer Radial
Reviews Views
15 15330
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $653.08 9.5

 

Description:
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.464
Website: http://www.selmer.fr
Keywords: Selmer Radial
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/24/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $425.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valve design fits natural contour of hand. Beautiful tone and sound.
Cons: Very heavy and no slide catch on 3rd valve slide.

 
This is a beautiful horn that we purchased for a very low price. It has a beautiful sound and is fun to play. It will serve anyone very well.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/11/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $995.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent valves and intonation
Cons: No third valve stop

 
Great tone, provides great dynamics, nicely built. The tone is in the middle of dark and bright. Nice balance. Amazing valve action much better than Yamaha or Bachs
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/21/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fastest Valves in the Business, Great full sound
Cons: a little heavy and finish wear

 
I just got one of these on ebay and while it needs work to be fully functional the sound that this horn produces is pure gold.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/22/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: What a tone!!! This is the top!
Cons: No third valve stop.

 
One of those horns with a soft and dark tone when played gentle which turns into dynamic lightning when pushed. I feel like I am playing two trumpets at the same time.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/7/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $367.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: superb valve action, nice round sound
Cons: None

 
Bought mine new in 1970 for $367. Silver plate. Valve action is still better than the new super horns selling for $5K. Let my friend who has the top of the line Yamaha Xeno that had a lot of expensive valve aligning/balancing work try it. The Radial blew it away. Plays nice and soft or on the ragged edge of brilliant if you want to really push it. Slots high notes easily and you will never outrun it as far as valve action. If you can still find one in excellent condition with very good valves, buy it. Orchestral or Jazz this horn does it all. This horn is a sleeper as many folks don't know about it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/10/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great tone and balance
Cons:

 
I am keeping this horn and sold my bach strad after many serious comparisons. Radial wins in many ways and Bach only wins with its name value.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/18/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This horn has the most revolutionary valve design of any trumpet, sweet bright tone (but not as bright as a K Modified), and is extremely responsive to any player.
Cons: Unfortunately, the metal used to make the valves for many 1970's radials was a poor quality metal, and so I had to have the valves totally redone to combat the corrosion. Now the horn is like a brand new trumpet. Just make sure you look at the valves be

 
If you want a jazz horn, don't pay $2000 for some horn with no punch. Get a radial.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/22/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Left hand positioned as horn was designed for, reduces pressure on upper lip. Less tiresome after 3-4 hours. Lucked in to mine with a freind (Dealer), that gave me a heads-up when he traded for one at his shop. Best I have ever owned and for a fraction of
Cons: Although the valve design was excellent, the materials were sub-par. I have trained by hand to overlook the lack of a slide stop on the third slide.

 
Great
horn for any style. I am playing high lead stuff, as well as inspiraional, and smoot Jazz stuff.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/21/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great valve response great tone
Cons: my father says my benge has a more holsom sound

 
The horn is an exelent horn and is in perfect shape has never been touched has very little wear and 1 small dent i would definatly recomend one to anybody they are a great horn
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 9/14/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: amazingly fast valve action
Cons: none

 
i've had this horn for 30 years and have never felt better valve action except on other radials. killer fast action, man.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/7/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fantastic sound & intonation.
Cons: No third valve slide stop!

 
I have recently had a Selmer 99 reconditioned by ‘First Class Brass’ in the UK who make Eclipse Trumpets. They have made a superb job…the instrument looks beautiful…like new. The sound is fantastic…so warm and doesn’t break no matter how hard you push it (probably because of the huge bore!). The intonation is spot on too. Great horn!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quick valves. Easy to play.....I used tp play 2 or 3 times a weekend and the finish wears out a little fast. I have had it refinished going on the second time.
Cons: Finish does not last as long as it should.

 
I recommend this horn. I've been playing it for 20 years plus.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/5/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: sound, valve action
Cons: the large bore version is only for powerfull players...... (not me)

 
In my never ending search for the ideal axe I once bought a large bore radial for a very good price. After trying it I was happy to sell it for more than twice the price I payed; I found the horn far too heavy to play but the present owner is still happy with her so when you find one give it a try!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 1/6/2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $950.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sound, sound sound
Cons: Heavy to hold, receiver too big?

 
I've got the 99 model (LB .470"), which I purchased second hand not too long ago. It's had the valves re-done, some repairs to the bell, and all the lacquer removed.

This horn is amazing - pure dense sound that can't be overblown, lightning valves, and that "special" feeling that few trumpets give you.

The only thing I've really had trouble with is that the mpc receiver seems too big for all of my 'pieces, so I have minor slotting issues up high because the gap isn't right.

Truly a great horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Isaias Jimenez
Junior Member

Registered: March 2012
Posts: 25
Review Date: 5/1/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,000.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sound, valves great color price
Cons: the valve feel very harsh

 
Needs more resonance and the valves feel harsh at times. It just might be my horn. I would like to sell it and buy something else.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright ©2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.