Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1Yamaha_YTR2335.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YTR-2335
Reviews Views
10 38906
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $506.00 8.3

 

Description:
An easy to play student horn with the quality you would expect from Yamaha. These trumpets feature laser-fused, plasma welded bells for continous, even vibrations in all registers. Go with the name you trust!
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.900
Website: http://www.yamaha.com/
Keywords: Yamaha YTR-2335
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/31/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $450.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Construction, fit, features
Cons: Intonation. Student horn.

 
The YTR-2335 is Yamaha's standard entry-level horn. As such, it's nothing fancy.

That being said, this is a solidly built horn that is excellent to learn on. It's not a particularly easy blow with its .459 bore, but the valves are solid and fairly smooth. It is well-featured: two water keys, adjustable 3rd valve slide ring, 1st valve slide thumbhook, which you will need to use. The intonation isn't perfect, and you have to yank the horn around some to make it behave.

You should *never* pay list price (around $800) for it. Typical street price should be between $425 and $525, but you may have to call a dealer to find out what their real price is, as opposed to their advertised price.

If well cared-for, this trumpet will hold its value. Used 2335s in good condition routinely sell for $300-$400, which will give you something to put towards your next trumpet when you're ready to move up.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $350.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good all-around workhorse
Cons: Low C a little stuffy

 
Of all the 'student' horns made today, the Yamaha stands out as one of the the best ones. Suprisingly good sound. It's very difficult to tell the sound of this horn apart from that of a pro-level horn, and I've been testing a lot lately.

The 'gold-laquer' finish looks nicer then the normal laquer color 'yellow'. This finish on the Yamaha is a little darker.

When I do upgrade to a pro-level horn, I will be keeping this one as a back-up. It's not the best player, but it holds it's own in almost any playing situation.

-the chief
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/19/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $535.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: smooth valve action
Cons:

 
I have been playing this trumpet for a couple years now. It is a good trumpet to start with, but I'd go for a Bach or Kanstul for any higher level playing. The valves are pretty quick, and it is pretty good in the high register. Overall it is a good horn to start on, but if you really get in to playing trumpet I would go for something much better.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/1/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $533.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Horn
Cons:

 
This is a great beginning horn. I have played one since 6th grade, and believe me it has seen wear and tear, but it plays great. I can hit the F above high C easy on this horn. I played a yamaha Xeno recently, and there was only a slight margin between the two horns. Definitely a good investment for a beginnining trumpet player.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/7/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $500.00 | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

 
Like the above reviews i'll concur the 2335 is a pretty much a good instrument to start off with. Intonation's ok and the slide and piston's action has a good response and feel to it. However that said it's quite difficult to get the higher notes due to its relatively large bore. Though it does makes you work harder with to strenghten your embouchure.

Had a minor problem with the plastic piston guides.. they tend to get stuck so i had to rub some valve grease on them to get them moving again. Another warning don't use regular slide grease on the tuning slide.. i have the unfortunate pleasure of seeing it sliding off when putting it down after practice.. resulting in a minor dent on it's side.. use a stickier slide grease.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/11/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good student horn
Cons: student horn

 
a good student horn perfect for beginners. one of the best student model horns out there. relatively small targets on each note but it does sound good in all registers(including altissimo and pedal), good for all styles. real nice valve action and good response. definitly not a pro horn but a good starter.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 5/20/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: beautiful, lovely tone for a student
Cons: is a student horn

 
I absolutely love this horn. i've played it for seven years, and I find it difficult to find another horn that can do as much as this one can. it's very versatile- i've used it for choral solos, marching band, symphonic bands, concert bands, jazz bands. That said, It does have downfalls.

This horn seems to be made to make the student work hard to acheive the correct embouchure. Without, the horn just sounds whiney. This seems bad at first, but when the transition comes for a higher quality horn, the player really gets a good feel of each horn instead of falling for aesthetics.

It is very difficult to have good tone in the upper register. i have never been a "screamer", but my tutor even had a difficult time over a high d. Not saying it's not possible, but most peopole I've heard play up high on this horn seem to think it sounds better than it does. With a Xeno, my range shot up to a double C, which is awesome for me. So that is the main thing that brings the horn down.

With all of this, I really do adore this horn. It has fallen down our concrete bleachers with only minor scratches, and years of abuse seems to be the perfect thing for this horn. I highly recommend it for anyone, especially if it is used as a practice horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Review Date: 7/19/2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $680.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: nice valves, good tone, great for all around playing - great student horn
Cons: high register a little stuffy, muddy low register

 
im a junior in hs and ive played this horn since i first started in 6th grade and this trumpet really gets the job done. i find that it has a very nice tone quality that can be difficult to distinguish from many pro horns. the construction is quite sturdy - ive dropped it a few times in marching band and class and such and it still plays great. intonation is quite good for a student model, but definetly not that of a pro horn. and the valves are very nice (i dont know if its just my particular horn, but the valves on it are much smoother and quieter than many other yamaha professional horns including the xeno models). as far as range is concerned it performs well as far as student horns are concerned. i have a comfortable usable range up to f above the staff. above high d, however, things do tend to get a bit difficult and it takes a bit of work to make this range of the insturment sound decent (i use a schilke 15C4). the low register below middle c is a bit muddy as well. but on the whole, this is a fantastic horn to start out with. its gotten me to california all state honor band my soph year and all southern freshman year. i will probably upgrade this year, however. anyway. an the whole a fantastic student horn. highly reccomended.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Oleson, M.D.
Junior Member

Registered: September 2010
Location: Denton, Texas
Posts: 2
Review Date: 11/14/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tone, Build Quality
Cons: None

 
This was purchased used from a music store as my first trumpet. Yamaha's reputation for trumpets "built like tanks" certainly holds true. I have played many pro-model horns in various stores, and now own a Custom Getzen Mike Vax trumpet. The YTR-2335 certainly can hold it's own against any other horn. Both of my instructors like the tone this horn produces, and have commented it has a classic lead trumpet sound, but will fit into other applications as well.

My current teacher (lead trumpet UNT 1 O'Clock) claims my 2335 plays far better than he expected for a horn considered to be an intermediate trumpet. He was able to slot double A's easier on my 2335 than on his pro model trumpet...no names please, but it's from a highly respected manufacturer on the west coast and begins with the letter K.

The one thing that stands out on the 2335 is projection! This horn will play as loud as you can go with a nice commercial core sound that is very centered. Most consider this a student model, but it will play as well as any other horn on the market.

The YTR-2335 plays easily with good tone and overall build that is second to none. Highly recommended for any player, beginner or advanced. And a good quality used model can be purchased for $350 - $450. A silverplate model (like mine) will command a higher price.


A person commented (on another forum) that "If you can't do it on a 2335, you simply can't do it!" This is certainly true.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
christophac7
Junior Member

Registered: April 2012
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 3
Review Date: 6/24/2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $600.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good entry level horn
Cons:

 
This was my first trumpet that got me through my first 5 years of schooling. More than served it's purpose in Marching, Jazz, and Symphonic playing. Survived all the damage I put it through and still could play. High recommend to any beginners looking for a cheap, but not so cheaply-built horn.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.