Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

  

 Reviews · Register  



1Yamaha_ytr6810s.jpg









  • Pin It


 

Yamaha YTR-6810S Bb/A
Reviews Views
8 13041
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $1,533.33 9.0

 

Description:
Piccolo trumpets are primarily used to play the exciting, yet demanding, 1st trumpet parts in Baroque literature. The 6810S features a small bore and bell size for superb tonal clarity and projection. It is easy to play, has a beautiful tone, and excellent intonation. They are converted to either Bb or A by changing the leadpipes provided. A fourth valve adds an extended range.


-------------------------------------------------


Bb/A Piccolo trumpet
Bell Material Yellow-brass
Bell 94mm (3-7/10")
S bore 10.5mm (0.413")
Finish Gold lacquer
Mouthpiece 14A4a
With Silver-plate YTR-6810S
With leadpipes for Bb or A


Search Lowest Price:



Bore (inch): 0.413
Bell (inch): 3.700
Bell Mtl.: Yellow Brass
Website: http://www.yamaha.com/
Keywords: Yamaha YTR-6810S Piccolo
Social Media:
  • Pin It


 

Author
Anonymous
Review Date: 8/11/2004 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Nice sound.
Cons: Terrible valve action.

 
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 9/25/2005 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $2,000.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great intonation, Outstanding valve action. free blowing
Cons: Not a thing

 
Been playing this horn for years. As an aspiring Professional I wouldnt recommend any other horn. I had the opportunity to perform The Brandenburg Co. 2 in London this oast summer. I had many ppl ask what horn I was playing.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 2/20/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound_Intonation_Cute design
Cons:

 
The sound is neither shrilled nor like toy; thus, I belive this is good for Handel to Ravel. Intonation is also good.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/27/2006 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great intonation, Great Valves
Cons: none

 
I bought this instrument from Yamaha outlet without any testing prior to place my order.
When I receive this instrument, I have to priase Yamaha fantastic craftmanship.
I felt in love with the horn as soon as I have my first toot into it. And amazingly the intonation doesn't change much between Bb and A leadpipe. Unlike other brand, Bb and A makes a huge different. At least this yamaha piccolo trumpet, the Bb sound round and bright, very ideal for brass quintet music from Canadian Brass series.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 3/19/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,700.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Sound, Good Valves, Nice Fit and Finish
Cons: Not quite as good as the Benge it was copied form.

 
Very nice horn. Great value. Not as nice as the LA benges. Quality seems to be the same as the UMI Benges. If prices are the same go with the Benge. If the Yamaha is cheaper go for it. You won't be disappointed.
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/4/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Valves, Tone, and intonation on Bb side, Short bell
Cons: A sides middle G is a bit low, first slide is really tight

 
I have had this for about five days and it's great. I really love the short bell look on this horn. The sound, finish, case, and design, even if it's a copy, is great. The mouthpiece it comes with has too soft of a bite so I use a 7E. A great thing is on the Bb side I don't need to use the alternate 2-4 or 4 for low F# and G because the standard fingerings are in tune so pedal F is right on the money. I haven't tried other horns but a Benge but this beats the Benge in high range as this one doesn't hold you back. This is actually a copy off of the Benge.
I think a Trigger or ring would be great for the fourth valve slide, but then again it's not necessary. On my A side I've noticed the G is low. Of course I could compensate by tuning slightly sharp and pulling out the slides..but noooo my first valve slide is really tight like it is stuck. When I pull it out sometimes I graze the bell...not a nice thing. However, I believe my horn is the only one with that problem. Can't wait to use it for Handel!
This user is offline
 
Anonymous
Review Date: 4/8/2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,600.00 | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: As said above
Cons: First slide is really tight

 
I'm just changing my review. My previous review is right above. The G on the A side can be corrected with Alternate fingerings, 1-3 for me. I totally forgot about them when I posted right above but it fixed the tuning with slide adjustments. Maybe I will get a trigger or ring for the third and/or fourth slide.
This user is offline
 
smokin valves
Junior Member

Registered: September 2012
Location: Rochester
Posts: 14
Review Date: 1/8/2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Sound, valves, quality
Cons: Doesn't hold it's value as well as the Schilke.

 
Excellent sounding picc for all picc repertoire I have come across. I have performed concertos by albinoni and telemann, also have done the brandenburg and just recently performed the Michael Haydn on it. I have also played parts for a brass band on this picc and it adapts to every situation perfectly. I am primarily a picc player and I have many piccolos including a Schilke, stomvi, the other yamaha, two scherzer (Bb/A and C), and a kanstul and a few others and this picc really is up there in the top. For the price it would be rediculous to go for anything else except maybe the old selmers (compromised higher register though). This is better than the getzen and I prefer it to the benge, also as they are mostly newer, one will be less likely to be worn. If I was only playing the picc a few times per year, I'm not sure I could justify the extra cost of many of my other piccs even if I was only buying one.
This user is offline
Click here to see this users profile Click here to Send this user a Private Message Find more posts by this user  

About BrassReview

    BrassReview.com is the largest source for instrument reviews on the internet. Our users are now adding new trumpet, trombones, tubas, and french horns daily, and adding reviews, discussions, and links on their favorite instruments, and related equipment.

Follow us on

Twitter Facebook


BrassReview.com 2.12
Copyright 2004 - 2012


Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2017 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.