Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  












  • Pin It


 

Brass Spa V Raptor
Reviews Views
15 18731
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $2,100.00 9.3

 

Description:
You have to play it to believe it. The 'V~Raptor' lets you keep hitting it, time after time. That's because this revolutionary new horn is the most centered, best in tune and easiest to play trumpet on the planet. Incorporating innovative, efficient air column design, it produces a true trumpet sound.
The ‘V~Raptor’features Poly-Bore Technology for improved intonation and response like you’ve never experienced before.

Bore: 'Poly-Bore' - A combination of 4 bore sizes from .450" all the way to.468"
Bell: 4.881 inch Bell
Monel pistons
Hand-lapped pistons and slides
Reverse Leadpipe
Includes both Standard and Ovate (Rounded) Tuning slides
Amado Style Water Keys
Bob Reeves Patented Valve Alignment
Bob Reeves Cylinder Reinforcer
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.450;0.468
Bell (inch): 4.881
Website: http://www.bobreeves.com
Keywords: Brass Spa V Raptor
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely the best horn I have ever played.
Cons: Haven't found one yet.

 
I first owned the gold plated regular weight V-Raptor. I now own the silver light weight, which responds just a little better for me. This horn has been absolutely the best horn I have ever played or tried. It is a great horn for all the commercial work I do and has been very good for quintet work as well.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tuning
Cons: none

 
Ihavehad my V-raptor
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/13/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tuning
Cons: none

 
Ihavehad my V-raptor for a couple of years now. I was playing a yamaha 6335h and the difference was huge.

The horn is veyr centered and quite bright sounding (i guess that depends on the rest of your set up). I use it mainly for lead playing and it is everytingn i want from a horn.

I have had friends who play bachs and xeno's that have played it and they love it also. All lead players.

The horn on my set up is probably a bit bright for section playing byut i think a different mouthpiece would solve that.

I also play on Bob Reeves mouthpiece, but am considering a change to a Monette.

Definately consider a v-raptor for you next pro horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: have not found one

 
I actually bought this horn used from Jim Manley. The very first time I played it I was just totally gassed. It is the lightweight model in silver and projects amazingly well. For a commercial/lead horn you just could not go wrong purchasing this horn. If you want to play legit stuff check on the regular weight version of the horn. It is also absolutely incredible. As soon as I have the cash, yeah man, I'll be purchasing one!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great horn for upper range, easy to play in tune, great construction
Cons: OK for lower range. High price

 
Love this horn, great for upper range playing, the back pressure is just about right, and the tone quality is just flat out brilliant.

Not a very strong horn for lower register note. from low "D" and down, I struggle a little with it.

Can't have the best of both world, at least not yet. I use a Bach Strad MLV for classical playing...
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/2/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,400.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Intonation, great pitch , fantastic scale, great valves
Cons: Sometimes won;t blend well with a section

 
Tremendous horns........one of the best horns ever made. Peefect lead or soloist. Not for those desiring a dull, mubbled sound. This horn has a clean, crisc, bright sound.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/26/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Clear, brilliant tone, records very well
Cons: Difficult to play dark w/o extreme mouthpiece

 
I used to play a regular weight gold and sold it....I regretted it. I ended up purchasing a silver lightweight which I believe is even better. I am always looking for a better horn. I have had a dozen top name, boutique trumpets to do side-by-side comparisons over the last two years. Every one of those horns when played next to a raptor sounds muzzled.....nothing has as brilliant and clean sound.

The only negatives are that you have to hold back a bit when playing second or third in a section. Also, if you are looking for a Monette, flumpet type sound to play jazz.....forgetaboutit. I will use a Reeves C2J when I want to get a flugel like sound but on my regular mouthpiece its not easy to darken.

If these horns had local distributors many players would have switched to them by now.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/12/2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: crap
Cons: crap

 
crap no color to the sound what sounds better is me dropping this from a bridge onto a slab of concrete
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 4/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great horn for lead playing
Cons:

 
One of the best horns I have played for lead. This horn slots like no other horn that I have played. Very easy to play in the upper resister. I have a silver light weight horn
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 5/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,850.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: slotting, tone colors, and so easy to play
Cons: wait time, laquer

 
I have a standard weight V-Raptor in laquer, and it is absolutely the best horn I have ever played! It speaks easily in every register and at every dynamic, and takes half the effort to play compared to my Yamaha 8335RGM. From the first day, many of my old demons in the practice room were gone - really, a dream come true! It's so easy to play that I don't even lose any range when I have a cold, which is not usually the case. Some real care and quality of workmanship go into putting this horn together!
The only cons about this horn are the wait to have one built, which is still much faster than some others (like Monette!), and the laquer finish. Because the Brass Spa is a smaller operation and does not have a static-free room, more imperfections can exist in the laquer than you see from the larger manufacturers. Mine had a few extra imperfections, but I was given a $50 refund to compensate. If I had known when I ordered that this might happen I may have ordered a different finish, but quite honestly it plays so well that it doesn't really matter. Try a Raptor, and you'll never be able to forget it!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/20/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: ease of playing,slotting,build quality,sound.
Cons: none

 
Mine is a VR-ll, std. weight,silver. Absolutely the best trumpet I've ever played in over 40 years of pro and part-time work.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/8/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,900.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Most in Tune and Clear Tone,Jazz or lead
Cons: none

 
Great!
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 9/30/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound extremely clear, best intonation
Cons: Hardly any distributors

 
This horn is acoustically perfect. It was originally designed by a commitee of the best minds in the business. Horn is extremely in tune and easy to play. Best commercial horn by far....and I have played just about all of them! I play the lightweight and used to own a regular weight....both are excellent but the lightweight speaks much faster.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/17/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: ease of play, intonation, lovely tone, great craftsmenship
Cons: trumpet is mouthpiece sensitive

 
I now own a Stomvi V Raptor lightweight Bb trumpet in silver w/ gold trim. I absolutely love this trumpet, it is so comfortable, as in it is very easy to play. The V Raptor plays in tune extremely well when using the right mouthpiece. To gorgeous tone of the V Raptor is amongst the finest that I have ever played, and the V Raptor slots well and is great for false valving. The V Raptor to me is comparable with the Flip Oakes Wild Thing trumpet in color of tone , yet the polybore V Raptor is a smaller trumpet (I own the standard bell)similar to a step bore trumpet like Botti's MC, or a Lawler C7 or Shew.
It comes with a standard and an ovate reverse tuning slide, I prefer the standard slide.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Carlsson
Junior Member

Registered: June 2012
Location: Oslo
Posts: 17
Review Date: 6/25/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Free blowing, in tune, easy everywhere
Cons: None

 
Absolutely my best horn ever, it's a 10, enough said, thinking of a new horn? give it a try, I have a VRII regular. For some reason the post won't let me recommend the horn, but regardless of what it says, I REALLY RECOMMEND IT.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.