Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1Yamaha_8335.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YTR-8335
Reviews Views
13 15280
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,637.50 7.3

 

Description:
Xeno (pronounced "Zeno") trumpets are designed for those who want power and projection as well as a big warm sound. Traditional craftsmanship and new technology has created an extraordinary trumpet of unprecedented consistency. The 8335 has the traditional bore size of .459" which gives a more centered sound and projection.
Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.459
Bell (inch): 4.900
Website: http://www.yamaha.com/
Keywords: Yamaha YTR-8335 Xeno
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Consistant construction. Focused tone with good projection.
Cons: Relatively non-resonant.

 
Reviewing 8335RGSM and 8335RGM:

Thanks to one of my local horn pushers, Roger Holmes at Brook Mays' LBJ store, I've got a couple of reverse leadpipe Bb Yamaha Xenos for comparison. Both have the gold brass bell and matte finish, but one is silver-matte and the other is lacquer-matte.

I much prefer the look of the lacquer matte. With the gold-brass bell it ends up being three-tone, with yellow brass, nickel and gold brass. There's a really nice sheen and richness to the look. Yamaha's gold brass doesn't have a really high copper content, so it's more gold or bronze in appearance rather that red. This is really attractive with stainless accents on the valve caps and water keys. The lacquer shows off the two-piece valve casings (nickel tops) and the nickel used on each slide.

My wife prefers the all matte look of the silver horn. The only departure from matte is the valve caps and water keys. I've found that most people either love matte finishes or hate them. I'm in the middle. I prefer matte with some bright polished touches, like inside the bell and on the slide-ends. The lacquer Xeno is my favorite all-matte look so far. I think the matte-lacquer horn is gorgeous.

Playing these two horns you notice that their blows and tuning are almost identical. They have a tone-core and feel much like a good ml Bach. I used a mouthpiece with a fairly open backbore to get the feel I like. Intonation is very good with no unusual adjustments required to play in tune.

The slots on these horns are solid and relatively wide, much like a Bach 180-37R, with a medium resistance that most players will like. (I personally prefer a freer blowing horn, but the Xeno blow is what I think most people tend to prefer).

If you play out into the room you'll think that they sound alike from behind the horn; however, if you blow into the stand or a mirror you'll notice that the silver plated horn has considerably more edge. Both have rich core tones with lots of overtones, BUT the silver has much higher levels of upper partials. I think that both will project very well, but the silver will do a little better in that regard due to the upper partials. (I play jazz guitar and we guitarists add more upper eq than sounds good up close because it projects into a room better). Up close, you may think that the silver sounds "thinner", but as you move away the sound will become more attractive.

These two make three 8335R Yamahas that I've played in the last couple of months. I'm particularly impressed with their consistency. If I needed a "Bach-ish" trumpet these would be at the top of my list for consideration (along with some Bachs, of course). Anyone forced to purchase a horn without a play test can hardly go wrong with a Yamaha, if these horns are any evidence of their consistency.

Check 'em out.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/1/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: tuning, best blowing Yamaha, well made
Cons: restrictive feel

 
This is a good trumpet but can feel tight as you ascend. It works for most musical styles. After a year I got the impression it was too restrictive and not as fast or flexible as other trumpets in the similar price range.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 6/23/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: almost everything
Cons: none

 
to be , very short, all in all , this is THE VERY BEST OF THE BEST< OF THE BEST , trumpet , on market today-no matter on price and brands.
All the others, Bach , Schilke , Monette, Edvards, and, ets...are FARAWAY, from this SAMURAI !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/27/2004 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Even response, Smooth, less "adjusting"
Cons: LEAD PIPES ARE CORRODING

 
I am a teacher in Maine. We have found 6 Xenos with corroding leadpipes so far. Some have been sent to Yamaha. [one belongs to a fine lead Player in the area]
My students are auditioning on Student , loaner horns , while they wait !!! This is sad, because I would buy this horn , if not for the PROBLEM !!!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/30/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Price, Intonation, finish
Cons: Lack of Character, Valve problems, easy to damage

 
I found the Yamaha to have very little character in the way it played. It was very hard to change the tone color on this horn. Basically said, it plays well, but it is very vanilla. There's just no sizzle.

If you want a horn that does it all, you might want this horn. If you want a horn that does it all, and does everything very well, keep looking. This is a great horn for a high school or college level player, but it just doesn't make it for a guy who plays and gets paid to do play well.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/23/2005 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Its cheap (realativly) and is in very good tuning.
Cons: It doesnt sound good, u put too much effort in for not much output, the instrument gets no better through use, the metal is real thin, it fills up quickly, the valves tighten up quickly.... the list goes on

 
It starts off ok, but gets no better. It just fills up with crap, which refuses to budge, even with high pressure water!
The valves slowly stick, and I once had to wrench my 3rd out with a spanner. I know how to be careful with an instrument, and in this case it was a problem with the instrument.
However, it isvery well in tune, but what good is a very in tune instrument that has no tone, no character, no power and no depth? Good to get better on, useless for being good on. Too good for a beginner tho...
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/4/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: easy, quality/price, mecanic....
Cons: (sound)

 
A very good trumpet in all!!!!!
A good price, easy to play, flexible, exelent valves on main and 3th slide!, piston work impecabely, it really increase the upper registre, maybe the sound is a little "caracter less" but you can easy change it whit other mouthpiece or main slide (round not rectangular).
I buy a silver yamaha, very shining and easy to clean.

soory for my english i m french.
It's an exelent horn, buy it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/16/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Efficient trumpet
Cons: Valves problems when brand new.

 
This is the best trumpet i played with.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/3/2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Very in-tune,looks good,"cheap"
Cons: valves,lack of character,slowish response,tight,corrodes like crazy.......

 
See the pros and cons.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 11/14/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: The tone and intonation
Cons: lacquer and valves initially.

 
I've had my trumpet for a couple of years and am really happy with it. The lacquer isn't great and had trouble with the valves which I had sorted under warrenty (this problem is immediate, so get it sorted asap, ask a good brass repairer for a lap and polish on the valves, works a treat!).

It is an amazing instrument and would recommend it.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
I bought this on line from USA to save a few quid on Uk prices. When it arrived, I took it out of the box and it instantly played great. No need even to oil the valves.
Intonation is spot on (usual notes excepted- low C sharp, high A)
Finish is second to non
Sound is amazing and very adaptable with careful mouthpiece choice.
High range is easy
Which fool describe these horns as having little character? The player gives the horn character surely! And this horn will take all the character you can pour into it.
Having owned or tried loads of makes and models of top line horns, I'm totally impressed with this one.
Try one for yourself.
Mr Bach's bank manager must be sh*tting himself,
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/25/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
This is the best trumpet I've ever played. Its better than Bachs, Kings, Conns, Getzens, .......
Whoever said that this is not a suitable trumpet for professionals is full of crap. Do a little research pal, what do the trumpet players in the Canadian Brass play? Find out, then rethink your statements.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 3/1/2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: The name
Cons: quality/no personality

 
My Yamaha story is long an bleak. I bought this horn after spending a year on a Jupiter as a comeback player. I got my chops back and felt deserving of a pro-level horn. So, I decided to treat myself with the laquered 8335 Xeno heavy.

When I took it out of the case, there were problems right from the start.

1. The second valve was stuck!!! I oiled them and it started to work, then all three valves seized up on me!!! I called the dealer, and he told me to wash the valves in water and with a mild dish soap. I did that, reoiled them, and WALA!!!! They started sticking again. When I sent the horn back, the first valve was stuck down and I was afraid to pull it up.

2. The thrid valve slide drops down every time you hold the horn vertically. This is because there are two heavy braces on that slide for extra weight. It is a real pain in the behind.

3. The overall fit and finish of the horn was just plain...unremarkable I guess..to me, it looked like a souped up Yamaha student horn

As far as playability, the intonation was perfect, as is to be expected with a Yamaha. However, the tone was plain and not sonorous in my opinion.

I sent the horn back and upgraded to a Yamaha 8335LA...however, that one had a bent bell tube(very slight and hard to notice) at the valve casing...I don't know if it came from the factory that way or was damaged by the dealer...anyway, that was all I could take and I sent that one back as well....
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.