Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1Yamaha_xenoC.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YTR-8445 Xeno C
Reviews Views
8 13988
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,681.25 8.4

 

Description:
YTR-8445 Xeno (pronounced 'Zeno') C trumpets are designed for those who want power and projection as well as a big warm sound. Developed from more than 30 years' research with leading artists throughout the world.

Professional Xeno series C trumpet; key of C; .462" bore; one-piece 4-7/8" yellow brass bell, monel pistons, two-piece valve casings. Comes with case and mouthpiece.


Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.462
Bell (inch): 4.875
Bell Type: 1 Piece
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Valves: Monel, 3
Website: http://www.yamaha.com/
Keywords: Yamaha YTR-8445 Xeno C
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 1/24/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Even intonation and timbre, ease of playing
Cons: 3rd valve slide stop screw doesn't allow for a low F

 
The new Yamaha Xeno C Trumpet is (almost) everything I've ever wanted in a C Trumpet. After some severe damage to my long Bach workhorse, I was faced with the decision whether to buy a new Bach or not. Just for the heck of it I tryed out a Yamaha, and walked out of the store with. Yamaha believes in inovation, conformity, and most of all quality control.

As far as the playing qualities. The horn has a very fluid, beautiful rich sound. It's big when when you want big, it's compact when you want compact. The intonation is so even that I'm still trying to play it in tune. That is, I'm still trying not to play it like my old Bach. The only thing you need to do to play it in tune is blow. If you adjust at all the upper register will be very high. The slots are also a bit on the smaller side than those of a Bach, expect to crack every other note for the first week.

All of the mechanics of the horn are flawless, because Yamaha does inspect the horns before they leave the factory. My only complaint is that the 3rd valve slide stop screw is to far in to allow for a good low F. Any repair shop can move that out for you though.

As far as sound quality is concerned...Articulations sparkle, ends of notes ring, and you can never sound like you're overplaying the horn.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/27/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Intonation, Response, Valves, Fit/Finish
Cons: Sound, Tight blow

 
I chose the Xeno because the Intonation was near perfect and it was, in general, just easier to play than other C's I tried. The sound is rather one-dimensional, on the light side, and the horn provides a little more resistance than I'd like, especially when playing at louder dymanics. However, the build quality can't be beat. If you're looking for a serious orchestral horn I'd look elsewhere. For someone who doesn't play a lot of C tpt. but needs a quality instrument, the Xeno fits the bill just fine.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/13/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: 8445G - better tone colour than plain 8445
Cons: it needs an MK drawing semi round tuning slide

 
I reamed the receiver gap in, fitted Getzen Eterna valve springs and got an MK drawing semi round tuning slide with waterkey. This fixes the tight blow, cloppy valves and opens up the blow/sound. The G bell is also "thicker" sounding than the yellow brass.

Overall, this is the best C I ever owned.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 12/30/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $3,000.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: makes everybody think you're rich
Cons: bad intonation,squeks,cannot play higher notes,pricey

 
Trust me,you'll certainly cry when you try this instrument..........
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 2/6/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sound, intonation, projection
Cons: none

 
This has to be one of the best C trumpets for the price nowadays. The sound is nice dark and orchestral. Also, great for solo playing. I played the tomasi on this thing and it handled it like nothing. Best horn for the price on the market.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/5/2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,750.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: resonates easily, small gap between resonant pitch centers
Cons: sound is a bit too warm, could be gold brass bell

 
I just bought this horn very recently, after about 9 years of strictly playig on a 37 Bb strad. The tone is a bit warmer than I expected, but I am also just getting the concept of a brilliant tone in my ears, so this may be something I need to ope my ears to. Other than that, very stable, easy resonance, quick response, sounds good on extreme softs and louds.
This user is offline
 
Review Date: 10/2/2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing

 
Trust me, you'll certainly laugh with joy when you try this instrument...........
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  
edfitzvb
Junior Member

Registered: May 2012
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 12
Review Date: 8/5/2015 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $800.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tone, intonation, build quality
Cons: None so far

 
What a fine instrument this is! I lucked into a used one at a repair shop for a FRACTION of what it is worth. Impeccable quality control at Yamaha means it is one of the few horns that you can order online and be certain as to what you will receive. Wonderful sound with lots of brilliance, reminds me of the Shilke horn I used to own as far as feedback. I tend to go through lots of instruments. This horn will remain with me as long as am able to play, along with my Olds Recording and my Bach Strad 37 model. I can't endorse this horn any better. It is a keeper.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2018 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.