Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1valveoil_alcass.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Al Cass Valve Oil
Reviews Views
20 10281
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $3.63 7.6

 

Description:
This valve, slide and key oil is manufactured by the Al Cass company. The Al Cass valve oil is odorless, weather conscious, and does not separate. Good stuff!
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Keywords: Al Cass Valve Oil
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Always Works
Cons:

 
Have used Al Cass FAST for almost 15 years now, and works great in my older trumpets. Does a good job, and never breaks down. I usually end up buying a 1/2 case of 12 from my local store.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 2/22/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Inexpensive, works great
Cons:

 
This is really the only valve oil I buy, mainly because of its quality. You can usually get it for about 2-3 bucks a bottle, and the bottle is lightweight and you can carry it in your pocket in emergencies. Highly recommended
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/17/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
Yeah it's good oil, and it works well, but it's just not as good as Blue Juice and Zaja. I would still reccomed this though, just directly underneath Blue Juice and Zaja.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/25/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $5.99 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: This product is unreliable and is not a good buy.

 
Look at Negative Aspects.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/13/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Very reliable valve oil, better on worn valves.
Cons: Not the best on newer horns in some peoples experience.

 
IMHO...this IS good stuff! It is not a valve oil that breaks down and causes gumming, it is not a valve oil that causes corrosion, nor does it have a bad smell...it doesn't work well on newer horns, in my experience, probably because of the close fit of new valves, but it is a good valve oil.

It is not the best valve oil for my horn, but it's got to be decent for it to have been around for so long, so use it, I have, and if it works on your horn...sweet!! If not...use something else.

I hope this helped you all.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very functional,good price
Cons:

 
I like this oil. I've never tried the Zaja lines, so I can't really compare the two. BUT, it is MUCH better than any Getzen and Selmer valve oil I have ever used. Every kid at my school(who knows how to play), uses this stuff.

I would suggest getting this, but always be open to try new, well rated oils..
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/5/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It just awesome...works great on slides and valves
Cons: nothing

 
just all around great product, better than blue juice or anything i've ever encountered
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/9/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.50 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: This is the oil Schilke includes with their new trumpets.
Cons: If there were any, I wouldn't use it.

 
The best. I've never had it slow me down, even in the coldest weather. No smell or taste and lightning fast action. As I said in my "pros", this is what Schilke ships with their new trumpets. Need I say more?
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/10/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2.99 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, overall good valve oil
Cons: Weather-conscious - hah

 
Shop around for prices before you buy. There's a local store in town that charges $4.76 a bottle and another store across town that charges $2.99 a bottle. I've used this ever since the 4th grade (20 years ago) and it hasn't failed me once. The only problem is in marching band in the winter my valves froze all the time. So did everyone elses' so maybe it wasn't just the Al Cass. Good value and a good valve oil.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 11/14/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It works
Cons:

 
I haven't tried the other products those other guys are talking about, but this is the best oil I've used. It is possible that it's better on older trumpets, since I have a trumpet that is probably at least 10 years old. It doesn't smell too much, it doesn't seperate, and I do'nt know about weather conscious because I live in a place where there is pretty moderate weather (and if it's freezing outside, I play INSIDE!!)

I paid $5.95 CDN, I don't know what that is American, I'm too lazy to convert. Something like $3
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/5/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: better than water I guess
Cons: need to apply and re-apply often

 
This oil is very popular and easy to find in the stores, but it evaporates very quickly so it doesn't last very long. Yes, it's light and easy to put in your pocket - but you'll need it there so you can reapply it often. Just doesn't last long. There are much better oils out there IMHO.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 2/27/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap and it works!
Cons: evaporate quite quickly. need to re-apply quite often.

 
A cheap good valve oil. Can't see any adverse effects on the valves so far. It's quite fast as well. Good oil in a word.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It's fast, lasts longer than blue juice
Cons: doesn't last as long as holton

 
I used this for a long time but have recently switched to blue juice. It's cheap and fast, just how I like it :-P.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
What can I say, this is good stuff! The industry standard, works as well on my old horns as it does on my new horns. In all fairness, it is eclipsed by Ultra-Pure, but this gets extra credit for being both convenient and cheap.

Buy it.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/23/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: best oil ive ever used
Cons: a littttle bit light for a new instrument. great for already broken in valves however

 
great oil. honestly the best oil ive used, along with blue juice.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 8/16/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $6.45 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Its the most popular
Cons: works for me for about 20 minutes and then i have to reapply

 
this is probly the most standard valve oil out there. its in stock in almost all music stores

ive used this oil on all of my horns and have been getting poor results from it.

i have to oil my valves everytime i pick up my horn and play.

over several months my horns started getting stains on the valves, this valve oil is no good

I only carry it around because everyone of my classmates uses it and i like to have a backup just incase anyone needs to borrow some
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 8/21/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons: Too many applications

 
Haven't used this for a long time. But the T2 I use now does a much better job of keeping my valves smooth and they last longer without re-oiling.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: cheap, works pretty well
Cons: you have to drench your valves

 
Great for student horns because it's cheap and it does its job. I used this oil with good results for years until I discovered Hetmans. Still it will do in a pinch.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 9/7/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Fragrance (and stink) free, inexpensive, readily available
Cons: Washes out rather quickly

 
The only thing I don't like is that it washes out faster than La Tromba.

It always sorted out any sticky valve problems I had with my trumpets.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smokin valves
Junior Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Rochester
Posts: 14
Review Date: 2/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bottle shape, great feeling valves, long lasting, reliable
Cons: Not so great on new horns.

 
This valve oil is excellent, and is amazing on older horns, the valves feel like greased lightning. The bottle shape is also a big plus, as the bottle is not cylindrical (like blue juice), the bottle does not stand out in your pocket on stage. I think all valve oils should be in a bottle of this shape.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.