Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1valveoil_bluejuice.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Blue Juice Valve Oil
Reviews Views
20 18925
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $5.44 8.2

 

Description:
Blue Juice valve oil was scientifically developed by a Chemical/Lubrication Engineer to provide fast valve action, staying power to minimize the need for lubrication, Excellent protection against mold and bacteria growth. Blue Juice valve oil is used by professional players and beginners alike.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): -
Bell (inch): -
Bell Type: -
Bell Mtl.: -
Valves: -
Keywords: Blue Juice Valve Oil
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/3/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cool looking, doesn't drain out
Cons: drys fast

 
hmm.. well i think this is a pretty good valve oil. the only problems is it drys pretty fast for me, maybe just cuz the weather i'm playing in and if you put it on ur slides it'll leave a green blue build up on the outside, if it's ur 3rd or first slide that is used often, but it lets the valves move freely and is pretty good
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 7/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Fast action
Cons: It has a mild odor

 
I use this stuff in my Flip Oakes C. I was using Alisyn and having problems, decided to try this stuff(a bottle was actually included with the horn); problem solved. I notice a mildly unpleasant chemical smell, but it may not be a problem for the average trumpet player as I have an unusally sensitive nose sometimes. Overall it's an awesome valve oil and I don't plan on switching.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fast action
Cons: Dries very fast

 
I started using Blue Juice about 12 years ago while touring with a circus. At the time I was trying every type of valve oil I could get my hands on to try and get my valves to move faster. Blue Juice in my opinion was the best.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/25/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $4.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Looks cool, 'cleans' trumpet, FAST
Cons: evaporates fast,

 
Great stuff, realy fast (among the fastest, check out the tests at musichem), it cleans out the trumpet. It evaporates a bit fast, but i don't care. Also, it has a distinct smell, i like it, but some guys don't.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 10/18/2006 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $4.50 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: works well initially
Cons: blue/green buildup after continued use

 
This oil left nasty chunks of blue and green stuff in my valves. However, I feel that it is only fair to state that I have an OLD trumpet (made in 1938 baby!)
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Valves move fast and don't stick
Cons: Smells if you play right after you oil

 
I think it is great! I have tried three other brands and the valves on my Conn 85B would stick. I tried Blue Juice I have never had a valve stick again.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Works, long lasting, cleans internals
Cons: smell

 
This stuff works great and lasts for a long time. I have gone over a month without having to re-apply (though i try not to do that very often.) It keeps the valves nice and clean. For me, it tends to dry a little quicker in the colder months. The only other down side that i have with it, is the scent. I have used Al Cass once and Blue Juice is far better IMO.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 12/19/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $4.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great lubrication wherever applied
Cons: Doesn't stay on area applied for long, easily drips

 
Best valve oil I have tried. I've tried Al Cass (a local guy where I live who my trumpet teacher knew) and UMI valve oil but they aren't as good as the Blue Juice. Simple packaging and it's blue color makes it appealing.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/28/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Works well, keeps valves clean
Cons: Not as long lasting as others (Al Cass, Holton)

 
I like it a lot, I don't mind the faint odor. It seems to keep the valves cleaner. I also like the blue color :-P.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 4/30/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $4.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Keeps the slides clean (My Yamaha C has yet to have the shiny yellow brass turn green) VERY FAST
Cons: None that I can think of, besides the fact that my Yamaha C doesn't like lots of it and the excess just drips out from the 3rd slide, I gotta learn to conserve

 
This is a good oil, nothing to elaborate on, it simply works, and the fact that my C trumpet's slides haven't turned the regular dark green metal color is testimony that it keeps things clean and fast :)
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 5/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $7.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Super slick, nice when applies, it's BLUE (if it was green it would die)
Cons: Doesn't last long, not good for older horns, it's BLUE

 
Let me say this stuff isn't bad. I've tried it with some newer horns and it works great. I usually use Al Cass, which works excellant with ALL of my horns, but one fine day I decided to give this stuff a spin. The local con artist, I mean Music Shop, was charging 7.00 for a little bottle of this stuff, so I figured it would be good, ya know? I got it and put it on my '39 Conn before doing a "The Sound of Music" show that night. Big mistake. I had to reapply the stuff every few songs just to keep it working. After the show I never used it on that horn again, but in all fairness it worked well on my newer horns, with the exception that it dries too quickly.

Went back to Al Cass and left the Blue Juice in my backpack, where it one day warped into an odd shape upon leaving the backpack in the car, here in the nice 90 degree summers of San Diego. At least it didn't leak too much, threw it away without hesistation.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/23/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $5.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cleans internally, valves move fast
Cons: needs to be applied every 3 or 4 days for best results, some may not like smell

 
I highly recommend this product. While I have to use it often on my Strad LT180 72, I don't mind. For the cleaning it does and the price you can get it for, it is well worth it to use it every few days.
Many say it sticks when they switch to it, but that is because for some chemical reason (I'm no scientist) when regular oil and Blue Juice are mixed, something odd happens. Never mix the two, and you will get great results from Blue Juice.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/17/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
Tried it on my new UMI Benge and it hated it. Felt like the Valves were almost scraping. They all stuck without question. No good. Tried cleaning and reoiling numerous times. Never got it to work. Went on to Al Cass till I found Brass Spa H2Oil.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/9/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: extremely fast, helps keep the instrument clean
Cons: doesn't last

 
I've tried about ten different types of valve oil (Fat Cat, Zaja, Pro Oil, Al Cass, Yamaha, Hetman, H2Oil, Superslick, Holton... and so on), and I have not found anything that compares to the speed of blue juice.
True, I have to re-oil every day, but that is not such an arduous task that I would sacrifice my lightning-fast valves!
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/12/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Fast valve action
Cons: smells, build up in valves

 
Blue Juice does make your valves move pretty darn well but the smell of the stuff is awful and the amount of buildup it produces is just ridiculous. All of my valve ports were completely covered in blue film after a few months use. You're better off just using Al Cass.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 6/23/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $13.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: It works....
Cons: For a short time. It's expensive.

 
I've used Blue Juice on my rotary tuba for about 7 years now, not thinking anything of it. I have noticed the quick buildup of corrosion on the underside of the rotar. I'm thinking of switching to Al Cass, hoping that it lasts longer. I'm getting a lot of reviews stating that it's good or bad, but very few mention the -=type=- of valve (rotary or piston) that it's used on.
Will ad posts to this forum as I switch oils - hopefully helping someone.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
jazzyjazz
Junior Member

Registered: July 2010
Location: beantown
Posts: 1
Review Date: 7/12/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
The Al Cass oil in my opinion is too thin, you still have to reapply it. I really think what ever oil works best for you. Everyone is gonna sware by the brand they use.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 12/4/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
I've been using Blue Juice for 35 years in all my horns (8). I have never had any negative issues and am quite sure that neither Blue Juice or any other commercially available brass instrument valve oil causes "blue crud", corrosion or discoloring of the valves. What is most likely happening is poor hygene, ie. eating and drinking prior or during playing, or perhaps excessive naturally occurring sugars in the saliva of the player. Good horn care and reqular use of proper lubricant will prevent these issues. Blue Juice is among the thinnest of viscosities of valve oils and as such is more volatile which requires more frequent application than heavier oils but in return you get very fast valve action. To each his or her own, but don't blame oils for the crud in your horn from not brushing your teeth.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
DrTrumpet
Junior Member

Registered: August 2012
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4
Review Date: 8/10/2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $4.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Fast valve action on the day you applied it
Cons: Dries way too quickly, Has an odor

 
Before I tried Blue Juice, I was using Al Cass. I regretted buying Blue Juice. It dries too fast, and the odor makes me cough. I recommend Al Cass and Getzen Valve oils.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
smokin valves
Junior Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Rochester
Posts: 14
Review Date: 2/18/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great feel, very popular (and easy to obtain) in the UK
Cons: Bottle shape

 
This is good oil, I think slightly better on new horns than Al Cass, and also good for keeping valves clean. Between the top brands, I don't think there is a lot of difference in the oil, however this oil lost a mark for having a cylindrical bottle. This stands out in your pockets, and looks a little strange (as many a clarinet player has taken pleasure in telling me).
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.